木瓜移动是一家国际化移动社交网络平台,主要针对移动设备创建社交网络和游戏。通过手机和移动设备,用户可以玩游戏、与聊天室中的人聚会、向其他用户发送即时消息、发布博客以及与朋友分享照片。所有这些都是即时完成,且价格非常低廉,从而让用户始终看到朋友的最新资讯。

木瓜移动是由沈思和钱文杰这一对好友共同创建,其中,沈思为合伙创办人兼首席执行官;钱文杰为合伙创办人兼首席技术官。他们合力将对移动游戏的热情转换成事业。凭借其在中国北京的研发中心、在美国加利福利亚州旧金山市的业务开发中心以及其全世界范围内的 8 百万用户,该公司俨然以全球化姿态呈现在社交网络/游戏市场上。

papaya-2-arch-diag

Figure 1: Example of a Papaya Mobile game

在木瓜移动成立之初,该公司使用物理服务器和旧金山附近的机柜租用服务。然而,随着公司的发展,最终必须寻求其他解决方案。调查了几个选择之后,木瓜移动确定 Amazon Web Services (AWS) 提供的解决方案最能满足其需要。最终,公司因 AWS 的良好行业声誉和的灵活性而换用 AWS 服务。

Papaya Mobile 将 Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) 和 Amazon Elastic Block Store (Amazon EBS) 融为一体,作为基础虚拟硬件架构,另外将 Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) 用于存储映像。公司还使用 Amazon 弹性 IP 服务。(查看下方的架构图了解更多详细信息。)

对于解决方案方程式中的剩余组成部分,木瓜选择 Python 作为构建平台和 Boto 的主要编程语言。Boto 是第三方 API 库,用于按程序管理实例。目前,公司在 AWS 配置上运行其美国地区的全部服务。

papaya-1-arch-diagram

Figure 2: Papaya Mobile Architecure Diagram

根据木瓜领导层的说法,事实证明,换用 AWS 是一个非常明智的商业决策,因为通过将物理服务器迁移到云解决方案节省了大量资金。文杰说,“我们节省了数百小时的服务器管理时间。使用 AWS 之后,我们不再需要每个月都派人去数据中心,这就大幅减少了开销。”现在,员工可以在产品开发上投入更多时间。

文杰进一步解释 AWS 为何如此适合木瓜移动:“我们的研发中心在中国,而用户主要在美国,AWS 通过简单的 API 调用和易于使用的控制台用户界面 (UI) 帮助我们远程管理服务。它比传统的物理数据中心更为灵活。其中,自动扩展功能提供的灵活性是我们最看重的特性。它使我们有更多的精力来改进产品。”

展望未来,木瓜预期将使用 Elastic Load Balancing 在 Amazon EC2 实例之间自动分配传入流量,进一步确保公司能够以可靠、高效且经济的方式运营。

若要了解关于 AWS 如何帮助您满足游戏需求的更多信息,请访问我们的游戏托管页面:http://aws.amazon.com/game-hosting/

Papaya Mobile is an international mobile social network platform that creates social networking and games for mobile devices. With mobile phones and devices, users can play games, meet people in chat rooms, instant message other users, blog, and share pictures with friends. This is all done instantly and inexpensively, keeping users up-to-date with the latest news from their friends.

Papaya Mobile was founded by two friends, Si Shen, Co-Founder and CEO, and Qian Wenjie, Co-Founder and CTO, who joined forces to turn their mobile gaming passion into a business. With the research and development center based in Beijing, China, the business development center in San Francisco, California, and its 8 million users located around the world, the company sustains a global presence in the social networking/gaming market.

papaya-2-arch-diag

Figure 1: Example of a Papaya Mobile game

When Papaya first launched, the company used physical servers and a collocation rack service near San Francisco. However, when the company eventually outgrew this infrastructure, it became necessary to search for other alternatives. After researching several options, Papaya Mobile determined that Amazon Web Services (AWS) offered the best solution. The company switched to AWS because of its excellent reputation in the industry and the flexibility that it provided.

Papaya Mobile incorporated Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) and Amazon Elastic Block Store (Amazon EBS) as the underlying virtual hardware architecture plus Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) for storing images. The company also uses Amazon Elastic IP Services. (See the architecture diagram below for more details.)

For the remaining components of the solution equation, Papaya uses Python as the primary programming language for building the platform and Boto, a third-party party API library, to manage instances by programs. The company is presently running 100 percent of its U.S. service on the AWS configuration.

papaya-1-arch-diagram

Figure 2: Papaya Mobile Architecure Diagram

According to Papaya's leadership, switching to AWS proved to be a wise decision because of the enormous savings involved in moving from physical servers to a cloud solution. Wenjie says, “We save hundreds of hours of server management time. After using AWS, we don’t need to send people to data centers every month, which significantly reduces overhead." Personnel can now devote more time to product development.

Wenjie further explains why AWS is such a good fit for Papaya Mobile: "With our research and development center in China and our users primarily in the US, AWS helps us manage our servers remotely with a simple API call and an easy-to-use, console user interface (UI). It is much more flexible than the traditional, physical data center. The flexibility offered by automatic scaling is the feature we value the most. It frees us to focus more on improving our product.”

Going forward, Papaya Mobile anticipates using Elastic Load Balancing for automatic distribution of incoming traffic across Amazon EC2 instances to further ensure that the company’s operations continue to run reliably, efficiently, and affordably.

To learn more about how AWS can help support your gaming needs, see our Game Hosting page: http://aws.amazon.com/game-hosting/.