Amazon.com 是全球最大的在线零售商。2011 年,Amazon.com 从磁带备份转为使用 Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) 来备份其大部分 Oracle 数据库。该策略降低了复杂度和资本支出、提供了更快的备份和恢复性能、省去了计划用于备份和存档的磁带容量,并且使管理人员能够将时间和精力投入到更有价值的工作中。公司能够使用基于云的 Amazon S3 存储来取代备份磁带基础设施,无需使用备份软件,并且能体验到 12 倍的性能改善,在特定情况下可将恢复时间从大约 15 小时减少到 2.5 小时。

随着 Amazon.com 不断成长,其 Oracle 数据库的大小也不断增长,要维护的数据库数量也在不断攀升。由此造成扩展难题,即将旧的 Oracle 数据库备份到磁带相关的问题,导致他们思考其他可行策略,包括使用 Amazon Web Services (AWS) 的云服务(Amazon Web Services 是 Amazon.com 的分公司)。Amazon.com 面临的业务挑战包括:

  • 使用率和容量计划非常复杂,且时间和资本开支预算经常超支。常年支持磁带硬件、存放硬件需要的数据中心空间以及磁盘软件所需的许可费构成了庞大的资本开支。那时,管理磁带基础设施需要高技能员工花费大量时间进行设置、认证和工程建档规划,而不能从事更高价值的工作。每个财年结束时,预测未来容量还需要进行耗时的审计、预测和预算工作。
  • 同时,用以支持多个磁带设备的备份软件所需的花费也悄然到来。磁带机器人提供了基本的读/写容量,但是为了充分利用这些容量,您必须投资购买专门的磁带备份软件。对于 Amazon.com,软件的成本已经很高了,并且大幅提高了总体备份成本。此项软件成本已然成为持续存在的预算难题,并且,只要仍需将备份写入磁带设备,这一难题就难以解决。
  • 使用磁带维持可靠的备份并快速高效地取回数据,需要耗费大量时间和精力。需要将数据长期保存在磁带上时,还需要多个备份。当一切正常工作时,还存在稍微争用磁带资源的问题,磁带机器人和软件可以轻松找到所要的数据。但是,如果发生硬件故障,必须人为干预才能从磁带进行恢复。对磁带的争用还会导致多个用户的磁带请求减缓恢复过程。这会增加恢复时间目标 (RTO),并且与备份到云存储相比,达到这一目标更加困难。

Amazon.com 开始评估 Amazon S3 在数据备份方面的经济性和性能改进情况。作为评估的一部分,他们考虑了 Amazon S3 备份的安全性、可用性和性能。Amazon.com 还执行了成本效益分析,确定迁移到 Amazon S3 在经济方面的合算性。成本效益包含以下元素:

  • 性能优势和成本竞争力。备份的总成本务必不能增加。同时,Amazon.com 还要求更快的备份和恢复性能。与磁带相比,备份和恢复所需时间和精力均要显著减少,与从磁带执行等量恢复相比,从 Amazon S3 运行恢复要快 2 到 12 倍。Amazon.com 要求任何新的备份媒介提供更高的性能,同时维持或减少总体成本。备份到本地磁盘存储可以提升性能,但是丧失了成本竞争力。Amazon S3 云存储在两个方面都能满足条件。
  • 更好的持久性和可用性。Amazon S3 可在一年内提供 99.999999999% 的数据元耐久性和 99.99% 的数据元可用性。Amazon.com 将这些数字与从磁带基础设施观察所得数字进行比较,确定 Amazon S3 提供了显著的改进。
  • 运营摩擦更少。Amazon.com 数据库管理员必须评估 Amazon S3 备份对于数据库备份的可行性。他们确定使用 Amazon S3 进行备份很为容易实施,因为它可与 Oracle RMAN 无缝合作。
  • 数据安全性更高。Amazon.com 发现,AWS 能满足其对物理安全、安全认证评估、保护动态、静态数据、使用合适的加密标准方面的所有要求。

随着完全迁移到 Amazon S3,Amazon.com 认识到这一措施所带来的好处,包括:

