在本模块中,您将为 Drupal 站点创建数据库。在使用 Amazon RDS 逐步创建数据库之前,您将学习为什么 Drupal 需要数据库以及可以使用哪些数据库。您还将学习为什么应该使用 Amazon RDS 等托管数据库服务来满足数据库需求。

完成模块所需时间:5 分钟

 

Drupal 是一个内容管理系统,可以用于博客、企业站点等。内容管理系统的核心是内容本身。使用 Drupal 时,您将为登录页面编写副本,或存储用于在站点上显示的视频。所有这些内容都需要保存在某个位置,以便向用户显示。

要存储这些数据,Drupal 需要一个关系数据库。热门关系数据库有许多,既有开源数据库,也有专有数据库,而 Drupal 支持各种数据库引擎。

在本文中,您将学习如何使用 MySQL 数据库或 PostgreSQL 数据库。MySQL 和 PostgreSQL 是两个最常用的开源数据库引擎,它们都非常适合用于 Drupal。

如果您阅读配置 Drupal 的快速启动安装指南,会发现该指南可能要求在安装 Drupal 的服务器上安装关系数据库。起初这样可以简化设置,但从长远来看可能会产生不利影响。

最终,鉴于以下原因,您需要将 Drupal 数据库与 Drupal 安装在不同的服务器上:

  • 可以随着流量的增长将 Drupal 安装扩展到多个实例;
  • 可以独立于 Drupal 故障转移和恢复计划处理数据库故障转移和灾难恢复;
  • 数据库和 Drupal 安装不争用相同 CPU 和网络资源。

使用 Amazon RDS 满足数据库需求可帮助解决这些问题。使用 Amazon RDS,数据库所在的专用实例与 Drupal 安装位置不同,从而让您能够从 Drupal 站点的多个实例进行连接,以帮助进行扩展。此外,使用 Amazon RDS 可以自动进行数据库故障转移和备份,因此您能够安枕无忧,而不必担心数据库。最后,您可以独立于 Drupal 实例扩展关系数据库,从而能够为数据库预置适量的资源。

在下面的步骤中,您将使用 Amazon RDS 控制台启动数据库。我们具有配置 MySQL 数据库或 PostgreSQL 数据库的现成步骤,因此请选择您喜欢的数据库引擎。您只需要为本实验配置一个数据库。


  • 第 1 步:创建 RDS 数据库

    首先,转到 AWS 控制台中的 Amazon RDS。单击橙色的创建数据库按钮开始操作。

    模块 1 – 步骤 1a

    (单击可放大)

    模块 1 – 步骤 1a

    第一步是选择要使用的数据库引擎。Amazon RDS 支持 6 种不同的引擎,从常用的开源选项(如 MySQL 和 PostgreSQL),到商用选项(如 Oracle 和 Microsoft SQL Server),再到名为 Amazon Aurora 的原生云选项(为利用云而定制的引擎)。

    可以对 Drupal 网站使用 MySQL 或 PostgreSQL。选择您喜欢的数据库引擎。

    模块 1 – 步骤 1b

    (单击可放大)

    模块 1 – 步骤 1b
    模块 1 – 步骤 1b

    (单击可放大)

    模块 1 – 步骤 1b

    在创建向导的模板部分中,有一个选项只显示可在 AWS 免费套餐中使用的选项。如果要使用本实验免费学习,请选择此选项。

    在生产设置中,您可能需要使用免费套餐中不包括的 Amazon RDS 功能。其中包括:

    ● 更大的数据库实例类,用于提高性能;

    多可用区部署,用于在发生基础设施问题时自动执行故障转移和恢复;

    适用于磁盘存储的预置 IOPS,用于提高 I/O 性能。

    模块 1 – 步骤 1c

    (单击可放大)

