在本模块中,您将为 WordPress 站点创建 MySQL 数据库。在您创建数据库之前,让我们了解一下为何 WordPress 需要 MySQL 数据库,以及为何 Amazon RDS 能很好地满足您的数据库需求。

完成模块所需时间:5 分钟

 

WordPress 是一种灵活的内容管理系统,用于构建博客、电子商务站点、讨论区等等。无论您创建何种网站,都要存储内容。对于博客而言,需要存储的内容是博客文章和评论。对于电子商务站点而言,需要存储的内容是产品和用户账户。

这些内容需要永久存储在某个地方。WordPress 使用 MySQL 来存储这些内容。WordPress 应用程序中的许多数据都是分层的结构化数据。例如,应用程序可能含有博客文章,而后者又含有用户提交的评论。关系数据库很适合存储类似这样的分层数据。此外,MySQL 是最常用的开源数据库,而且能为此类应用程序提供可靠和出色的性能。

许多 WordPress 安装指南使用的 MySQL 数据库均位于安装了 WordPress 的同一服务器上。虽然这可能足以满足初始需求,但出于以下几个原因,您可能并不希望 MySQL 数据库与 WordPress 安装到相同服务器上:

● MySQL 和 WordPress 将争用同一服务器上的计算资源,这可能会降低站点性能。

● 随着您的站点变得越来越受欢迎,您无法通过添加额外的 WordPress 服务器来横向扩展 WordPress。

● 您要负责执行所有数据库维护任务,包括数据库备份和安全升级。

通过使用 Amazon RDS for MySQL,可以消除这些问题。数据库将放在与安装了 WordPress 的实例不同的实例上,因此,它们将不会争用资源。此外,您可以创建连接到 RDS 上单个 MySQL 实例的多个 WordPress 安装,从而实现横向扩展站点。最后,Amazon RDS for MySQL 能自动执行备份和安装安全补丁,有效帮助您管理数据库。

在下面的步骤中,您将使用 AWS 管理控制台启动 MySQL 数据库。


  • 第 1 步:创建 MySQL 数据库

    首先,转到 AWS 控制台中的 Amazon RDS。单击橙色的“创建数据库”按钮开始学习。

    Module 1-step1a

    (单击可放大)

    Module 1-step1a

    第一步是选择要使用的数据库引擎。Amazon RDS 支持 6 种不同的引擎,从常用的开源选项(如 MySQL 和 PostgreSQL),到商用选项(如 Oracle 和 Microsoft SQL Server),再到名为 Amazon Aurora 的原生云选项(为利用云而定制的引擎)。

    WordPress 使用 MySQL,因此现在选择该引擎。

    Module1-step1b

    (单击可放大)

    Module1-step1b

    在创建向导的模板部分中,有一个选项只显示可在 AWS 免费套餐中使用的选项。如果要使用本实验免费学习,请选择此选项。

    在生产设置中,您可能需要使用免费套餐中不包括的 Amazon RDS 功能。其中包括:

    ● 更大的数据库实例类,用于提高性能;

    多可用区部署,用于在发生基础设施问题时自动执行故障转移和恢复;

    适用于磁盘存储的预置 IOPS,用于提高 I/O 性能。

    Module1-step1c

    (单击可放大)

    Module1-step1c

    接下来,您将为 MySQL 部署指定身份验证设置,其中包括数据库名称、主用户名和密码。 

    设置部分中,输入 wordpress 作为数据库实例标识符,然后指定数据库的主用户名和密码。选择安全程度高的密码以帮助保护您的数据库。妥善保管用户名和密码,以供后面的模块使用。

    Module1-step1d

    (单击可放大)

    Module1-step1d

    设置了用户名和密码后,可以选择有关 MySQL 部署的关键详细信息,其中包括实例类和存储详细信息。

    本实验使用默认设置即可。您将使用小型实例类,因为它适用于测试或小型应用程序,并且包含在 AWS 免费套餐内。如果您不想使用 AWS 免费套餐,可以设置更大的实例类或更改存储配置选项。

    Module1-step1e

    (单击可放大)

    Module1-step1e

    接下来,您可以配置连接和网络配置。必须在 Amazon VPC 中创建 Amazon RDS 实例。Amazon VPC 是一个逻辑上独立的网络,您预置的资源将驻留在其中。

    VPC 是一个高级主题,不在本实验讨论范围内。幸运的是,AWS 在您账户的每个区域中都创建了一个默认 VPC。相应的默认 VPC 已选中,您可以在此 VPC 中启动 RDS 实例。

    最后,RDS 还提供了许多其他配置选项,用于自定义您的部署。您需要在此区域中进行一项更改。单击其他配置行以展开选项。

    Module1-step1f

    (单击可放大)

    Module1-step1f

    初始数据库名称设置为 wordpress。这将确保 RDS 在初始化时在 MySQL 实例中创建数据库。在连接到数据库时,您将使用此数据库名称。

    Module1-step1g

    (单击可放大)

    Module1-step1g

    在创建向导的底部,AWS 将显示 RDS 数据库的月度估算成本。如果您仍有资格享受 Amazon RDS 免费套餐,将会看到一条说明:数据库供您免费使用长达 12 个月。

    单击橙色的创建数据库按钮以创建数据库。

    Module1-step1h

    (单击可放大)

    Module1-step1h

    您应会看到一条成功通知,指示正在创建数据库。

    Module 1-step1i

    (单击可放大)

    Module 1-step1i

    在本模块中,您使用 Amazon RDS 创建了一个完全托管的 MySQL 数据库。在下一个模块中,您将创建 Amazon EC2 实例以运行 WordPress 站点。

In this module, you will create a MySQL database for your WordPress site. Before you create your database, let’s learn why WordPress needs a MySQL database and why Amazon RDS is a good choice for your database needs.

