How do I terminate active resources that I no longer need on my AWS account?
Last updated: 2021-07-30
I want to terminate my active resources that I no longer need so that I can avoid unexpected charges.
Closing your account might not automatically terminate all your active resources. You might continue to incur charges for some of your active resources even after you close your account. You're charged for any usage fees incurred before closure.
To avoid incurring unexpected charges, it's a best practice to routinely check if you have active resources that you no longer need. Then, terminate these unneeded resources.
To check if you have any active resources in your account, do the following:
- Open the Billing and Cost Management console.
- Choose Bills in the navigation pane.
You can see the charges incurred by different services in the Bill details by service section.
You can see the charges incurred in different AWS Regions in the Bill details by account section.
Note: It’s a best practice to check the Bill details by service section for the previous month to identify all services that are generating charges.
- For each service, identify the Regions where the services have incurred charges.
To terminate the identified active resources under different services, do the following:
- Open the AWS Management Console.
- To open the console for a particular service, enter the service name in the search bar.
- After opening the service console, terminate all your active resources. Be sure to check each Region where you have allocated resources.
Tip: You can change the Region with the Region selector in the navigation bar.
To terminate your active resources for some commonly used AWS services, do the following:
Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2)
- To delete active Amazon EC2 instances, see How do I delete or terminate my Amazon EC2 resources?
- You might be charged for Elastic IP addresses even after you terminate all your Amazon EC2 instances. You can stop the charges by releasing the IP address. For more information, see Why am I being billed for Elastic IP addresses when all my Amazon EC2 instances are terminated?
- Even after you terminate your Amazon EC2 instances, you incur charges for the Amazon Elastic Block Store (Amazon EBS) volumes that you attached to your EC2 instances. Be sure to delete the Amazon EBS volumes and Amazon EBS snapshots. For more information, see Why am I being charged for EBS when all my instances are stopped?
Note: The Amazon EBS root device volumes are automatically deleted when you terminate your Amazon EC2 instances.
Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3)
- To delete Amazon S3 objects, see How do I delete objects from an S3 bucket?
Note: Be sure that the Server access logging for your Amazon S3 bucket is disabled before deleting the objects in the bucket. Otherwise, logs might be immediately written to your bucket after you delete your bucket's objects. For more information, see How do I enable server access logging for an S3 bucket?
- To delete an Amazon S3 bucket, see How do I delete an S3 bucket?
- If you have an Amazon S3 bucket that was created by AWS Elastic Beanstalk, you must first delete the Bucket Policy from the Permissions section of the bucket properties in the Amazon S3 console. For more information, see Using Elastic Beanstalk with Amazon S3.
Note: If you delete a bucket that Elastic Beanstalk created in your account, and you still have existing applications and running environments in the corresponding Region, then your applications might not function accurately.
Amazon Relational Database Service (Amazon RDS)
- To delete Amazon RDS resources, see Deleting a DB instance.
- To delete Amazon RDS snapshots, see Deleting a snapshot.
- To delete retained automated backups of DB instances, see Working with backups.
Important: To delete a DB instance or DB snapshot that has deletion protection enabled, you must modify the instance and disable deletion protection.
- To delete your active Amazon Lightsail resources, see How do I shut down my Amazon Lightsail resources?
- If you have Reserved Instances (RIs) with a monthly charge on your account, such as Amazon EC2 RIs, Amazon RDS RIs, Redshift RIs, or ElastiCache Reserved Cache Nodes, you're billed for these subscriptions until the plan term ends. AWS can't cancel a Reserved Instance before the subscription term ends, but you can list your EC2 RIs for sale on the Amazon EC2 Reserved Instance Marketplace. For more information, see Reserved Instance Marketplace.
- If you signed up for a Savings Plan, then you are charged for the compute usage covered under the Savings Plan until the plan term ends.
- It's a best practice to delete your active AWS Directory Service directories before account closure. For more information, see How do I delete an AWS Directory Service directory?
- If you have active Marketplace subscriptions, these subscriptions aren't automatically canceled on account closure. You must terminate all instances of your software in the subscriptions and cancel subscriptions on the Manage subscriptions page of the AWS Marketplace console.