هل ترغب في تلقي إخطارات بالمحتوى الجديد؟

نحن نعمل في Amazon، كل يوم لرفع مستوانا، لصالح عملائنا. لقد كان الأمر كذلك منذ أن كنا شركة ناشئة صغيرة نواجه مستقبلًا غامضًا. في مجال الهندسة، كان هذا يعني أننا بحاجة إلى وضع مصلحة عملائنا أولًا وإيجاد طرق لفعل المزيد من أجلهم، بشكل أسرع، دون الاستعانة بموارد الشركات الكبرى. وكانت التحديات تبدو شاقة في بعض الأحيان، لكن من الأشياء التي تعلمتها في وقت مبكر من حياتي المهنية أن "الحاجة أم الاختراع.»

web_quote-left_squid

أنا فخور للغاية بما تمكن الأشخاص الذين عملت معهم في Amazon من تحقيقه على مدار أكثر من 21 عامًا مضت. لقد حلت طاقاتهم الإبداعية أولًا مشكلة كيفية تغيير التكنولوجيا التي تعمل باستمرار على نطاق واسع باستخدام فرق الخدمة اللامركزية، والقيام بذلك بشكل موثوق.

web_quote-right_squid

وقد قمت في عام 1998 بقيادة فرق البنية التحتية لموقع Amazon.com. على الرغم من أننا كنا روادًا في مجال التجارة الإلكترونية، إلا أن Amazon كانت على قدم وساق عندما انتشر المجال بشكل كبير. فقد استيقظت الشركات الأكبر حجمًا وأدركت احتمالية تعطل أعمالها الحالية، والأهم من ذلك، كان العملاء يعبرون عن رغبة غير محدودة في الحصول إمكانات جديدة من Amazon. كل شيء بدءًا من التوصيات بالمنتج الأكثر صلة وحتى إدارة طلبات الخدمة الذاتية إلى فئات المنتجات الجديدة مثل الإلكترونيات والألعاب. كان ضغط العملاء للابتكار ينمو بسرعة وكنا نجري تغييرات مستمرة على نظام كان في الأساس يمثل الشركة. ومع اقترابنا من موسم العطلات، وقلقنا من المخاطر التي ينطوي عليها التغيير بشكل كبير خلال أيام الذروة لدينا، سألت مديري (مدير تقنية المعلومات لدينا) متى أبطأنا معدل التغيير لضمان الموثوقية. كان هذا قبل أن يسمع أي شخص عن أمر التسليم المستمر. نظر إليّ وقال للتو، "سنواصل إجراء التغييرات في أيام الذروة. يجب أن نكون جيدين في التحرك بسرعة." حسنًا، لقد فعلنا ذلك وسارت الأمور على ما يرام. كان هذا أول درس لي في رفض Amazon قبول الانصياع لسلطان "عدم اليقين في اتخاذ القرار" وتقبل مدى أهمية سرعة الابتكار.

أنا فخور للغاية بما تمكن الأشخاص الذين عملت معهم في Amazon من تحقيقه على مدار أكثر من 21 عامًا مضت. لقد حلت طاقاتهم الإبداعية أولًا مشكلة كيفية تغيير التكنولوجيا التي تعمل باستمرار على نطاق واسع باستخدام فرق الخدمة اللامركزية، والقيام بذلك بشكل موثوق. بعد ذلك، في بداية القرن، بدأنا في دعم الشركات الأخرى من خلال خدمات «البائع» التي تعتمد على واجهة برمجة التطبيقات. لقد تقدمنا بهذه الخطوة مع Amazon Web Services (AWS)، حيث واصلت فرقنا ابتكار مجموعة من الخدمات التي تدعم أي شيء تقريبًا ترغب شركة في القيام به باستخدام تكنولوجيا الحوسبة، مع التكرار السريع لهذه الخدمات وتحسينها على مدار فترة 13 عامًا الماضية. لقد غيرت هذه الخدمات القواعد في التكنولوجيا، مما مكّن الجميع من الابتكار بسرعة أكبر بكثير.

لقد كنت أعمل في مجال التكنولوجيا لفترة طويلة بما يكفي لأعي أن هناك شيئًا مميزًا للغاية يحدث في Amazon. ويشرفني أن أكون جزءًا منه. يرى عملاؤنا هذه النتائج غير المعتادة أيضًا، وغالبًا ما يكون لديهم فضول بشأن الطريقة التي نقوم بها بالأمور. ويعد السؤال "كيف تعمل Amazon على البناء؟" أحد أكثر الأسئلة التي يطرحها عليّ العملاء.

