利用全新数字体验吸引客户

创新以清除孕育之旅的屏障

与 Ferring Pharmaceuticals 商业开发和战略客户高级总监 Joy Lewin 对话

作为 Ferring Pharmaceuticals 商业开发和战略客户高级总监,Joy Lewin 正试图帮助夫妻迈出生育之旅的第一步。每八对美国夫妇中就有一对无法生育,也就是说,有 650 万处于生育年龄的美国人无法生育。其中有 220 万人正在积极备孕。有些人向家庭医生或 OB-GYN 寻求生育帮助,另一些人则在生育诊所预约。大约 80 万人能成功受孕。还有 140 万人可以从治疗中受益,但实际上,只有大约 15 万人可以获得治疗。亚马逊云科技企业策略师 Miriam McLemore 与 Joy 谈到了 Ferring 如何通过创新帮助 130 万人创建他们梦想的家庭。

树立客户信心的数字化体验

从试管婴儿到帮助癌症患者

Miriam McLemore:您过去二十年都在从事生殖医学工作。那是什么感觉?

Joy Lewin:第一个 IVF 婴儿,我们过去称之为“试管婴儿”,现在已经 42 岁了。她的名字叫 Louise Brown,她是在英国孕育的我有幸见过她。我还有幸见过美国第一个试管婴儿,她现在已经 39 岁了。难以形容经历生殖医学这些年所取得的进步有多么美妙。


image-quote-aws-orange-50x50

创新就是以不同的方式思考问题,然后产生积极的结果。”


Miriam McLemore:“心跳计划”就是其中一项进步,您从 2012 年开始帮助被诊断出癌症的二三十岁女性在癌症治疗前保存她们的卵子。能和我们详细说说这个计划吗?

Joy Lewin:该计划为新诊断出的癌症患者提供免费的生育药物。我们致力于帮助患者。通过这项计划,我们能够给癌症患者带来希望,让他们在治疗结束后拥有一个家庭。我一直在寻找新的方法来帮助患者迈出生育之旅的第一步。对我来说,创新就是以不同的方式思考问题,然后产生积极的结果。

 

提高转化率之路

寻求治疗的真正障碍

Miriam McLemore:说到创新,您参加了亚马逊云科技数字创新研讨会,以彻底改变 Ferring 联系那些原本不会寻求生育治疗的女性的过程。您想解决哪些具体挑战?

Joy Lewin:每个人都认为寻求 IVF 治疗的第一大障碍是费用。但是在过去的几年里,我们共同努力,以了解为什么更多的人无法获得治疗。我们对 2000 名潜在患者的市场调查显示,往往是恐惧让女性不愿踏出超出成本的第一步。

 

提高转化率之路

点击按钮即可进行生育预约

Miriam McLemore:在亚马逊云科技数字创新互动过程中,您从客户问题陈述开始,通过解决根本问题来逆向创造客户价值。这种方法如何帮助您利用市场调查的结果?


image-quote-aws-orange-50x50

我们所有人的顿悟时刻是,“让我们不要再关注成本,而是谈谈让这些女性不去寻求治疗的情感负担。”


Joy Lewin:这使我们坐下来思考我们真正想要实现的目标是什么。我们所有人的顿悟时刻是,“让我们不要再关注成本,而是谈谈让这些女性不去寻求治疗的情感负担。”

Miriam McLemore:有了这个见解后,您开发出了什么样的解决方案?

Joy Lewin:第一次迭代是一个我们称之为生育家庭呼叫 1.0 的计划。我们与亚马逊云科技、Slalom 和丹佛的一家生育诊所合作,建立了一个数字平台,人们可以在其中输入他们的联系方式,预约生育诊所的护士和财务顾问到他们家里与他们面谈,并讨论他们的治疗方案。我们在 2020 年 1 月推出了这项计划,但随后 COVID-19 在 3 月爆发,导致计划中止。

 

提高转化率之路

转向远程医疗

Miriam McLemore:为了维护该计划,您做了哪些调整?

