纽约大学 (NYU) 健康信息学和生物信息学中心高性能计算机构成立于 2009 年,目的是向纽约大学朗格尼医学中心的研究人员交付先进的计算能力。该机构允许医学信息学和生物信息学研究人员利用计算能力、数据存储和超级计算资源,以及与世界各地的协作人员共享的数据,来加快探索和创新。

高性能计算机构的技术总监 Stratos Efstathiadis 博士介绍了该机构的主要事务:“我们机构可以从新一代测序仪、显微镜、幻灯片式扫描仪、质谱仪及其他研究设备中捕获大量数据。我们必须存储、管理、支持和实现对这些数据的分析,并为科学家提供资源,供其运行模拟和生成模型”。

这些分析和模拟任务通常需要运行数天甚至数周的时间。因此,虽然我们机构是同类中最大的医学中心之一,但有时也需要额外的计算资源,以便研究人员更快速地分析数据。

比分析数据所用时间更棘手的问题是传输数据所需的时间。Efstathiadis 说道:“数据传输是我们遇到的一大瓶颈,我们的数据集非常大,因此迁移数据所需的时间往往比生成数据所用的时间要长。由于我们的协作人员遍布全球,如果我们无法迁移数据,他们就无法使用。”

结合使用 AWS 云与 Globus Online (一项由 AWS 托管和提供支持的免费文件传输服务) 可以提供一种可靠方法来将大型数据集传输至 Amazon EC2。该解决方案可以高达 50MB/s 的速度并行迁移文件。Efstathiadis 指出:“这一速度接近于我们的现场传输速度,两者简直不相上下!”

由于 Amazon EC2 拥有实例选择功能,加之该中心的研究人员已经熟悉该服务,Efstathiadis 博士决定使用 AWS。Efstathiadis 补充道:“此外,由于 Globus Online 使我们可以轻松将数据传输至 Amazon EC2,我们可以通过这种颇具吸引力的方式将大型数据集传输到环境中,以便研究人员访问和使用。”Efstathiadis 认为,SCP 等其他工具“需要的传输时间太长,或者会被机构防火墙阻止,这限制了我们可以使用的工具类型。而使用 Globus Online 则意味着,我们可以提高吞吐量,而不影响易用性。”

该机构还将 Amazon S3 用于数据存储。Efstathiadis 博士说道:“我们可以使用 Globus Online 轻松将本地存储中的数据迁移到 Amazon S3 存储,只需部署一个服务器映像并安装 Globus Online 终端节点,然后迁移本地存储中的数据即可。”

通过使用云,HPC 机构扩展了其可为纽约大学的研究人员提供的一系列服务,现在,这些研究人员可以在需要时访问他们所需的资源。云还有助于研究人员展开协作,通过使用 Amazon S3,他们可以轻松将自己的研究成果和数据集分享给世界各地的研究人员。

数据共享是一个重要组成部分。Efstathiadis 说道:“我们的研究人员有许多在其他地点的协作者;通过将数据上传到 Amazon S3,其他位置的研究人员可以访问这些数据以供自己使用。因此,借助该解决方案,纽约大学的研究人员不仅可以加快自己的分析流程,还可以帮助其他研究人员做到这一点。”

纽约大学健康信息学和生物信息学中心的 HPC 机构在不断地寻找更轻松且更经济的方式来开展研究。借助云,该机构将更接近他们的目标,即提供超出任一家当地机构所能单独提供的计算资源限制的可扩展计算资源。

要了解有关云中基因组学的更多信息,请访问我们的 AWS 基因组学详细信息页面

要了解 AWS 如何帮助您满足高性能计算需求,请访问我们的 HPC 详细信息页面

The High Performance Computing Facility of the New York University (NYU) Center for Health Informatics and Bioinformatics was established in 2009 to deliver forefront-computing capabilities to researchers at the NYU Langone Medical Center. The facility allows medical informatics and bioinformatics researchers to accelerate discovery and innovation through access to computational power, data storage, supercomputing resources and data sharing with collaborators throughout the world.

Dr Stratos Efstathiadis, Technical Director of the High Performance Computing Facility, describes the facility’s primary activities: “Our facility captures massive amounts of data from Next-Generation sequencers, microscopes, slide scanners, mass spectrometers and other research instruments. It must store, curate, support and enable the analysis of this data, and also provide resources scientists can use to run simulations and generate models.

These analysis and simulation jobs often need to run for days, or even weeks. Thus, although the facility is one of the largest of its kind for a medical center, occasionally there is a need for additional computing resources so researchers can analyze data more quickly.

Even more problematic than the time it takes to analyze data is the time it takes to transfer it. Efstathiadis says, “Transferring data is a large bottleneck; our datasets are extremely large, and it often takes more time to move the data than to generate it. Since our collaborators are all over the world, if we can’t move it they can’t use it.”

The AWS cloud, combined with Globus Online, a free file transfer service hosted and powered by AWS, offer a reliable way to transfer large datasets to Amazon EC2. The solution is able to move files in parallel at speeds up to 50 megabytes per second. Efstathiadis notes, “That’s similar to our onsite transfer rates – there’s really no slowdown at all!”

Dr Efstathiadis decided to use AWS due to Amazon EC2’s instance selection, and because Center researchers were already familiar with the service. “Also,” adds Efstathiadis, “because Globus Online makes it easy to transfer data to Amazon EC2, it is an appealing way to get our large data sets into the cloud environment where researchers can access and use it.” Other tools, such as SCP, according to Efstathiadis, “take too long or are blocked by institutional firewalls, limiting the type of tools we can use. Globus Online means improved throughput without compromising usability.”

The facility also uses Amazon S3 for data storage. Dr Efstathiadis explains, “Globus Online makes it easy to move data from local storage to Amazon S3 storage by deploying a server image, installing a Globus Online endpoint, and moving the data there.”

By using the cloud, the HPC facility expanded the set of services it can offer to NYU researchers, who can now access the resources they need, when they need them. The cloud also helps researchers collaborate; by using Amazon S3, they easily share their findings and datasets with researchers around the world.

Sharing data is an important component. Efstathiadis says, “Our researchers have many collaborators at other sites; by uploading data onto Amazon S3, researchers in other locations can access it for their own use. So, with this solution NYU researchers expedite their own analysis pipelines and also help other researchers do the same.”

NYU’s Center for Health Informatics and Bioinformatics HPC facility constantly looks for ways to make it easier and less expensive to conduct research. Using the cloud helps the facility get closer to their goal of scalable computing resources beyond the bounds of what any local facility alone could provide.

To find out how AWS can help with your High Performance Computing needs visit our HPC details page: http://aws.amazon.com/hpc-applications/.