作为电子交易的发明者,NASDAQ OMX Group, Inc. 在提供市场技术以及推动创新文化方面拥有 20 多年的经验。该公司提供能够促进经济增长和管理整个交易生命周期的产品和服务;有利于交易执行的风险管理、交易完成后的承诺,以及清算监督。NASDAQ OMX 在美国和欧洲拥有并运营 23 个市场、3 个清算所和 5 个中央证券存管机构,从事股权、期权、固定收益产品、衍生品、商品、期货和结构性产品的交易。在全球该公司为 50 个开发国家和新兴国家的 70 多个市场提供技术,支持全世界十分之一的证券交易。

NASDAQ FinQloud 采用 AWS:客户成功故事 (3:01)

fTnXooe_L84-Video-Thumb

通过与金融服务公司合作,NASDAQ OMX 认识到这些公司所处的全球监管环境的复杂性。面对即将到来的监管,公司通常需要增加透明度,并向监管人员提供对更为详细的财务信息的访问。安全存储和管理大量数据的成本正在不断增加,在遵守法规如美国证券交易委员会 (SEC) 法规第 17 条 a4(商簿册纪录),该法规要求为特定时间存储特定的监管金融数据的情况下尤其如此,这为许多公司施加了大量潜在的财务压力。

作为回应,NASDAQ OMX 开发了在 Amazon Web Services (AWS) 上运行的 FinQloud,以向其客户提供高效的金融数据存储和管理。FinQloud 可帮助公司无需在基础设施上花费高额的资金成本,即可简化运营并满足合规性要求。借助 FinQloud 解决方案,该公司可充分利用 AWS 云的安全、灵活和经济高效的特性,并将其与 NASDAQ OMX 在向金融服务公司提供技术和域专业知识方面的经验相结合。

“一些世界上最大的组织已在使用 Amazon Web Services。在查看可交付 FinQloud 的潜在云平台提供商时,AWS 因其受信任的企业级功能而成为了我们不二之选。他们能够及时提供经济高效的解决方案来扩展到我们的客户需要处理的数据量,这给我们留下了深刻印象。我们的客户现在就需要帮助,因此我们完全有必要使用经验证的 AWS 云平台,以尽快向客户提供他们所需的成本节省,”NASDAQ OMX 高级副总裁和访问服务全球主管 Ted Myerson 说道。

目前,AWS 支持 FinQloud 的监管记录保留 (R3) 数据存储解决方案和 Query, 一种数据搜索和检索工具。根据 NASDAQ OMX 所说,FinQloud 的 R3 旨在提供存储解决方案来帮助经纪交易商满足记录存档和检索的需求,(包括数据磁带,简称为 WORM,以及符合美国证券交易委员会第 17A-4 条规定),并且成本显著低于目前未在云中实施的解决方案。FinQloud R3 解决方案中存储的数据已被加密,密钥需要从一个单独的符合 WORM 要求的指定硬件设备中生成,并存储在该设备中。

通过为存储在 FinQloud 中的结构化和非结构化数据提供粒度搜索和检索功能,Query 可以补充 R3 解决方案。该解决方案旨在使经纪交易商可以快速运行按需查询,并方便对已存储数据进行高效检索。在响应需求用户生成的查询方面,Query 能够帮助快速高效地处理数 PB 的数据。查询使用在 Amazon Web Services 上运行的虚拟机,通过 Amazon Elastic MapReduce (Amazon EMR) 和 Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) 以及用于数据存储的 FinQloud R3 托管 Hadoop 作业集群。

作为一项用来满足金融服务行业严格的运营和监管安全性要求的落实到位的额外措施,所有与 FinQloud 的客户联系都要求通过严格的加密密钥管理系统,该系统在直接连接到 AWS 之前存储在私有 NASDAQ OMX 数据中心中。所有通过 FinQloud 运行的数据同样需要经过 NASDAQ OMX 严格的审核和完整性检查,以确认系统正常工作以及数据未受到损害。

FinQloud 还利用 Amazon Virtual Private Cloud (Amazon VPC) 创建了一个独立网络层,其中的数据独立于 AWS 或公共 Internet 上运行的其他实体。为了提高安全性,FinQloud 将每个客户的数据放置在不同的存储容器中,并使用 AWS Direct Connect 实施了到 AWS 的专用网络连接。

