辉瑞制药有限公司应用科学和全球资源来提升人生每个阶段的健康和幸福感。该公司致力于制定在发现、开发和制造用于人类和动物的药物时,应遵从的质量、安全和价值标准。

辉瑞制药有限公司适用于全球研究和开发 (WRD) 的高性能计算 (HPC) 软件和系统支持大型数据分析、研究项目、临床分析和建模。从深入理解疾病的生物学到设计安全有效的治疗药物,辉瑞制药有限公司的 HPC 服务已在 WRD 的整个工作范围内使用。

辉瑞制药有限公司 HPC 研发负责人 Michael Miller 博士解释了辉瑞制药有限公司最初考虑使用 Amazon Web Services (AWS) 应对其高峰计算需求的原因:“Amazon Virtual Private Cloud (Amazon VPC) 是一个独特的选择,可以提供更高级别的安全性,并具有与我们的基础设施的其他方面集成的能力。”

辉瑞制药有限公司已经建立了 Amazon VPC 的实例,以提供一个安全的环境并在其中执行 WRD 的计算。他们说: “我们通过自定义 HPC 环境中的‘作业调度程序’来识别 VPC 工作负载,并根据需要启动和停止实例来处理工作流,最后实现了该目标。研究可能是不可预测的,尤其是正在进行的科学研究会提出新的问题。”VPC 通过提供超越专用 HPC 系统容量的计算来及时提供答案,使辉瑞制药有限公司可以应对这些挑战。

辉瑞制药有限公司的解决方案用 C 语言编写,并且基于 Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) 命令行工具。他们说:“我们目前正在将该解决方案迁移到一个商业 API,该 API 可以提供额外的调配和使用量追踪能力。”

节省成本的主要方法是避免支出成本,“辉瑞制药有限公司不需要投资只在最大负载期间使用的额外的硬件和软件;节省的成本可以用于投资其他 WRD 活动。”

对于辉瑞制药有限公司,AWS 是一种非常合适的解决方案。Miller 博士解释道:“这并不是要替代 HPC WRD 活动,而是增强我们在这方面的能力,借此增强我们的计算能力。

总体而言, “AWS 使辉瑞制药有限公司的 WRD 能够以即时并且可扩展的方式去了解特定的困难或深层次的科学问题,并帮助辉瑞更快地作出更好的决策。”

展望未来,辉瑞制药有限公司希望了解适用于存储参考数据的 Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3),以扩大其可处理的计算问题类型。

要了解 AWS 如何帮助您满足高性能计算需求的更多信息,请访问我们的 HPC 详细信息页面:https://aws.amazon.com/hpc-applications/

Pfizer, Inc. applies science and global resources to improve health and well-being at every stage of life. The company strives to set the standard for quality, safety, and value in the discovery, development, and manufacturing of medicines for people and animals.

Pfizer’s high performance computing (HPC) software and systems for worldwide research and development (WRD) support large-scale data analysis, research projects, clinical analytics, and modeling. Pfizer’s HPC services are used across the spectrum of WRD efforts, from the deep biological understanding of disease, to the design of safe, efficacious therapeutic agents.

Dr. Michael Miller, Head of HPC for R&D at Pfizer explains why Pfizer initially considered using Amazon Web Services (AWS) to handle its peak computing needs: “The Amazon Virtual Private Cloud (Amazon VPC) was a unique option that offered an additional level of security and an ability to integrate with other aspects of our infrastructure.”

Pfizer has now set up an instance of the Amazon VPC to provide a secure environment with which to carry out computations for WRD. They say, “We accomplished this by customizing the ‘job scheduler’ in our HPC environment to recognize VPC workload, and start and stop instances as needed to address the workflow. Research can be unpredictable, especially as the on-going science raises new questions.” The VPC has enabled Pfizer to respond to these challenges by providing the means to compute beyond the capacity of the dedicated HPC systems, which provides answers in a timely manner.

Pfizer’s solution was written in C and is based on the Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) command line tools. They say, “We are currently migrating this solution over to a commercial API that will enable additional provisioning and usage tracking capabilities.”

The primary cost savings has been in cost avoidance, “Pfizer did not have to invest in additional hardware and software, which is only used during peak loads; that savings allowed for investments in other WRD activities.”

For Pfizer, AWS is a fit-for-purpose solution. The Dr. Miller explains, “It is not a replacement for, but rather an addition to our capabilities for HPC WRD activities, providing a unique augmentation to our computing capabilities.

Overall, “AWS enables Pfizer’s WRD to explore specific difficult or deep scientific questions in a timely, scalable manner and helps Pfizer make better decisions more quickly.”

Looking ahead, Pfizer is interested in exploring Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) for storing reference data to expand the type of computational problems they can address.

To find out more about how AWS can help with your high performance computing needs, visit our HPC detail page: https://aws.amazon.com/hpc-applications/.