UniversityofWesternAustralia_Customer-Reference_Logo@2x

西澳大学案例研究

2014 年

软件实践中心 (CSP) 是西澳大学 (UWA) 工程、计算和数学学院的一个研发机构。该中心成立于 2006 年,旨在为在 UWA 学习软件工程的学生创造实践性学习机会,并研究技术对在线社区、开源开发和健康信息学的影响。

开始 python 教程
kr_quotemark

对高等教育而言,MOOC 平台是一项极其重大的进展。所有这些之所以能够实现,其中一个原因在于,AWS 之类的云平台始终在提供支持。”

David Glance
西澳大学教授

挑战

2012 年,与斯坦福大学携手打造大型开放式在线课程 (MOOC) 平台后,CSP 构建了 Class2Go,以期通过 Web 提供多门在线课程及相关考核。之后,该中心需要一个基础设施来为数以千计的在线学员管理和提供课程资产,其中包括流媒体视频、在线测验和实践性编码考核。该基础设施必须可以进行扩展,以便该中心能够交付新课程并实现学员互动。此外,CSP 需要在不寻求第三方资金帮助的情况下构建 Class2Go,这意味着他们能投入到基础设施上的预算有限。

为什么选择 Amazon Web Services

CSP 之所以选择 Amazon Web Services (AWS),是因为 AWS 云的可扩展性、成本、功能和先进性使其非常适合 Class2Go。“我们没有考虑其他任何提供商。”Glance 教授说道。“而且 AWS 简单易用,我们只用一个下午就构建好了 Class2Go 基础设施。”

CSP 将 Class2Go 解决方案部署到在九个 Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) 实例上运行的 Web 服务器中。Amazon Simple Queue Service (Amazon SQS) 会将数据发送到 Web 服务器,而 Elastic Load Balancing 将负责管理软件平台与每个 Amazon EC2 实例之间的数据流。CSP 将该基础设施设置为在一个实例上运行 Amazon Simple Email Service (Amazon SES) 来管理学生邮件,使用另一个实例来处理编码作业。“学生输入编码后,系统会将该编码发送到评分实例中,该实例则会执行评分任务并发送反馈。”Glance 教授说。

该平台将使用 Amazon Relational Database Service (Amazon RDS) 上的 MySQL 数据库来索引课程信息。如此一来,Class2Go 可以在学生学习每个课程的过程中记录他们的成绩和互动情况,并为所有学生数据自动创建备份快照和只读副本。该中心还将使用 Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) 来存储视频和在线测验等课程资产。

优势

CSP 快速、高效地启动了 Class2Go 的第一个生产环境,其成本仅相当于先前在线平台的一小部分。之前,CSP 曾与澳大利亚政府部门合作创建了 MMEx,这是一个支持整个澳大利亚的医疗专业人员安全、高效地共享患者信息的在线平台。Glance 教授说:“交付 MMEx 电子健康平台花费了 30 万 USD,而且我们花了三四个月的时间才将第一个生产环境投入运行。使用 AWS,Class2Go 第一个月的成本约为 200 USD,我们当前每个月的运营成本大约仅为 1500 USD。”

AWS 还帮助 CSP 快速、高效地适应其生产环境,以满足 Class2Go 不断变化的要求。Glance 教授说:“我们在正常运行时间、响应速度和功能方面获得了巨大的成功,比如,我们能在一个 Amazon EC2 实例耗尽内存时无缝升级为一个更大的实例。在日常运营方面,构建好基础设施后便可以将其弃置一旁,几乎不需要任何后续操作。”

Glance 教授说:“对高等教育而言,MOOC 平台是一项极其重大的进展。所有这些之所以能够实现,其中一个原因在于,AWS 之类的云平台始终在提供支持。” AWS in Education 计划会评估各认证院校提供的学术研究资助提案,在评估该中心的提案后,为该中心资助了 10000 USD,用于完善 MOOC 项目。CSP 利用该项资助分别为 130 名学生提供了 Amazon EC2 实例,供他们进行实践练习。Glance 教授说:“我们将这一概念称为‘自带服务器’。我们认为,学生在获取软件工程学位的过程中有机会亲自实践云技术,这很重要。” 如果实验成功,这种模式将会在 UWA 的其他课程中予以推行。

AWS 的可扩展性帮助 CSP 为未来的发展奠定了基础。Glance 教授说:“开始构建各门课程时,我们预计学生数量会从 2500 名增长到 20000 到 30000 名之间。唯一要做的就是构建一门颇受欢迎的课程,我们预计届时会有 10 万多人访问该系统。借助 AWS,我们已经准备好迎接这一增长。”


关于西澳大学

软件实践中心 (CSP) 是西澳大学 (UWA) 工程、计算和数学学院的一个研发机构。

AWS 的优势

  • 轻松可靠地向学生提供大型开放式在线课程 (MOOC)
  • 从 AWS 教研领域应用计划中获取 10000 USD 资助
  • 每月业务费用减少到 1500 USD

