Knewton 以为全球学生提供个性化学习内容为目标。教育公司使用 Knewton 技术为课程提供支持,使课程能够根据每个学生的独特需要动态地做出调整。Knewton 通过分析数据来了解学生掌握了哪些知识,然后为他们推荐下一步的学习内容,从而帮助更多学生掌握学习材料并取得进步。由 Knewton 提供支持的分析技术能够找出知识差距并预测学习效果,帮助教育工作者、学生家长和管理人员更好地为每个学生提供支持。

Knewton 在纽约和伦敦设有办事处。

Knewton 成立于 2008 年,目前已开发出耐用的基础设施,用于向出版商和教育公司提供自适应学习支持。该公司自成立起就一直在使用 Amazon Web Services (AWS)。公司的首席技术官 (CTO) Ryan Prichard 曾解释说:“在 AWS 上进行开发,我们可以维持较低的环境预置和维护成本。我们想迁移到云,这样我们就能扩展业务,而且能在返校季等高峰时段支持大量师生使用我们的服务。毫无疑问,AWS 在云技术领域处于领军地位。”

Knewton 发布了一个企业随时可用的平台,用于分析和规范化匿名学习数据,以便出版商创建更有效的数字课程材料,不断适应每个学生的独特需要。在 2014 年,有 600 多万学生使用由 Knewton 提供支持的产品。Knewton 正在迅速扩展业务,努力为新的课程、年级和课堂提供支持;此外,该公司目前在美国、欧洲、东亚及世界其他地区都建立了合作伙伴关系。随着 Knewton 的不断发展,该组织应能够快速扩展其平台,从而为全球师生提供可靠的使用体验,这一点很重要。

Prichard 评价说:“如果我们没在 AWS 上运行,我们的发展速度不会这么快。我们会错失许多业务机会,也不能在早期开发出多个关键功能。假如我们聘用一个庞大的内部运营团队来运行多个数据中心,那么我们不会取得当前的业绩 – 我们已经与全球 19 家出版商、教育公司和教育机构建立了合作关系。

学生在家、在教室长期使用由 Knewton 提供支持的产品,在此过程中,会产生大量匿名数据,该公司的自适应学习平台将分析这些数据。Knewton 使用 Amazon Elastic Map Reduce (Amazon EMR) 并行分析该平台上的大数据集,进而调整其课程建议和分析模型。这一类型的分析定期执行;利用 Amazon EMR,Knewton 的团队无需支付与管理自有 Hadoop 群集相关的额外成本和运营开销。

该公司使用 AWS CloudFormation 预置了 1000 多个 Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) 实例。Prichard 说:“我们 80% 以上的实例都采用了预留实例,每月的费用因此约降低了一半。”

Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) 负责为配置文件和备份提供存储空间,而 Elastic Load Balancing 负责在实例之间分配流量。图 1 展示了 AWS 上的 Knewton 自适应学习平台。

knewton-arch-diagram

图 1.AWS 上的 Knewton 自适应学习平台

在 AWS 上运行,Knewton 可以进行扩展,以管理大型流量高峰。“我们将会看到,在这学年开始时,众多学生就可以同时使用由 Knewton 提供支持的课程材料。”Prichard 说,“AWS 的一大优势在于,它能在繁忙时段快速扩展,几乎无需事先通知,当流量恢复正常时,则能缩减回原来的规模。”

该公司还大规模地利用 AWS 云制定明智的基础设施决策。在决定针对其新一代图形数据库使用什么技术时,Knewton 首先创建了一个小型群集原型,以验证该解决方案在功能上是否具备可行性。之后,公司团队将该群集扩展为一个全面预置生产群集的大小,从而确保新解决方案的优势可以在未来 12 个月内按预测的规模实现。功能和性能试验结束后,所有数据库实例均停用。Knewton 以相对较少的投资获得了更大的信心,从而更加理智地制定关键基础设施决策。

从业务角度而言,借助 AWS,Knewton 不仅满足了学生和合作伙伴的需要,还成功进军新的市场,从而发展成为领先的自适应学习平台。“在 AWS 上运行我们的平台,我们可以与世界各地的合作伙伴合作。”Prichard 说,“AWS 提供的基础设施符合多个国家/地区的数据法规要求,鉴于我们已经在全球四大洲开展了合作业务,这对我们来说很重要。能够在 Amazon Virtual Private Cloud (Amazon VPC) 中部署平台并在多个区域运行平台,这是我们在战略上的一大优势。”