  • 消除了复杂、耗时的磁带容量规划工作。由于组织变化和并购活动,Amazon.com 越来越壮大,并且逐年增加动态性。AWS 使 Amazon.com 能够适应这种快速扩张,并且顺利地进行过渡。之前,Amazon.com 业务组必须编写年度备份计划,计算该年度计划要使用的磁带存储量以及使用这些磁带资源的频率。然后,根据这些计划来向各个组织收取磁带使用费,从而将成本摊到许多团队。使用 Amazon S3,团队只需按使用支付费用,仅计算其所用资源的费用。实际上,对于 Amazon S3 中最多能存储多少数据没有上限,也无需担心资源不足的情况。对于采用 Amazon S3 备份的团队而言,再也无需进行正式规划了。
  • 减少了资本支出。Amazon.com 再也不需要购买磁带机器人、磁带驱动器、备用磁带、数据中心空间、联网设备、企业备份软件或预测未来的磁带消耗量。这就早早地消除了针对固定设备以及资本开支的预算。
  • 恢复时可立即获取数据,无需查找或取回物理磁带。无论何时,数据管理员从磁带恢复数据时,都要面对延迟问题。磁带备份软件需要读取磁带目录来查找要恢复的文件、找到磁带并从中读取数据。在大部分情况下,数据分散在多个磁带中,而这会导致延迟问题的加剧。这种情况,再加上多个用户磁带请求导致的争用磁带驱动器的问题,会致使恢复过程会更加缓慢。这种情况在发生重要事件时尤其严重,如数据中心运行中断时,此时需要同时尽快恢复多个数据库。使用 Amazon S3 这些问题都不存在了。数据恢复可以立即开始,无需等待或磁带排队,这意味着数据库可以更快恢复运行。
  • 将数据库备份到 Amazon S3 比使用磁带驱动器要快 2 到 12 倍。作为一个示例,在基准测试中,数据库管理员可以在 2.5 小时内通过 Gigabit 以太网恢复 3.8 TB 的数据。这相当于每分钟 25 GB,或每秒 422 MB。另外,由于 Amazon.com 使用 RMAN 数据压缩功能,有效恢复率达到每秒 3.37 GB。这 2.5 小时的恢复量堪比以保守方式 10 到 15 小时从磁带恢复的量。
  • 轻松实现从 Oracle RMAN 备份到 Amazon S3。数据库管理员发现,将数据库备份到 Amazon S3 的操作入门非常简单。将 Oracle RMAN 备份到 Amazon S3 只需配置一个 Oracle Secure Backup Cloud (SBC) 模块即可。配置 Oracle SBC 模块每个数据库所需的时间不超过 1 小时。完成此一次性设置后,数据库备份就可以可见的方式重定向到 Amazon S3。
  • Amazon S3 提供持久数据存储,专为提供高达 99.999999999% 的持久性而设计。Amazon.com 偶尔会遇到磁带基础设施硬件故障,如磁带破碎、磁带驱动器故障、机器人组件故障。有时候,当数据库管理员试图恢复数据库时出现这种情况,这大大降低平均恢复时间 (MTTR)。有了 Amazon S3 的持久性和可用性,这些问题再也不复存在。
  • 解放了珍贵的人力资源。使用磁带基础设施,Amazon.com 必须找到在大型磁带备份安装方面经验丰富的工程师,即专业的、熟悉各个供应商不同技术的人员,而这样的人很难找到。他们还需要雇佣数据中心技术人员来专门从事问题解决和硬件故障排查工作,如更换驱动器、整理磁带、运输和跟踪磁带等。Amazon S3 让他们能够将这些专业人员从日常操作中解脱出来,从事更有价值的关键业务工程设计任务。
  • 再也不必将实体磁带运送到场外。所有将 Oracle 备份数据场外存储的公司应该仔细分析将磁带运送到场外、安保和场外保存所需的花费,而这些花费在使用 Amazon S3 存储数据后就可以减少,甚至可能完全消除。

