Euclid 是一家发展迅速的技术初创企业,通过测量行人流量、商店访问量、路人转化率、退出率、访问时长和客户忠诚度来帮助传统零售商优化营销、销售和运营绩效。该公司拥有庞大的流量计数传感器网络,覆盖美国各地近 400 个购物中心、商场和街道。Euclid 提供的匿名整合数据每月可测量美国专营零售店、百货商店、购物商场和零售大卖场的超过 2100 万次购物会话。Euclid 位于美国加利福尼亚州的帕洛阿尔托市。

Euclid 分析客户运动数据,将流量与营销活动相关联,从而帮助零售商优化客流高峰时段的营销和其他活动。该公司以多种抽象级别处理数据,从而识别并分析关键数据特征。Euclid 的分析师负责运行 SQL 查询、创建新算法,然后生成自定义报告。此类工作需要有可调整以适应使用高峰的灵活计算环境。另外,联合创始人和首席技术官 Ken Leung 解释说:“我们的分析团队始终在试验新的探试算法。如果某种方法的确有效,或者需要向历史数据中添加定论,我们可能不得不重新计算多达 18 个月的客户数据。这需要非常强大的计算能力,并且会带来流量高峰。我们需要能够根据需要扩大和缩小规模的资源。”

Euclid 在 Web 层使用由 Heroku(Amazon 合作伙伴网络 (APN) 中的高级技术合作伙伴)提供的技术,并且一直采用 Amazon Web Services (AWS) 平台。Euclid 在 Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) 上存储信息,并使用 Amazon Elastic MapReduce (Amazon EMR) 并行处理数据。

起初该公司在 MySQL 上运行数据存储,但后来迁移至 Amazon Redshift 以提高分析工作负载的性能。“使用 Amazon Redshift,我们的分析师能够处理大型数据集,并且对堆栈快速运行基于 SQL 的查询。”平台工程部主管 Dexin Wang 说,“它的速度令我们非常惊讶 – 使用 MySQL 进行统计行数的简单计算需要花费 5.5 小时,而使用 Amazon Redshift 仅需 30 秒。”据 Wang 估算,只需几天时间便可将生产数据传输至 Amazon Redshift 并开始对其进行分析。“Amazon Redshift 非常易于扩展,管理要求也极低,”他解释说,“而且经济高效。从之前的数据库系统迁移至 Amazon Redshift 之后,我们的成本降低了 90%。”

Euclid 的工程师直接在 Amazon EC2 实例上编写和测试代码。这使他们能够在任何地点工作,访问无限制带宽,并轻松快速地移动数据,速度高达每秒 25MB。Euclid 使用三种 Amazon EC2 实例来处理数据,并使用 AWS Elastic Beanstalk 实现负载平衡和自动扩展。Euclid 每天在 Amazon S3 上存储的未压缩数据多达 30GB。

分析团队利用 Amazon EMR 和 Hadoop 聚集并分析数据。Leung 说:“Amazon EMR 为我们完成了大部分繁重工作,以前工作时,我使用的是 Hadoop,我们不得不花时间安装和管理集群。但使用 AWS 后,我们再也不需要做这些。我们只在需要时使用该服务,这节省了大量成本。”下面的图 1 展示了 AWS 上的 Euclid 环境。

euclid-architecure

图 1.AWS 上的 Euclid 架构

Leung 说:“从我们创业初期开始,AWS 就使得 Euclid 非常敏捷,而且发展迅速,在公司成立之初,只有我们两个人,也没有资金。即便在获得资金以后,我们的资源也十分有限。而我们在 AWS 上的总支出不到 1000 美元。这使我们能够专注于开发流程,灵活调整以利用各种商机,并快速帮助客户尝试不同的解决方案,而不必调拨专门的资源。”

随着公司不断发展,他们利用 Amazon Redshift 和 Amazon EMR 对不断增长的大型数据集运行复杂查询,同时性能也在不断提高。“在过去三年中,我们每天收集 1GB 到 30GB 的数据。”Leung 说,“通过在 AWS 上运行并利用 Amazon Redshift,我们能够进行扩展,从而提供强大的计算能力,可在几小时内完成处理数十 TB 庞大数据集的任务,而以前处理这种任务需要两周时间。总的来说,与构建能够满足峰值计算负载需求的基础设施所需的开销相比,使用 AWS 可节省 80% 到 90% 的成本。”

Wang 补充说:“我们不想在基础设施或扩展问题上花费过多精力。我们只希望能够提出问题并获得答案。AWS 帮助我们迅速得到了答案。”