“从公司早期发展阶段起,AWS 团队就是 Knewton 的合作伙伴。”Prichard 说,“AWS 为我们提供可靠的基础设施,帮助我们为全球教育公司提供学习材料方面的技术支持。在我看来,在 Knewton 的发展过程中,AWS 团队是我们非常重要的合作伙伴。”

要详细了解 AWS 如何为教育领域提供支持,请访问:http://aws.amazon.com/education/

Knewton's goal is to personalize learning for students around the world. Education companies use Knewton technology to power courses that dynamically adapt to each student’s unique needs. By analyzing data to figure out what a student knows, Knewton recommends what to study next, helping more students master material and get ahead. Knewton-powered analytics identify knowledge gaps and predict performance to help educators, parents, and administrators better support every student.

Knewton has offices in New York City and London.

Founded in 2008, Knewton has developed a heavy-duty infrastructure that powers adaptive learning for publishers and education companies. The company has been on Amazon Web Services (AWS) since its inception. As Chief Technology Officer (CTO) Ryan Prichard explains, “Developing on AWS kept our costs low for provisioning and maintaining the environment. We wanted to be on the cloud so we could expand and support a large volume of students and teachers during peak times like back-to-school season. AWS was the clear leader in the cloud space.”

Knewton launched an enterprise-ready platform, which analyzes and normalizes anonymous learning data, enabling publishers to create more effective digital course materials that continuously adapt to each student’s unique needs. Over six million students will use Knewton-powered products in 2014. Knewton is quickly expanding to support new subject areas, grade levels, and classrooms; the company currently has partnerships across the U.S., Europe, East Asia, and beyond. As Knewton continues to grow, it’s critical that the organization can quickly scale its platform to provide a reliable experience for students and teachers around the world.

Prichard comments: “If we weren’t running on AWS, it would have slowed down our growth. We would have missed business opportunities and key features wouldn’t have been developed early on. We wouldn’t have been able to get to the place we are now — with partnerships with 19 publishers, education companies, and institutions around the world — if we had to hire a huge in-house operations team to operate multiple data centers.”

The adaptive learning platform analyzes massive amounts of anonymized data, as students use Knewton-powered products for extended periods of time while studying at home and in the classroom. Knewton uses Amazon Elastic Map Reduce (Amazon EMR) to analyze large data sets across the platform in parallel in order to calibrate its recommendation and analytical models. This type of analysis is done periodically; by leveraging Amazon EMR, Knewton’s teams don’t have to deal with the additional cost and operational overhead of managing their own Hadoop cluster.

The company uses AWS CloudFormation to provision more than 1,000 Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) instances. “We moved about 80 percent of our instances to Reserved Instances, which has cut our monthly bill almost in half,” says Prichard.

Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) provides storage for configuration files and backups. Elastic Load Balancing distributes traffic among instances. Figure 1 demonstrates Knewton’s adaptive learning platform on AWS.

knewton-arch-diagram

Figure 1. Knewton Adaptive Learning Platform on AWS

By running on AWS, Knewton can scale to manage large traffic spikes. “At the beginning of the school year, we’ll see students using Knewton-powered course materials all at once,” says Prichard. “One of the best things about AWS is the ability to scale up quickly during busy times with very little advance notice then scale back down once traffic resumes to normal.”

The company also takes advantage of the AWS Cloud to make informed infrastructure decisions at scale. When deciding on the technology behind their next-generation graph database, Knewton was able to first prototype a small cluster to validate the functional feasibility of the solution. Their team then scaled that cluster up to the size of a fully provisioned production cluster — ensuring the benefits of the new solution would be realized at the scale forecasted over the next 12 months. At the completion of the functional and performance tests, all database instances were decommissioned. This relatively small investment helped make Knewton much more confident in a critical infrastructure decision.

From a business perspective, AWS has allowed Knewton to meet the demands of students and partners, and expand into new markets to become the leading adaptive learning platform. “We’re able to work with partners all over the world while running our platform with AWS,” says Prichard. “AWS offers an infrastructure that is compliant with data regulations in various countries, which is essential as we already have partners spread across four continents. Being able to deploy in an Amazon Virtual Private Cloud (Amazon VPC) and operate in multiple regions has been a huge strategic advantage for us.”

“The AWS team has been a Knewton partner since the early days of our organization,” says Prichard. “AWS has provided a reliable infrastructure and helped us power materials for education companies internationally. I look at the AWS team as a valuable partner in Knewton’s growth.”

To learn more about how AWS can help support Education, visit: http://aws.amazon.com/education/.