总之,NASDAQ OMX 通过使用有效加密、Amazon VPC 架构、客户数据隔离和安全连接,向原本已经非常稳健的 AWS 安全框架提供了更多防护。图 1 显示了 FinQloud 的架构:

NASDAQ OMX Architecture

Figure 1. NASDAQ OMX FinQloud Architecture

FinQloud 利用 AWS 经验证的企业云经验,服务于高度管制行业的各种客户,并结合 NASDAQ OMX 在提供技术解决方案方面的丰富经验,提供一个针对特定行业的云平台,旨在满足金融服务行业复杂的安全性和合规性要求。

“对于 FinQloud,我们结合利用了安全、灵活、经济高效的 AWS 云基础设施以及 NASDAQ OMX 为交易、监管机构及经纪交易商提供技术和咨询服务的经验。”Myerson 继续说道:“通过使用 AWS 平台,FinQloud 可以帮助 NASDAQ OMX 的客户显著降低与数据和基础设施管理相关的运营成本和复杂性。”

Myerson 补充道:“此综合技能使 NASDAQ OMX 能够以安全、机密和兼容地方式,向客户交付一个根据其独特需求量身打造的解决方案。此外,我们很高兴能够将 AWS 云所提供的灵活性和可靠性传递给我们的客户。”

而且,NASDAQ OMX 还介绍了 FinQloud 提供的以下优势:

  • 敏捷性:FinQloud 通过使组织可以轻松扩展计算资源以及积极响应将推动收入增长的业务机会,使他们更具敏捷性和竞争力。
  • 经济高效的数据存储:客户可能会显著降低与技术、设备和运营开销相关的数据存储成本。使用 FinQloud,企业可以轻松扩展其数据存储和计算容量来满足需求,并且无需购买和支持额外的基础设施。
  • 可访问性:FinQloud 使组织可以集中访问数据,这些数据通常分散在多个数据中心或内部服务器中。公司将获得快速按需检索数据的能力,同时可以保留一个包含所有数据的宝贵副本。
  • 节省成本:FinQloud 潜在的大量成本节省和可扩展性使公司无需增加重大基础设施即可支持增长。通常,可以将稀缺的技术资源重新部署到关键的创收领域。

若要了解 AWS 和 NASDAQ OMX FinQloud 如何帮助您安全、可靠地存储、搜索和检索财务数据的更多信息,请访问“备份和存储”详细信息页面:http://aws.amazon.com/backup-storage/

若要详细了解 NASDAQ OMX 的全球数据产品部门如何使用 Amazon S3 向客户提供历史股票价格信息,请访问:http://aws.amazon.com/solutions/case-studies/nasdaq-omx/

The NASDAQ OMX Group, Inc., the inventor of the electronic exchange, has over 20 years’ experience delivering market technology and driving a culture of innovation. The company provides products and services that help fuel economies and manage the entire life cycle of a trade; risk management to trade execution, post-trade compliance, and surveillance to clearing. In the United States and Europe, NASDAQ OMX owns and operates 23 markets, 3 clearinghouses, and 5 central securities depositories supporting equities, options, fixed-income, derivatives, commodities, futures, and structured products. Globally, the company drives technology for more than 70 marketplaces in 50 developed and emerging countries, powering one in ten of the world’s securities transactions.

Through its work with financial services companies, NASDAQ OMX recognizes the complexity of the global regulatory landscape in which these firms are required to operate. Impending regulations often require increased transparency and the ability to provide regulators with access to increasingly detailed financial information. The costs of securely storing and managing vast amounts of data—especially in light of regulations, such as the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) Rule 17 a-4 (Books and Records), which require storage of certain regulated financial data for specific periods of time—have continued to grow, putting a potentially significant financial burden on many firms.

In response, NASDAQ OMX developed FinQloud, running on Amazon Web Services (AWS), to provide its clients with efficient storage and management of financial data. FinQloud helps firms streamline operations and meet regulatory compliance requirements without costly capital expenditures for infrastructure. With the FinQloud solution, the company leverages the secure, flexible, and cost-effective nature of the AWS Cloud in connection with NASDAQ OMX’s experience in providing technology and domain expertise to financial services companies.

“Amazon Web Services is already being used by some of the largest organizations around the globe. When we were looking at potential cloud platform providers to deliver FinQloud, AWS became the clear choice due to their trusted, enterprise capabilities. We were impressed by their ability to deliver cost-effective solutions that scale to the volumes of data that our clients need to process in a timely manner. Our clients need help now and it made perfect sense for us to leverage the proven AWS Cloud platform to provide our clients with the cost savings they need as soon as possible,” says Stacie Swanstrom, SVP and Global Head of Access Services, NASDAQ OMX.