作为世界上最大的在线零售商,Amazon.com 始终在不断创新,努力提供更好的客户体验并以尽可能地的价格提供产品。其中一个创新举动就是用 Amazon S3 存储替代磁带进行备份操作。此创新是其他将 Oracle 数据库备份到磁带的组织可以轻松复制的。

要了解有关 AWS 备份和存储的更多信息,请访问:http://aws.amazon.com/backup-storage/

Amazon.com is the world’s largest online retailer. In 2011, Amazon.com switched from tape backup to using Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) for backing up the majority of its Oracle databases. This strategy reduces complexity and capital expenditures, provides faster backup and restore performance, eliminates tape capacity planning for backup and archive, and frees up administrative staff for higher value operations. The company was able to replace their backup tape infrastructure with cloud-based Amazon S3 storage, eliminate backup software, and experienced a 12X performance improvement, reducing restore time from around 15 hours to 2.5 hours in select scenarios.

As Amazon.com grows larger, the sizes of their Oracle databases continue to grow, and so does the sheer number of databases they maintain. This has caused growing pains related to backing up legacy Oracle databases to tape and led to the consideration of alternate strategies including the use of Cloud services of Amazon Web Services (AWS), a subsidiary of Amazon.com. Some of the business challenges Amazon.com faced included:

  • Utilization and capacity planning is complex, and time and capital expense budget are at a premium. Significant capital expenditures were required over the years for tape hardware, data center space for this hardware, and enterprise licensing fees for tape software. During that time, managing tape infrastructure required highly skilled staff to spend time with setup, certification and engineering archive planning instead of on higher value projects. And at the end of every fiscal year, projecting future capacity requirements required time consuming audits, forecasting, and budgeting.
  • The cost of backup software required to support multiple tape devices sneaks up on you. Tape robots provide basic read/write capability, but in order to fully utilize them, you must invest in proprietary tape backup software. For Amazon.com, the cost of the software had been high, and added significantly to overall backup costs. The cost of this software was an ongoing budgeting pain point, but one that was difficult to address as long as backups needed to be written to tape devices.
  • Maintaining reliable backups and being fast and efficient when retrieving data requires a lot of time and effort with tape. When data needs to be durably stored on tape, multiple copies are required. When everything is working correctly, and there is minimal contention for tape resources, the tape robots and backup software can easily find the required data. However, if there is a hardware failure, human intervention is necessary to restore from tape. Contention for tape drives resulting from multiple users’ tape requests slows down restore processes even more. This adds to the recovery time objective (RTO) and makes achieving it more challenging compared to backing up to Cloud storage.

Amazon.com initiated the evaluation of Amazon S3 for economic and performance improvements related to data backup. As part of that evaluation, they considered security, availability, and performance aspects of Amazon S3 backups. Amazon.com also executed a cost-benefit analysis to ensure that a migration to Amazon S3 would be financially worthwhile. That cost benefit analysis included the following elements:

  • Performance advantage and cost competitiveness. It was important that the overall costs of the backups did not increase. At the same time, Amazon.com required faster backup and recovery performance. The time and effort required for backup and for recovery operations proved to be a significant improvement over tape, with restoring from Amazon S3 running from two to twelve times faster than a similar restore from tape. Amazon.com required any new backup medium to provide improved performance while maintaining or reducing overall costs. Backing up to on-premises disk based storage would have improved performance, but missed on cost competitiveness. Amazon S3 Cloud based storage met both criteria.
  • Greater durability and availability. Amazon S3 is designed to provide 99.999999999% durability and 99.99% availability of objects over a given year. Amazon.com compared these figures with those observed from their tape infrastructure, and determined that Amazon S3 offered significant improvement.
  • Less operational friction. Amazon.com DBAs had to evaluate whether Amazon S3 backups would be viable for their database backups. They determined that using Amazon S3 for backups was easy to implement because it worked seamlessly with Oracle RMAN.
  • Strong data security. Amazon.com found that AWS met all of their requirements for physical security, security accreditations, and security processes, protecting data in flight, data at rest, and utilizing suitable encryption standards.

