欢迎使用 Amazon 构建者库

您想接收新内容的通知吗?

在 Amazon,我们每天都为了更好地服务客户而对自己提出更高的要求。在我们还是一家前途未卜的小型初创公司时,就一直这样严格要求自己。在工程设计领域,我们没有与大公司一样的资源,这意味着我们需要时刻把客户放在首位,更快地为客户提供更好的服务。有时,这些挑战会令人望而生畏,但我在职业生涯早期就学到了非常重要的一点,即“需求是发明之母”。

web_quote-left_squid

在过去的 21 年多里,Amazon 的同事们所取得的成就让我倍感自豪。他们凭借超强的创造力,首先解决了如何使用分散型服务团队来不断更改大规模运营的技术,以及可靠地进行这些改变的问题。

web_quote-right_squid

1998 年,我负责领导 Amazon.com 的基础设施团队。虽然我们是电子商务领域的先驱,但随着该领域的迅猛发展,Amazon 也面临着巨大的竞争。规模更大的公司开始觉醒并意识到对其现有业务的潜在冲击,更重要的是,客户也开始展现出对 Amazon 的新能力的无限需求。从更多相关产品推荐,到自助订单管理,再到新的产品类别(包括电子产品和玩具),无所不包。客户给我们带来的创新压力迅速增加,因此我们不断进行系统更改,其实基本上是对公司进行改变。临近节假日时,我们担心在高峰期进行如此多的改变会带来风险,我问我的老板(我们的 CIO),我们什么时候该放慢改变速度来确保可靠性。这发生没有人听说过持续交付之前。他看着我说道:“我们在高峰期会持续进行这些改变。我们必须善于快速行动。” 我们确实就是这么干的,而且效果非常好。这是我在 Amazon 学到的关于拒绝接受“其他办法”的束缚的第一课,并了解到创新速度的重要性。

在过去的 21 年多里,Amazon 的同事们所取得的成就让我倍感自豪。他们凭借超强的创造力,首先解决了如何使用分散型服务团队来不断更改大规模运营的技术,以及可靠地进行这些改变的问题。然后,在世纪之交,我们开始通过 API 驱动的“卖家”服务来为其他公司提供支持。我们通过 Amazon Web Services (AWS) 更进一步,我们的团队继续开发一系列服务来应对公司针对计算技术提出的几乎任何需求,并在过去的 13 年内快速迭代并改进这些服务。这些服务改变了技术领域的游戏规则,促使每个人都以更快的速度进行创新。

我已在技术领域工作了很长时间,我非常清楚 Amazon 有其非常独特的地方。我非常自豪能成为其中的一员。我们的客户也看到了这些非比寻常的成果,他们对我们的做事方法也非常好奇。客户问我最多一个问题是:“Amazon 是如何建立的?”。

在 Amazon,我们每天都会做许多事让自己比昨天更出色,为客户提供更好的服务 – 更好的运营、更快的创新并降低客户成本。我们把这些称为“独特的方法”。 我们深知,我们需要按自己的意愿做跟别人不一样的事情,有时候我们的做事方式可能看起来很奇怪,或者至少让人难以理解。例如,我们执着于使用“单线程团队”来为客户完成任务的理念,而许多其他公司会向组织赋予不同的职能(这样一组负责运营,另一组负责工程设计)。我们认为所有职能聚集在一处而且关注单个客户需求这样一种以客户为中心的组织模型才能取得最好的结果。我们也知道可能会存在一种比我们选择的“更好的方式”,因此我们虚心地接受反馈并开展讨论。我们所编写的那些做决策的文档都以“信条”开头,是作者认为每个读者都能认同的格言,我们的决策都是在这些格言的基础上做出的。用来介绍信条的文字通常以“除非您知道更好的答案”结束,我们希望听到批评并乐于调整。

如果每个人都能快速高效地创新,并且事情运转地很顺利,世界将变得更美好,这一点毫无疑问。因此,我感到很开心能在 Amazon 构建者库中与大家分享我们学到的知识。与任何其他库一样,这个集合会随时间不段扩展。而且,与任何其他库一样,您可能会读到您不认可的内容,或者您可能会发现更好的解决方案。欢迎随时给我们提供反馈。

开始构建吧!