使用的 AWS 服务

Amazon EC2

Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) 是一种 Web 服务,可以在云中提供安全并且可调整大小的计算容量。该服务旨在让开发人员能够更轻松地进行 Web 规模的云计算。

了解更多 »

Amazon S3

Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) 是一种对象存储服务,提供行业领先的可扩展性、数据可用性、安全性和性能。

了解更多 »

Amazon SQS

Amazon Simple Queue Service (SQS) 是一种完全托管的消息队列服务,可让您解耦和扩展微服务、分布式系统和无服务器应用程序。

了解更多 »

Elastic Load Balancing

Elastic Load Balancing 在多个目标(如 Amazon EC2 实例、容器、IP 地址和 Lambda 函数)之间自动分配传入的应用程序流量。

了解更多 »

Amazon SES

Amazon Simple Email Service (Amazon SES) 为基于云端的电子邮件发送服务,旨在帮助数字营销师和应用程序开发师发送营销、通知和业务电子邮件。

了解更多 »

Amazon RDS

Amazon Relational Database Service (Amazon RDS) 让您能够在云中轻松设置、操作和扩展关系数据库。

了解更多 »


开始使用

各行各业中所有规模的公司都在使用 AWS 对其日常业务进行转型。联系我们的专家,立即踏上您的 AWS 云之旅。

The Centre for Software Practice (CSP) is a research and development body within the Faculty of Engineering, Computing and Mathematics at the University of Western Australia (UWA). Formed in 2006, the center creates practical learning opportunities for students studying software engineering at UWA and conducts research into the impact of technology on online communities, open source development, and health informatics.

In 2012, after partnering with Stanford University to obtain a massive open online course (MOOC) platform, CSP created Class2Go to deliver multiple online courses and assessments over the web. Then the center needed an infrastructure capable of managing and delivering course assets—including streaming video, online quizzes, and practical coding assessments—to several thousand online participants. The infrastructure had to be able to scale to accommodate the delivery of new courses and enable participant interaction. In addition, the CSP needed to fund Class2Go without assistance from third parties, meaning it had a limited budget to spend on infrastructure.

CSP chose Amazon Web Services (AWS) because the scalability, cost, features, and sophistication of the AWS Cloud made it a perfect fit for Class2Go. “We didn’t consider any other providers,” says Professor Glance. “AWS is also very easy to use. We stood the Class2Go infrastructure up in a single afternoon.”

CSP deploys the Class2Go solution on web servers running on nine Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) instances. Amazon Simple Queue Service (Amazon SQS) sends data to the web servers and Elastic Load Balancing manages the flow of data between the software platform and each Amazon EC2 instance. The infrastructure is set up to run Amazon Simple Email Service (Amazon SES) on one instance to manage student mail and uses another to process coding assignments. “When a student puts in code, it’s sent off to the grading instance, which runs the grading assignment and sends feedback,” says Professor Glance.

The platform uses a MySQL database on Amazon Relational Database Service (Amazon RDS) to index course information. This allows Class2Go to record students’ grades and interactions as they progress through each course, and automatically create backup snapshots and read replicas of all student data. The center also uses Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) to store course assets such as videos and online quizzes.

CSP launched Class2Go’s first production environment quickly and efficiently, at a fraction of the cost of an earlier online platform. Previously, CSP had worked with Australian Government departments to create MMEx—an online platform that allows health professionals across Australia to share patient information securely and efficiently. “Delivering the MMEx e-health platform cost $300,000 and it took three or four months to get the first production environment running,” says Professor Glance. “Using AWS, Class2Go cost about $200 for the first month and our current operating costs are only about $1,500 a month.”

AWS has helped enable CSP to adapt its production environment quickly and efficiently to meet Class2Go’s evolving requirements. “We’ve had great success in terms of up-time, responsiveness, and features like being able to seamlessly upgrade to a bigger Amazon EC2 instance when one runs out of memory,” says Professor Glance. “In terms of daily operations, it’s almost infrastructure that you can build and forget.”

“The MOOC space is a very significant development for tertiary education,” says Professor Glance. “One of the reasons that this has all been possible is that cloud platforms like AWS have been there to facilitate it.” AWS in Education, which evaluates academic research support proposals from accredited universities, awarded a $10,000 grant to the center to supplement its MOOC initiative. The CSP used the grant to provide 130 students with an Amazon EC2 instance each for practical exercises. “We’re calling this concept ‘bring your own server’,” says Professor Glance. “We think that the opportunity for students to have a bit of the cloud that follows them around their software engineering degree is a big one.” If the experiment is successful, the model will be rolled out for other courses at UWA.

The scalability of AWS has allowed CSP to lay the groundwork for future growth. “As we start piling on courses, we expect student numbers to increase from about 2,500 students to between 20,000 and 30,000,” says Professor Glance. “All it would take is to have one popular course and we could see anything upwards of 100,000 people accessing the system. Using AWS, we’re prepared to accommodate that kind of increase.”

To learn more about how AWS can help you deploy applications more quickly and cost-effectively, visit the Business Applications details page: http://aws.amazon.com/business-applications/.