في Amazon، نقوم بالعديد من الأشياء يوميًا لنقدم أداء أفضل للعملاء مما كنا عليه في اليوم السابق - للعمل بشكل أفضل، والابتكار بشكل أسرع، وخفض تكاليف العملاء. نحن نسمي هذه "طرقنا الغريبة". نحن نعلم أننا بحاجة لأن نكون مستعدين للقيام بالأمور بطريقة مختلفة عن الآخرين، وأن الطريقة التي نستخدمها في بعض الأحيان تبدو غريبة، أو على الأقل يصعب فهمها. على سبيل المثال، نحن ملتزمون بفكرة استخدام "فرق مفردة الترابط" لإنجاز الأمور للعملاء. بالرغم من أن العديد من الشركات تعمل على توظيف تنظيماتها (بحيث تقوم مجموعة واحدة بأمور العمليات ومجموعة أخرى تعمل في مجال الهندسة)، إلا أننا نعتقد أن نموذج التنظيم الذي يركز على العملاء حيث تعمل جميع الوحدات تحت نظام واحد وتركز على حاجة عميل واحد، يؤدي للحصول على أفضل النتائج. ونعلم أيضًا أنه قد تكون هناك "طريقة أفضل" من الطريقة التي اخترناها، ولذا فنحن لا نظل متقبلين للملاحظات والمناقشة. تبدأ المستندات التي نكتبها لاتخاذ القرارات بـ "معتقدات"، وهي البديهيات التي يعتقد المؤلف أن كل قارئ سيوافق عليها والتي سيتم اتخاذ القرارات بشأنها. وينتهي النص الذي يقدم المعتقدات دائمًا بـ "إلا إذا كنت تعرف خيارات أفضل منها"، للدعوة للنقد والتعديل.

ولا يوجد شك في أن العالم سيصبح مكانًا أفضل إذا استطاع الجميع الابتكار بسرعة أكبر وكفاءة. وإذا كانت الأشياء تسير بشكل أفضل. لهذا السبب، أنا متحمس لأننا نشارك ما تعلمناه معكم في «مكتبة المنشئين في Amazon». ومثل أي مكتبة، ستنمو هذه المجموعة مع مرور الوقت. وكذلك، مثل أي مكتبة، فقد تقرأ أشياءً لا توافق عليها، أو قد ترى طريقة أفضل للقيام بها. يُرجى عدم التردد في تزويدنا بملاحظاتك.

مارس البناء!

-تشارلي بل

Would you like to be notified of new content?

At Amazon we work every day to raise the bar on ourselves, for our customers. It’s been that way since we were a small start-up facing an uncertain future. In engineering, that meant we needed to put our customers first and find ways to do more for them, faster, without the resources of much larger companies. At times the challenges seemed daunting, but one thing I learned early in my career is that “necessity is the mother of invention.”

web_quote-left_squid

I’m very proud of what the people I’ve worked with at Amazon have been able to accomplish over the last 21+ years. Their creative energy first solved the problem of how to continually change technology operating at massive scale using decentralized service teams, and to do so reliably.

web_quote-right_squid

In 1998, I led the infrastructure teams for Amazon.com. Though we’d pioneered in e-commerce, Amazon was in a footrace as the space exploded. Far larger companies had awakened and realized the potential of disruption to their existing businesses and, more importantly, customers were expressing an unlimited desire for new capabilities from Amazon. Everything from more relevant product recommendations to self-service order management to new product categories like electronics and toys. The customer pressure to innovate was growing quickly and we were making constant changes to a system that essentially was the company. As we approached the holiday season, worried about the risk involved in changing so much during our peak days, I asked my boss (our CIO) when we’d slow the rate of change down to ensure reliability. This was before anyone had heard of continuous delivery. He looked at me and just said, “We’re going to keep making changes right through our peak days. We have to be good at moving fast.” Well, we did that and it went well. This was my first lesson in Amazon’s refusal to accept a tyranny of the “or” and brought home how important speed of innovation is.

I’m very proud of what the people I’ve worked with at Amazon have been able to accomplish over the last 21+ years. Their creative energy first solved the problem of how to continually change technology operating at massive scale using decentralized service teams, and to do so reliably. Then, at the turn of the century, we began supporting other companies through API-driven “seller” services. We took this a step further with Amazon Web Services (AWS), where our teams have gone on to invent a set of services that support almost anything a company would want to do with computing technology, rapidly iterating on and improving these services over the last 13 years. These services changed the game in technology, enabling everyone to innovate at much greater speed.

I’ve been working with technology long enough to know that there’s something very special going on at Amazon. I am honored to be part of it. Our customers see these unusual results too, and they are often curious about the way we do things. “How does Amazon build?” is one of the most frequent questions customers ask me.

At Amazon, we do many things each day to be better for customers than we were the day before – to operate better, innovate faster, and reduce customers’ costs. We call these our “peculiar ways.” We know that we need to be willing to do things differently from others, and that sometimes the way we do things will seem odd, or at least hard to understand. For example, we’re wedded to the idea of using “single-threaded teams” to accomplish things for customers. While many companies functionalize their organizations (so that one group does Operations and another group does Engineering), we believe that a customer-focused organization model where all the functions live under one roof and are focused on a single customer need, gets the best results. We also know that there might be a “better way” than the one we’ve chosen, and so we humbly remain open to feedback and discussion. The documents we write to make decisions begin with “tenets,” which are the axioms the author believes every reader will agree to and upon which the decisions will be made. The text that introduces the tenets always ends with “unless you know better ones,” to invite criticism and adjustment.

There’s no question the world will be a better place if everyone can innovate more quickly and efficiently. And if stuff just works better. For that reason, I’m excited that we are sharing what we’ve learned with you in The Amazon Builders’ Library. Like any library, this collection will grow over time. And, like any library, you might read things you disagree with, or you might see a better way to do them. Please don’t hesitate to give us feedback.

Build on!

-Charlie Bell