Joy Lewin:我们决定利用由于该疫情而进行的所有远程保健咨询。与我们的网站合作伙伴 Slalom 合作发起了一项强有力的媒体活动,让患者可以在网站上安排在家附近的生育诊所进行远程医疗访问。2020 年 11 月,我们在 8 个市场推出了该计划。我们现在在 12 个市场和 100 个生育诊所网络,超过 275 个地点注册了该网站。今年 2 月,我们收到了 1000 多名患者的预约请求。到 9 月,我们计划在全美推广该计划,但目前还没有完成。我们知道,初次会诊的患者中只有 50% 能坚持治疗。所以我相信生育电话计划会有更多的迭代来解决这个问题。

 

关于我们的客户

Joy Lewin,Ferring Pharmaceuticals 商业开发和战略客户高级总监

Joy Lewin
Ferring Pharmaceuticals 商业开发和战略客户高级总监

Joy Lewin 是一位成就斐然的制药专业人士,他的创新营销才能跨越了 30 多年的职业生涯,并取得了公认的成果。他在过去 23 年主要从事生殖医学工作。从 2003 年到 2007 年,Joy 一直以美国不孕症协会董事会成员的身份积极参与各项事务,并在 2005 年到 2007 年间担任 ASRM 行业委员会主席。此外,她还在 2013 年开发了“心跳计划”,旨在让新诊断的癌症患者能够免费使用 Ferring 生育产品,并且推动了 501c3 生育力保护联盟的创建。在加入 Ferring 之前,Joy 曾担任 Abbott Labs 和 Organon 的销售和营销主管。

Miriam McLemore
Amazon Web Services 企业战略分析师

在加入 Amazon 之前,Miriam 曾担任过企业和消费者技术部门的首席信息官和可口可乐公司全球信息技术部门的负责人。担任此职务时,她在所有技术问题上为企业上下提供全球领导力,以支持全球营销、消费者/商业领导、产品研发、人力资源、法律、可持续发展、公共事务和战略安全。

发布日期
  • 发布日期
  • 字母顺序 (A-Z)
  • 字母顺序 (Z-A)
 我们无法找到与您的搜索匹配的任何结果。请尝试不同的搜索。

联系我们

新闻通讯
Executive Insights 新闻通讯
从 AWS 内部和外部获取高管的最新见解和观点,并将其发送到您的收件箱
订阅新闻通讯 
博客
企业战略博客
向亲自领导云支持转型的高管级领导者学习
阅读博客 
社交媒体
AWS Executive Connection
通过文化、人才和领导力实现创新和转型的观点
在 LinkedIn 上关注我们

Attracting Customers with New Digital Experiences

Innovating to Remove Barriers in the Fertility Journey

A conversation with Joy Lewin, Senior Director of Commercial Development and Strategic Accounts at Ferring Pharmaceuticals

As the Senior Director of Commercial Development and Strategic Accounts at Ferring Pharmaceuticals, Joy Lewin is trying to help couples take the first step in their fertility journey. One in eight U.S. couples is infertile, which amounts to 6.5 million Americans of reproductive age. Of those, 2.2 million people are actively trying to get pregnant. Some seek fertility help from their family doctor or OB-GYN and others make appointments at fertility clinics. About 800K will get pregnant. That still leaves 1.4 million people who could benefit from treatment but, in reality, only about 150K access it. AWS enterprise strategist Miriam McLemore spoke to Joy about how Ferring is innovating to help those 1.3 million people create the family of their dreams.

Digital experiences that build customer confidence

From Test-Tube Babies to Helping Cancer Patients

Miriam McLemore: You’ve spent the last two decades of your career in reproductive medicine. What’s that been like?

Joy Lewin: The first IVF baby, which we used to call “test-tube babies,” is now 42 years old. Her name is Louise Brown, and she was conceived and born in the U.K. I’ve had the privilege of meeting her. I was also fortunate to meet the first IVF baby in the U.S., who is now 39 years old. I can’t tell you how wonderful it’s been to experience all the advancements in reproductive medicine all these years.


image-quote-aws-orange-50x50

Innovation is just a different way of thinking about things, with a positive outcome.”


Miriam McLemore: One of those advancements has been the Heartbeat Program, which you started in 2012 to help women in their 20s and 30s, who’ve been diagnosed with cancer, preserve their eggs before cancer treatment. Can you tell us more about that?

Joy Lewin: The program gives newly diagnosed cancer patients access to Ferring fertility medications at no cost. We are committed to helping patients, and this enables us to provide hope to cancer patients so they can have a family after they finish their treatments. I’m always trying to find new ways to help patients take the first step in their fertility journeys. For me, innovation is just a different way of thinking about things with a positive outcome.