With the migration to Amazon S3 well along the way to completion, Amazon.com has realized several benefits, including:

  • Elimination of complex and time-consuming tape capacity planning. Amazon.com is growing larger and more dynamic each year, both organically and as a result of acquisitions. AWS has enabled Amazon.com to keep pace with this rapid expansion, and to do so seamlessly. Historically, Amazon.com business groups have had to write annual backup plans, quantifying the amount of tape storage that they plan to use for the year and the frequency with which they will use the tape resources. These plans are then used to charge each organization for their tape usage, spreading the cost among many teams. With Amazon S3, teams simply pay for what they use, and are billed for their usage as they go. There are virtually no upper limits as to how much data can be stored in Amazon S3, and so there are no worries about running out of resources. For teams adopting Amazon S3 backups, the need for formal planning has been all but eliminated.
  • Reduced capital expenditures. Amazon.com no longer needs to acquire tape robots, tape drives, tape inventory, data center space, networking gear, enterprise backup software, or predict future tape consumption. This eliminates the burden of budgeting for capital equipment well in advance as well as the capital expense.
  • Immediate availability of data for restoring – no need to locate or retrieve physical tapes. Whenever a DBA needs to restore data from tape, they face delays. The tape backup software needs to read the tape catalog to find the correct files to restore, locate the correct tape, mount the tape, and read the data from it. In almost all cases the data is spread across multiple tapes, resulting in further delays. This, combined with contention for tape drives resulting from multiple users’ tape requests, slows the process down even more. This is especially severe during critical events such as a data center outage, when many databases must be restored simultaneously and as soon as possible. None of these problems occur with Amazon S3. Data restores can begin immediately, with no waiting or tape queuing – and that means the database can be recovered much faster.
  • Backing up a database to Amazon S3 can be two to twelve times faster than with tape drives. As one example, in a benchmark test a DBA was able to restore 3.8 terabytes in 2.5 hours over gigabit Ethernet. This amounts to 25 gigabytes per minute, or 422MB per second. In addition, since Amazon.com uses RMAN data compression, the effective restore rate was 3.37 gigabytes per second. This 2.5 hours compares to, conservatively, 10-15 hours that would be required to restore from tape.
  • Easy implementation of Oracle RMAN backups to Amazon S3. The DBAs found it easy to start backing up their databases to Amazon S3. Directing Oracle RMAN backups to Amazon S3 requires only a configuration of the Oracle Secure Backup Cloud (SBC) module. The effort required to configure the Oracle SBC module amounted to an hour or less per database. After this one-time setup, the database backups were transparently redirected to Amazon S3.
  • Durable data storage provided by Amazon S3, which is designed for 11 nines durability. On occasion, Amazon.com has experienced hardware failures with tape infrastructure – tapes that break, tape drives that fail, and robotic components that fail. Sometimes this happens when a DBA is trying to restore a database, and dramatically increases the mean time to recover (MTTR). With the durability and availability of Amazon S3, these issues are no longer a concern.
  • Freeing up valuable human resources. With tape infrastructure, Amazon.com had to seek out engineers who were experienced with very large tape backup installations – a specialized, vendor-specific skill set that is difficult to find. They also needed to hire data center technicians and dedicate them to problem-solving and troubleshooting hardware issues – replacing drives, shuffling tapes around, shipping and tracking tapes, and so on. Amazon S3 allowed them to free up these specialists from day-to-day operations so that they can work on more valuable, business-critical engineering tasks.
  • Elimination of physical tape transport to off-site location. Any company that has been storing Oracle backup data offsite should take a hard look at the costs involved in transporting, securing and storing their tapes offsite – these costs can be reduced or possibly eliminated by storing the data in Amazon S3.

As the world’s largest online retailer, Amazon.com continuously innovates in order to provide improved customer experience and offer products at the lowest possible prices. One such innovation has been to replace tape with Amazon S3 storage for database backups. This innovation is one that can be easily replicated by other organizations that back up their Oracle databases to tape.

To learn more about backup and storage on AWS, visit: http://aws.amazon.com/backup-storage/.