Currently, AWS powers FinQloud’s Regulatory Records Retention (R3) data storage solution and Query, a data search and retrieval tool. According to NASDAQ OMX, FinQloud’s R3 is designed to provide a storage solution to help broker-dealers meet record archival and retrieval requirements (including Write Once Read Many, or WORM, compliance, as mandated under SEC Rule 17a-4) at a significantly lower cost than current non-cloud solutions. Data stored in the FinQloud R3 solution is encrypted using keys that are generated and stored on a separate hardware device designed to comply with WORM requirements.

Query complements the R3 solution by providing granular search-and-retrieval functionality for structured and unstructured data stored in FinQloud. The solution is designed to give broker-dealers the power to run fast, on-demand queries and facilitate efficient retrievals of stored data. Query helps process as much as petabytes of data quickly and efficiently in response to demanding, user-generated queries. Query uses virtual machines running on Amazon Web Services to host Hadoop job clusters via Amazon Elastic MapReduce (Amazon EMR) and Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3), as well as FinQloud’s R3 for data storage.

As an additional measure put in place to meet the stringent operational and regulatory security requirements of the financial services industry, all client connections to FinQloud are required to pass through a rigorous encryption key management system, which is housed in private NASDAQ OMX data centers before directly connecting to AWS. All data run through FinQloud is also subject to rigorous audit and integrity checks by NASDAQ OMX to confirm the system is working as intended and that data is not compromised.

FinQloud also takes advantage of Amazon Virtual Private Cloud (Amazon VPC) to create an isolated network layer where data is kept separate from other entities running on AWS or the public Internet. For further security, FinQloud places data from each client in a distinct storage container and implements a dedicated network connection to AWS using AWS Direct Connect.

In combination, NASDAQ OMX’s use of active encryption, Amazon VPC architecture, segregation of customer data and secure connectivity provides extra protection on top of the already robust AWS security framework. Figure 1 illustrates FinQloud’s architecture:

nasdaq-omx-arch-diagram

Figure 1. NASDAQ OMX FinQloud Architecture

FinQloud draws on the proven enterprise cloud experience of AWS, serving a wide variety of customers operating in highly-regulated industries, and NASDAQ OMX’s extensive experience providing technology solutions to deliver an industry-specific cloud platform that is designed to meet the complex security and compliance requirements of the financial services industry.

“With FinQloud we leverage the secure, flexible, and cost-effective AWS Cloud infrastructure with NASDAQ OMX’s experience in providing technology and advisory services to exchanges, regulators and broker-dealers." Myerson continues, “By using the AWS platform, FinQloud can help NASDAQ OMX’s clients significantly reduce the operational costs and complexities associated with data and infrastructure management.”

Myerson adds, “This combined expertise enables NASDAQ OMX to deliver a solution that is tailored to our clients’ unique requirements in a secure, confidential, compliant manner. Additionally, the AWS Cloud offers flexibility and reliability that we are pleased to pass on to our clients.”

Furthermore, NASDAQ OMX describes the following benefits offered by FinQloud:

  • Agility: FinQloud helps organizations be more agile and competitive by empowering them to easily scale computing resources and proactively respond to business opportunities that will drive revenue growth.
  • Cost-Effective Data Storage: Customers may be able to significantly reduce the cost of data storage associated with technology, facilities and operational overhead. Using FinQloud, firms can easily scale their data storage and computing capacity to meet demand without the need to purchase and support additional infrastructure.
  • Accessibility: FinQloud gives organizations centralized access to data that is often otherwise segregated across multiple data centers or in-house servers. Firms gain fast, on-demand data retrieval capabilities and retain a golden copy of all data.
  • Cost Savings: FinQloud’s potentially dramatic cost savings and scalability allow firms to support growth without adding significant infrastructure. Scarce technology resources can often be redeployed to critical revenue-generating areas.

To learn more about how AWS and NASDAQ OMX FinQloud can help store, search, and retrieve financial data safely and securely, visit the Backup and Storage details page: http://aws.amazon.com/backup-storage/.

For more information about how the NASDAQ OMX's Global Data Products division uses Amazon S3 to deliver historical stock price information to customers, visit: http://aws.amazon.com/solutions/case-studies/nasdaq-omx/