    模块 1 – 步骤 1c

    接下来,您将为 RDS 部署指定身份验证设置,其中包括数据库名称、主用户名和密码。

    设置部分中,输入 drupal 作为您的数据库实例标识符。然后指定数据库的主用户名和密码。选择安全程度高的密码以帮助保护您的数据库。妥善保管用户名和密码,以供后面的模块使用。

    模块 1 – 步骤 1d

    (单击可放大)

    模块 1 – 步骤 1d

    设置了用户名和密码后,您可以选择有关 RDS 部署的关键详细信息,其中包括实例类和存储详细信息。

    本实验使用默认设置即可。您将使用小型实例类,因为它适用于测试或小型应用程序,并且包含在 AWS 免费套餐内。如果您不想使用 AWS 免费套餐,可以设置更大的实例类或更改存储配置选项。

    模块 1 – 步骤 1e

    (单击可放大)

    模块 1 – 步骤 1e

    接下来,您可以配置连接和网络配置。必须在 Amazon VPC 中创建 Amazon RDS 实例。Amazon VPC 是一个逻辑上独立的网络,您预置的资源将驻留在其中。

    VPC 是一个高级主题,不在本实验讨论范围内。幸运的是,AWS 在您账户的每个区域中都创建了一个默认 VPC。相应的默认 VPC 已选中,您可以在此 VPC 中启动 RDS 实例。

    最后,RDS 还提供了许多其他配置选项,用于自定义您的部署。您需要在此区域中进行一项更改。单击其他配置行以展开选项。

    模块 1 – 步骤 1f

    (单击可放大)

    模块 1 – 步骤 1f

    初始数据库名称设置为 drupal。这将确保 RDS 在初始化时在 MySQL 实例中创建数据库。在连接到数据库时,您将使用此数据库名称。

    模块 1 – 步骤 1g

    (单击可放大)

    模块 1 – 步骤 1g

    在创建向导的底部,AWS 将显示 RDS 数据库的月度估算成本。如果您仍有资格使用 AWS RDS 免费套餐,将会看到一则说明:数据库供您免费使用长达 12 个月。

    单击橙色的创建数据库按钮以创建数据库。

    模块 1 – 步骤 1h

    (单击可放大)

    模块 1 – 步骤 1h

    您应会看到一条成功通知,指示正在创建数据库。

    模块 1 – 步骤 1i

    (单击可放大)

    模块 1 – 步骤 1i

    在本模块中,您使用 Amazon RDS 创建了一个完全托管的关系数据库。在下一个模块中,您将创建一个 Amazon EC2 实例以运行 Drupal 站点。

In this module, you will create a database for your Drupal site. Before you walk through the steps to create a database with Amazon RDS, you will learn why Drupal needs a database and which databases you can use with Drupal. You will also learn why you should use a managed database service like Amazon RDS for your database needs.

Time to Complete Module: 5 Minutes

 

Drupal is a content management system that can be used for blogs, corporate sites, and more. The core aspect of a content management system is the content itself. When using Drupal, you will be writing copy for landing pages or storing videos for display on your site. All of this content needs to be persisted somewhere to be shown to users.

To store this data, Drupal requires a relational database. There are a number of popular relationa; databases, both open-source and proprietary, and Drupal supports a variety of database engines.

In this post, you will learn how to use either a MySQL database or a PostgreSQL database. MySQL and PostgreSQL are the two most popular open-source database engines, and both work great with Drupal.

If you read a quick-start installation guide for configuring Drupal, it may have you install a relational database on the same server as your Drupal installation. This is easier to set up in the beginning, but it may hurt you in the long run.

Eventually, you will want your Drupal database on a separate server from your Drupal installation for the following reasons:

  • You can scale your Drupal installation onto multiple instances as your traffic grows;
  • You can handle database failover and disaster recovery separately from your Drupal failover and recovery plans;
  • Your database and Drupal installation won’t be competing for the same CPU and network resources.