– Charlie Bell

Would you like to be notified of new content?

At Amazon we work every day to raise the bar on ourselves, for our customers. It’s been that way since we were a small start-up facing an uncertain future. In engineering, that meant we needed to put our customers first and find ways to do more for them, faster, without the resources of much larger companies. At times the challenges seemed daunting, but one thing I learned early in my career is that “necessity is the mother of invention.”

web_quote-left_squid

I’m very proud of what the people I’ve worked with at Amazon have been able to accomplish over the last 21+ years. Their creative energy first solved the problem of how to continually change technology operating at massive scale using decentralized service teams, and to do so reliably.

web_quote-right_squid

In 1998, I led the infrastructure teams for Amazon.com. Though we’d pioneered in e-commerce, Amazon was in a footrace as the space exploded. Far larger companies had awakened and realized the potential of disruption to their existing businesses and, more importantly, customers were expressing an unlimited desire for new capabilities from Amazon. Everything from more relevant product recommendations to self-service order management to new product categories like electronics and toys. The customer pressure to innovate was growing quickly and we were making constant changes to a system that essentially was the company. As we approached the holiday season, worried about the risk involved in changing so much during our peak days, I asked my boss (our CIO) when we’d slow the rate of change down to ensure reliability. This was before anyone had heard of continuous delivery. He looked at me and just said, “We’re going to keep making changes right through our peak days. We have to be good at moving fast.” Well, we did that and it went well. This was my first lesson in Amazon’s refusal to accept a tyranny of the “or” and brought home how important speed of innovation is.

I’m very proud of what the people I’ve worked with at Amazon have been able to accomplish over the last 21+ years. Their creative energy first solved the problem of how to continually change technology operating at massive scale using decentralized service teams, and to do so reliably. Then, at the turn of the century, we began supporting other companies through API-driven “seller” services. We took this a step further with Amazon Web Services (AWS), where our teams have gone on to invent a set of services that support almost anything a company would want to do with computing technology, rapidly iterating on and improving these services over the last 13 years. These services changed the game in technology, enabling everyone to innovate at much greater speed.

I’ve been working with technology long enough to know that there’s something very special going on at Amazon. I am honored to be part of it. Our customers see these unusual results too, and they are often curious about the way we do things. “How does Amazon build?” is one of the most frequent questions customers ask me.

At Amazon, we do many things each day to be better for customers than we were the day before – to operate better, innovate faster, and reduce customers’ costs. We call these our “peculiar ways.” We know that we need to be willing to do things differently from others, and that sometimes the way we do things will seem odd, or at least hard to understand. For example, we’re wedded to the idea of using “single-threaded teams” to accomplish things for customers. While many companies functionalize their organizations (so that one group does Operations and another group does Engineering), we believe that a customer-focused organization model where all the functions live under one roof and are focused on a single customer need, gets the best results. We also know that there might be a “better way” than the one we’ve chosen, and so we humbly remain open to feedback and discussion. The documents we write to make decisions begin with “tenets,” which are the axioms the author believes every reader will agree to and upon which the decisions will be made. The text that introduces the tenets always ends with “unless you know better ones,” to invite criticism and adjustment.

There’s no question the world will be a better place if everyone can innovate more quickly and efficiently. And if stuff just works better. For that reason, I’m excited that we are sharing what we’ve learned with you in The Amazon Builders’ Library. Like any library, this collection will grow over time. And, like any library, you might read things you disagree with, or you might see a better way to do them. Please don’t hesitate to give us feedback.

Build on!

-Charlie Bell