Time to Complete Module: 5 Minutes

 

WordPress is a flexible content management system for building blogs, e-commerce sites, discussion boards, and more. For whatever kind of website you’re making, you will have content to store. In a blog, this will be your blog posts and comments. In an e-commerce site, it will be your products and user accounts.

This content needs to be permanently stored somewhere. WordPress uses MySQL to store this content. A lot of the data in a WordPress application is hierarchical, structured data. For example, your application may have blog posts which have user-submitted comments. A relational database is a good choice for storing hierarchical data like this. Further, MySQL is the most popular open source database, and it is a reliable, performant choice for this application.

Many installation guides for WordPress use a MySQL database that is on the same server as the WordPress installation. While this may be sufficient to start, there are a number of reasons you may not want your MySQL database on the same server as your WordPress installation:

● MySQL and WordPress will be competing for compute resources on the same server, potentially hurting your site’s performance.

● You are unable to horizontally scale WordPress by adding additional WordPress servers as your site becomes more popular.

● You are responsible for all database maintenance tasks, including database backups and security upgrades.

By using Amazon RDS for MySQL, these concerns go away. Your database will be on a separate instance than your WordPress installation, so they won’t be competing for resources. Further, you can create multiple WordPress installations that connect to a single MySQL instance on RDS, allowing you to scale your site horizontally. Finally, Amazon RDS for MySQL has automated backups and security patches to help you with your database administration.

In the steps below, you will launch a MySQL database using the AWS management console.


  • Step 1. Create your MySQL database

    To begin, go to Amazon RDS in the AWS console. Click the orange Create database button to get started.

    Module 1-step1a

    (Click to enlarge)

    Module 1-step1a

    The first step is to choose the database engine you want to use. Amazon RDS supports six different engines, from popular open-source options like MySQL and PostgreSQL, to commercial options like Oracle and Microsoft SQL Server, to a cloud-native option called Amazon Aurora that was custom-built to take advantage of the cloud.

    WordPress uses MySQL, so select that engine now.

    Module1-step1b

    (Click to enlarge)

    Module1-step1b

    In the Templates section of the creation wizard, there is an option to only show options that are available in the AWS Free Tier. Select this option now if you would like to use this lab for learning without spending any money.

    In a production setup, you may want to use features of Amazon RDS that are outside the free tier. These include:

    ● A larger database instance class, for improved performance;

    Multi-AZ deployments, for automatic failover and recovery in the event of an infrastructure issue;

    Provisioned IOPS for disk storage, for faster I/O performance.

    Module1-step1c

    (Click to enlarge)

    Module1-step1c

    Next, you will specify the authentication settings for your MySQL deployment. This includes the database name and the master username and password. 

    In the Settings section, enter wordpress as your DB instance identifier. Then specify the master username and password for your database. Choose a strong, secure password to help protect your database. Store the username and password for safekeeping as you will need it in a later module.

    Module1-step1d

    (Click to enlarge)

    Module1-step1d

    After setting your username and password, you can select key details about your MySQL deployment. This includes the instance class and storage details.

    The default settings will work for this lab. You will use a small instance class that is suitable for testing or small-scale applications, and it fits within the AWS Free Tier. If you don’t want to use the AWS Free Tier, you could set a larger instance class or alter the storage configuration options.

    Module1-step1e

    (Click to enlarge)

    Module1-step1e

    Next, you can configure connectivity and network configuration. Amazon RDS instances must be created in an Amazon VPC, which is a logically-separate network where your provisioned resources will live.

    VPCs are an advanced topic outside the scope of this lab. Fortunately, AWS has created a default VPC in each region in your account. The default VPC is already selected for you, and you can launch your RDS instance in this VPC.

    Finally, RDS provides a number of additional configuration options to customize your deployment. You need to make one change in this area. Click on the Additional configuration line to expand the options.

    Module1-step1f

    (Click to enlarge)

    Module1-step1f

    Set the initial database name to wordpress. This will ensure RDS creates the database in your MySQL instance upon initialization. You will use this database name when connecting to your database.

    Module1-step1g

    (Click to enlarge)

    Module1-step1g

    At the bottom of the creation wizard, AWS will show you estimated monthly costs for your RDS database. If you are still eligible for the Amazon RDS Free Tier, you will see a note that the database will be free to you for up to 12 months.

    Click the orange Create database button to create your database.

    Module1-step1h

    (Click to enlarge)

    Module1-step1h

    You should see a success notice indicating that your database is being created.

    Module 1-step1i

    (Click to enlarge)

    Module 1-step1i

    In this module, you created a fully-managed MySQL database using Amazon RDS. In the next module, you will create an Amazon EC2 instance for running your WordPress site.