 

The path to greater conversions

The Real Barrier to Seeking Treatment

Miriam McLemore: Speaking of innovation, you participated in an AWS Digital Innovation workshop to reinvent Ferring’s process for reaching women that otherwise wouldn’t seek fertility treatment. What specific challenges were you looking to address?

Joy Lewin: Everyone assumes the number one barrier to seeking IVF treatment is cost. But in the last few years, we’ve made a concerted effort to understand why more people are not accessing treatment. Our market research of 2,000 potential patients shows that it’s often fear that keeps women from taking the first step above and beyond cost.

 

The path to greater conversions

Fertility Appointments at the Click of a Button

Miriam McLemore: During an AWS Digital Innovation engagement, you start with the customer problem statement and work backward to create customer value by addressing the root problem. How did this approach help you leverage the findings from your market research?


image-quote-aws-orange-50x50

The aha moment for all of us was, ‘Let’s stop focusing on cost and speak instead to the emotional burden that keeps these women from seeking treatment.’”


Joy Lewin: It made us sit and think about what we’re really trying to accomplish. The aha moment for all of us was, “Let’s stop focusing on cost and speak instead to the emotional burden that keeps these women from seeking treatment.”

Miriam McLemore: Once you had this insight, what kind of solution did you develop?

Joy Lewin: The first iteration was a program we called Fertility House Calls 1.0. Working with AWS, Slalom, and a fertility clinic in Denver, we built a digital platform where people could enter their contact details and schedule an appointment to have a nurse and financial counselor from the fertility clinic come to their home to interview them and discuss their treatment options. We rolled that out in January 2020 but then COVID-19 hit in March, which put the brakes on.

 

The path to greater conversions

The Pivot to Telehealth

Miriam McLemore: What adjustments did you make to maintain the program?

Joy Lewin: We decided to take advantage of all the telehealth consultations that were happening because of the pandemic. Working with Slalom, our website partner, we launched a robust media campaign to drive patients to the website where they can schedule telehealth visits with fertility clinics near their homes. In November 2020, we rolled out the program in eight markets. We’re now in 12 markets and have 100 fertility clinic networks with more than 275 locations registered with the site. In February, we had over 1,000 patient appointment requests. By September, we plan to roll out the program throughout the U.S. But we’re not done. We know that only 50% of the people who have an initial consult follow through to treatment. So I’m sure there will be more iterations of the Fertility House Calls program to address that.

 

About our guests

Joy Lewin, Senior Director of Commercial Development and Strategic Accounts at Ferring Pharmaceuticals

Joy Lewin
Senior Director of Commercial Development and Strategic Accounts, Ferring Pharmaceuticals

Joy Lewin is a highly accomplished pharmaceutical professional, with innovative marketing talent spanning a 30-plus year career of proven results. The last 23 years have been focused primarily on Reproductive Medicine. Joy has been actively involved as both a Board Member of the American Infertility Association from 2003-2007 and Chairman of the ASRM Industry Board Committee from 2005-2007. In addition, in 2013, she developed the “HeartBeat Program” which is designed to offer newly diagnosed cancer patients the ability to access Ferring fertility products at no cost, and was the driving force for the creation of the 501c3 Alliance for Fertility Preservation. Before joining Ferring, Joy was a sales and marketing executive at Abbott Labs and Organon.

Miriam McLemore
Enterprise Strategist, Amazon Web Services

Before joining Amazon, Miriam was the Chief Information Officer, Corporate and Consumer Technologies and a leader in the Global Information Technology Division of The Coca-Cola Company. In this role, she provided global leadership across the enterprise on all technology matters in support of global marketing, consumer/commercial leadership, product R&D, human resources, legal, sustainability, public affairs; and strategic security.

Publication Date
  • Publication Date
  • Alphabetical (A-Z)
  • Alphabetical (Z-A)
 We could not find any results that match your search. Please try a different search.

Connect with us

Newsletter
Executive Insights Newsletter
Get the latest insights and perspectives from executives inside and outside of AWS delivered to your inbox
Subscribe to the newsletter 
Blog
Enterprise Strategy Blog
Learn from executive leaders who have personally led cloud-powered transformation
Read the blog 
Social
AWS Executive Connection
Perspectives on enabling innovation and transformation through culture, talent, and leadership
Follow us on LinkedIn