若要了解关于 AWS 如何帮助您满足数据负载需求的更多信息,请访问我们的“Big Data on AWS”详细信息页面:http://aws.amazon.com/big-data/

有关 Heroku 如何帮助贵公司在 AWS 云上运行的更多信息,请参阅 AWS 合作伙伴目录中的 Heroku 清单

Euclid, a fast-growing technology start-up, helps brick-and-mortar retailers optimize marketing, merchandising, and operations performance by measuring foot traffic, store visits, walk-by conversion, bounce rate, visit duration, and customer loyalty. The company has a network of traffic counting sensors in nearly 400 shopping centers, malls, and street locations around the United States. Euclid provides aggregated, anonymous data that measures more than 21 million shopping sessions a month across the United States in specialty retail, department stores, shopping malls, and big-box retail. Euclid is located in Palo Alto, CA.

Euclid analyzes customer movement data to correlate traffic with marketing campaigns and to help retailers optimize hours for peak traffic, among other activities. The company processes data at several levels of abstraction to identify and analyze key data characteristics. Euclid’s analysts run SQL queries, create new algorithms, and produce custom reports. This type of work requires a flexible computing environment that can adjust to spikes in utilization. Additionally, as Ken Leung, Co-Founder and CTO, explains, “Our analytics team constantly experiments with new heuristics. If something really works or if there’s a fix that needs to be put into historical data, we might have to re-compute up to 18 months of customer data. That requires a lot of computational power, which spikes traffic. We need resources that can scale up on demand and scale down when we don’t need it.”

Euclid uses technology provided by Heroku—an Advanced Technology Partner in the Amazon Partner Network (APN)—for its web layer and has always run on Amazon Web Services (AWS). Euclid stores information on Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3), and processes data in parallel with Amazon Elastic MapReduce (Amazon EMR).

Initially, the company ran its data store on MySQL but moved to Amazon Redshift to improve performance for analytic workloads. “Using Amazon Redshift, our analysts can work with large data sets and run SQL-based queries to our stack quickly,” Dexin Wang, Director of Platform Engineering reports. “We were totally amazed at the speed—a simple count of rows that would take 5 1/2 hours using MySQL only took 30 seconds with Amazon Redshift.” Wang estimates that it only took a few days to port production data over to Amazon Redshift and start running analysis on it. “Amazon Redshift is very easy to scale with minimal management requirements,” he comments. “It’s also cost effective. We saw a 90 percent cost reduction moving from our previous database system to Amazon Redshift.”

Euclid’s engineers write and test code directly on Amazon EC2 instances. This allows them to work from any location, access unlimited bandwidth, and move data around easily and quickly at a speed of up to 25 MB per second. Euclid uses three Amazon EC2 instances to process data and AWS Elastic Beanstalk for load balancing and auto scaling. Euclid stores up to 30 GB of uncompressed data per day in Amazon S3.

The analytics team leverages Amazon EMR and Hadoop to aggregate and analyze data. “Amazon EMR does most of the heavy lifting,” says Leung. “I used Hadoop in my previous work and we had to spend time installing and managing the cluster. We don’t have to do that with AWS. We only use the service when we need it, which is a great cost savings.” Figure 1 below demonstrates Euclid’s environment on AWS.

euclid-architecure

Figure 1. Euclid Architecture on AWS

“From our very early days, AWS allowed Euclid to be agile and move quickly,” says Leung. “When we began, we were two guys and unfunded. Even after getting funding, our resources were limited. Our total spend on AWS was less than $1,000. That allowed us to focus on developing a process, pivot to take advantage of business opportunities, and try different solutions for customers rapidly without committing resources.”

As the company continues to grow, it takes advantage of Amazon Redshift and Amazon EMR to run complex queries on large and growing data sets with improved performance. “We’ve collected 1 to 30 GB of data per day over the last three years,” notes Leung. “By running on AWS and taking advantage of Amazon Redshift, we can scale to provide the computational power to complete a task on our entire data set, tens of terabytes, in a couple of hours—a task that used to take two weeks. Overall, compared to what we would have to spend to build an infrastructure capable of meeting our peak compute load requirements, we’re saving 80 to 90 percent using AWS.”

Wang adds, “We didn’t want to worry about infrastructure or scaling. We just want to be able to ask questions and get answers. AWS helps us get answers quickly.”

To learn more about how AWS can help your data workload needs, visit our Big Data on AWS details page: http://aws.amazon.com/big-data/.

For more information about how Heroku can help your company run on the AWS Cloud, see Heroku's listing in the AWS Partner Directory.