快速密码学实验室是国立台湾大学的一个研究小组。该小组的研究工作重点是设计和分析用以解答重要数学问题的高效算法,以及在大规模并行计算机上开发和实施此类算法。

在签约 Amazon Web Services (AWS) 之前,该小组使用私有云并在自己的机器上运行 Hadoop。快速密码学实验室的主要研究者郑振牟教授解释了研究小组迁移到 AWS 的原因:“AWS 拥有清晰、灵活的接口,通过它起步非常简单。Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) 为不同性质的问题提供了通用的成本测量方式。对于相同或相似的问题,Amazon EC2 还可以充当对比备选或竞争算法及其实施项的指标。”

郑教授补充道:“将 Amazon EC2 用作指标时,算法的并行性或实施项的并行性将被明确考虑在内,这一点与假设或未指定时的情形相反。Amazon EC2 指标具有实用性且易于使用。”

该小组现在在架构中使用 Hadoop Streaming,并使用 Amazon Elastic MapReduce (Amazon EMR) 和 Amazon EC2 的集群 GPU 实例运行程序。

“我们的目标是打破解答欧几里德格中最短向量问题 (SVP) 的记录。”郑教授说,“此问题在信息科学领域有着举足轻重的地位。我们预计需要 1000 个 cg1.4xlarge 实例小时。最后使用了 50 个 cg1.4xlarge 实例并用大约 10 小时解答了问题。现在,我们发现的向量被视为迄今为止最难解答的 SVP。我们使用了 100 Tesla M2050 10 个小时且只花费了 2300 USD,这是一个非常划算的交易。”

迁移到 AWS 之后,该小组降低了机器维护成本,并且体验了更加稳定、可扩展性更强的计算能力。该小组最喜欢的 AWS 组件是 Amazon CloudWatch。该组件可用于查看计算机实用工具,同时还能改进程序。

放眼未来,郑教授说:“我们希望增加 GPU 集群引用并解答更高维度的 SVP。我们还在考虑租用 AWS 机器来构建 SVN 服务器。”

若要查找更多有关 AWS 如何帮助您存储和处理大数据的信息,请访问我们的大数据详细信息页面:http://aws.amazon.com/big-data/

Fast Crypto Lab is a research group within National Taiwan University, in Taiwan. The group’s research activities focus on the design and analysis of efficient algorithms to solve important mathematical problems, as well as the development and implementation of these algorithms on massively parallel computers.

Prior to signing on with Amazon Web Services (AWS), the group used a private cloud and ran Hadoop on their own machines. Prof. Chen-Mou Cheng, the Principal Investigator of Fast Crypto Lab, explains why the research group made the switch to AWS: “It is quite easy to get started with AWS with its clear and flexible interface. Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) provides a common measure of cost across problems of a different nature. For problems that are the same or similar, Amazon EC2 can also be used as a metric for comparing alternative or competing algorithms and their implementations.”

Chen-Mou adds, “When using Amazon EC2 as a metric, the parallelizability of the algorithm or the parallelization of the implementation is explicitly taken into account, as opposed to being assumed or unspecified. The Amazon EC2 metric is thus practical and easy to use.”

The group now uses Hadoop Streaming in their architecture, and runs their programs with Amazon Elastic MapReduce (Amazon EMR) and Cluster GPU Instances for Amazon EC2.

“Our purpose is to break the record of solving the shortest vector problem (SVP) in Euclidean lattices," Chen-Mou says. "The problem plays an important role in the field of information science. We estimated that we would need 1,000 cg1.4xlarge instance-hours. We ended up using 50 cg1.4xlarge instances for about 10 hours to solve our problem. Now, the vectors we found are considered the hardest SVP anyone has solved so far. We only spent $2,300 for using the 100 Tesla M2050 for 10 hours, which is quite a good deal.”

Since switching to AWS, the group indicates that the machine maintenance costs have been reduced, and they have experienced more stable and scalable computational power. The group’s favorite component of AWS is Amazon CloudWatch, which it uses to watch computer utilities while also improving their program.

Looking into the future, Chen-Mou says, “We want to increase our GPU Cluster quote and solve a higher dimension SVP. We are also considering renting an AWS machine for setting up an SVN server.”

To find out more about how AWS can help you store and process big data, visit our Big Data details page: http://aws.amazon.com/big-data/.