Using Amazon RDS for your database needs helps with these problems. With Amazon RDS, your database is on a dedicated instance separate from your Drupal installation, allowing you to connect from multiple instances of your Drupal site to assist with scaling. Further, database failover and backups are automated with Amazon RDS so you can sleep easy without worrying about your database. Finally, you can scale your relational database separately from your Drupal instances, allowing you to provision the right amount of resources for your database.

In the steps below, you will launch a database using the Amazon RDS console. There are steps for configuring a MySQL database or a PostgreSQL database, so choose the database engine that you prefer. You only need to configure one database for this lab.


  • Step 1. Create your RDS database

    To begin, go to Amazon RDS in the AWS console. Click the orange Create database button to get started.

    Module 1-step1a

    (Click to enlarge)

    Module 1-step1a

    The first step is to choose the database engine you want to use. Amazon RDS supports six different engines, from popular open-source options like MySQL and PostgreSQL, to commercial options like Oracle and Microsoft SQL Server, to a cloud-native option called Amazon Aurora that was custom-built to take advantage of the cloud.

    You can use either MySQL or PostgreSQL with a Drupal website. Choose whichever database engine you prefer.

    Module 1-step1b

    (Click to enlarge)

    Module 1-step1b
    Module 1-step1b

    (Click to enlarge)

    Module 1-step1b

    In the Templates section of the creation wizard, there is an option to only show options that are available in the AWS Free Tier. Select this option now if you would like to use this lab for learning without spending any money.

    In a production setup, you may want to use features of Amazon RDS that are outside the free tier. These include:

    ● A larger database instance class, for improved performance;

    Multi-AZ deployments, for automatic failover and recovery in the event of an infrastructure issue;

    Provisioned IOPS for disk storage, for faster I/O performance.

    Module 1-step1c

    (Click to enlarge)

    Module 1-step1c

    Next, you will specify the authentication settings for your RDS deployment. This includes the database name and the master username and password.

    In the Settings section, enter drupal as your DB instance identifier. Then specify the master username and password for your database. Choose a strong, secure password to help protect your database. Store the username and password for safekeeping as you will need it in a later module.

    Module 1-step1d

    (Click to enlarge)

    Module 1-step1d

    After setting your username and password, you can select key details about your RDS deployment. This includes the instance class and storage details.

    The default settings will work for this lab. You will use a small instance class that is suitable for testing or small-scale applications, and it fits within the AWS Free Tier. If you don’t want to use the AWS Free Tier, you could set a larger instance class or alter the storage configuration options.

    Module 1-step1e

    (Click to enlarge)

    Module 1-step1e

    Next, you can configure connectivity and network configuration. Amazon RDS instances must be created in an Amazon VPC, which is a logically-separate network where your provisioned resources will live.

    VPCs are an advanced topic outside the scope of this lab. Fortunately, AWS has created a default VPC in each region in your account. The default VPC is already selected for you, and you can launch your RDS instance in this VPC.

    Finally, RDS provides a number of additional configuration options to customize your deployment. You need to make one change in this area. Click on the Additional configuration line to expand the options.

    Module 1-step1f

    (Click to enlarge)

    Module 1-step1f

    Set the initial database name to drupal. This will ensure RDS creates the database in your MySQL instance upon initialization. You will use this database name when connecting to your database.

    Module 1-step1g

    (Click to enlarge)

    Module 1-step1g

    At the bottom of the creation wizard, AWS will show you estimated monthly costs for your RDS database. If you are still eligible for the AWS RDS Free Tier, you will see a note that the database will be free to you for up to 12 months.

    Click the orange Create database button to create your database.

    Module 1-step1h

    (Click to enlarge)

    Module 1-step1h

    You should see a success notice indicating that your database is being created.

    Module 1-step1i

    (Click to enlarge)

    Module 1-step1i

    In this module, you created a fully-managed relational database using Amazon RDS. In the next module, you will create an Amazon EC2 instance for running your Drupal site.