旧金山州立大学的计算机科学系大约有 400 名本科生和 100 名研究生从事教育和研究工作。目前,该系正在与 Stanford Helix Group 合作开发一个名为“FEATURE”的机器学习项目,并受到美国国立卫生研究院 (NIH Grant LM05652) 的支持。

FEATURE 使用机器学习来预测蛋白质和其他三维 (3D) 分子结构中的功能位点。Dragutin Petkovic 教授解释说:“对机器学习进行大规模并行优化,会涉及将支持向量机 (SVM) 算法应用到由数十万个向量组成的数千个训练集。通过借助 K 折交叉验证进行蛮力并行网格搜索可找到最佳的 SVM 参数。这种优化涉及多次独立重复类似的操作。”下面的图 1 展示了 FEATURE 项目。

旧金山州立大学 AWS 案例研究项目详细信息

图 1:FEATURE 项目详细信息

与其他创新科学项目一样,FEATURE 对高性能计算有着强烈的渴求,并且项目的研究科学家发现,探索生物分子详细方面的计算需求很快超过了该大学设备的极限。旧金山州立大学的计算资源是共享的,高需求意味着研究人员必须重新调整其问题的规模和范围,或者可能面临可用资源的长时间延迟。此外,这些限制条件导致需要长期等待才能得到结果,并且对科学家可以运行的实验数量设置了任意上限。

科学家只是偶尔需要使用计算资源,如果购买大规模资源并进行维护以供不定期使用,这非常不划算。在考虑到他们的选择时,研究团队意识到,Amazon Web Services (AWS) 提供的对计算资源的按需访问可实现他们的目的。“与在内部拥有大型服务器相比,Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) 的按需支付模型是最合适的选择。”Petkovic 教授说。

研究团队使用 C、C ++、Perl 和 Python 以及其他工具构建了 FEATURE。他们使用 MIT StarCluster 将集群部署到 Amazon EC2,MIT StarCluster 是一个为了实现科学和技术高性能计算而构建的自动配置工具。将蛋白质数据库和蛋白质结构数据库加载到 Amazon Elastic Block Store (Amazon EBS) 卷上,可实现轻松管理和重复使用,并可使用 Amazon Linux 自定义机器映像 (Amazon Linux AMI) 进行访问。图 2 展示了 FEATURE 项目的架构。

旧金山州立大学 AWS 架构图

图 2:FEATURE 项目架构

为了评估 FEATURE 项目在 AWS 上的性能,团队使用了软件分析和 I/O 基准测试来衡量性能指标。Petkovic 解释说:“团队拥有一个小型的 40 节点内部集群。我们将此集群与云进行了比较,发现 Amazon EC2 在每单位成本的 CPU 周期方面具有极大的优势,并且能够按需扩展。过去需要花费数周时间的实验,现在只要一个晚上就能够完成。这意味着我们的科学家可以一直工作,而不是在等待结果。AWS 大大缩短了我们进行科学探究的周转时间。”

Petkovic 教授估计,他们的计算成本大约降低了 20 倍。“我们估计,一个小型 40 节点内部集群每小时运行一个计算机单元的成本是 1.71 USD。对比之下,Amazon EC2 每小时运行一个等效弹性计算单元 (ECU) 的成本仅为 0.08 USD”,他解释道。此外,Petkovic 及其团队还能够使用 AWS 提供的计费提醒和其他成本优化工具来规划和管理使用服务的成本。

“AWS 提供对高性能资源的按需访问,这使我们能够专注于科学研究,而不是进行大量的服务器基础设施维护工作。AWS 帮助我们提高了机器学习实验的规模和范围的上限”,Petkovic 说。

要详细了解云在基因组学领域的应用,请访问我们的 AWS 基因组学详情页面

要了解 AWS 如何帮助您满足高性能计算需求,请访问我们的 HPC 详情页面

The Computer Science department at San Francisco State University has around 400 undergraduate students and 100 graduate students, and is engaged in both education and research. The department is currently at work on a machine learning project, called FEATURE, in collaboration with the Stanford Helix Group and supported by the National Institute of Health, (NIH Grant LM05652).

FEATURE uses machine learning to predict functional sites in proteins and other three-dimensional (3D) molecular structures. Professor Dragutin Petkovic explains: “Massively parallel optimization of machine learning involves the application of support vector machine (SVM) algorithms to thousands of training sets that are composed of hundreds of thousands of vectors. Optimal SVM parameters are found through brute-force parallelized grid searches with k-fold cross-validation. This optimization involves repeating similar operations many times independently.” Figure 1 below illustrates the FEATURE project.

san-francisco-state-university-2-arch-diagram

Figure 1: FEATURE Project Details

FEATURE, like other innovative scientific projects, has an insatiable appetite for high performance computing and the project’s research scientists found that the computational demand for exploring detailed aspects of biological molecules soon outgrew the university’s facilities. Computing resources are shared at San Francisco State University and high demand meant that researchers had to re-shape the size and scope of their questions or face long delays for available resources. In addition, these constraints led to long waits for results and put an arbitrary cap on the experiments that the scientists could run.

The scientists only needed computational resources periodically and it wasn’t cost-effective to purchase a large-scale resource and maintain it for irregular use. As the research team considered their options, they realized that the on-demand access to computational resources provided by Amazon Web Services (AWS) met their purposes. “The pay-as-you-go model of Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) was the most appropriate option versus owning a large server in-house,” says Professor Petkovic.

The research team built FEATURE using C, C++, Perl and Python, among other tools. They deployed the cluster to Amazon EC2 with MIT StarCluster, an automated provisioning tool built for scientific and technical high performance computing. The Protein Databank and protein structure databases were loaded onto Amazon Elastic Block Store (Amazon EBS) volumes for easy management and re-use, and are accessed using an Amazon Linux custom machine image (Amazon Linux AMI). Figure 2 demonstrates the architecture of the FEATURE project.

san-francisco-state-university-1-arch-diagram

Figure 2: FEATURE Project Architecture

To evaluate the performance of the FEATURE project on AWS, the team used software profiling and I/O benchmarking to measure performance metrics. Petkovic explains, “The team has a small, 40-node in-house cluster. We compared this to the cloud and found that Amazon EC2 was vastly superior in terms of CPU cycles per cost, as well as providing the ability to scale up when needed. Experiments that used to take us weeks now run overnight. This means that our scientists are always engaged and not waiting for results. AWS greatly reduced our turnaround time for scientific inquiry.”

Professor Petkovic estimates that their computing costs have been reduced by about 20 times. “We estimate that a small, 40-node in-house cluster runs at $ 1.71 per computer unit per hour. In comparison, Amazon EC2 costs us only $0.08 per equivalent elastic computer unit (ECU) per hour,” he explains. In addition, Petkovic and his team are able to use billing alerts and other cost optimization tools that AWS provides to plan and manage the cost of using the service.

“AWS provides on-demand access to high performance resources, which enables us to focus on science, rather than the heavy lifting of maintaining server infrastructure. AWS helps us lift the ceiling on the size and scope of our machine learning experiments,” says Petkovic.

To learn more about how AWS can help your high performance computing needs, visit: http://aws.amazon.com/hpc-applications/.