开始阅读实施指南

15 个步骤 | 约 1 周

常见问题

问:什么是 Snowball 设备?

AWS Snowball 是一种数据传输解决方案,其使用能够以物理方式安全运输的存储设备,可以加快 TB 到 PB 级数据进出 AWS 的速度。使用 Snowball 有助于解决进行大规模数据传输时会遇到的难题,包括网络费用高、传输时间长和安全问题。

问:为什么应该使用 Snowball?

如果您需要安全快速地将从 TB 到多个 PB 的数据传输至 AWS,Snowball 则是数据传输的一个强有力的选择。如果您不希望对网络基础设施进行昂贵的升级,频繁经历大量数据积压,处于物理上隔绝的环境,或者所在区域不提供高速 Internet 连接或成本高昂,Snowball 同样是正确的选择。

问:Snowball 的工作原理是什么?

AWS Snowball 使用安全设备和 Snowball 客户端来加快 PB 级数据进出 AWS 的速度。首先,您要使用 AWS 管理控制台创建一项或多项作业,申请一台或多台 Snowball 设备 (具体取决于您需要传输的数据量),然后下载并安装 Snowball 客户端。当设备抵达后,将其连接到您的本地网络,手动或使用 DHCP 设置 IP 地址,然后使用客户端确定需要复制的目录。客户端会自动加密数据并将其复制到设备,然后在传输作业完成时通知您。数据传输完成且您已准备好返还设备时,电子墨水运送标签会自动更新,以指明要运送到的正确 AWS 机构地点,您可以通过 Amazon Simple Notification Service (Amazon SNS)、短信或直接在控制台中跟踪任务状态。

问:使用 Snowball 可传输多少数据?

使用 Snowball 几乎可以传输任意数量的数据 (从几 TB 到数 PB)。通常情况下,每台 Snowball 设备可传输数 TB 的数据。您可以使用多台 Snowball 以并行方式或一个接一个地传输大型数据集。例如,您可以使用两台 Snowball 并行传输 100TB 的数据,也可以使用两台 Snowball 逐一传输这些数据。

问:使用 Snowball 迁移数据需要多长时间?

一般来说,大约需要一周,包括运送时间和数据传输的时间。您可以使用 Snowball 客户端估算传输数据所需的时间 (有关更多信息,请参阅用户指南)。数据传输速度受很多因素影响,其中包括本地网络速度、文件大小以及可从本地服务器读取数据的速度。

Snowball 客户端将以条件允许的最快速度将数据复制到 Snowball (一天至少可以复制 48TB 的数据,具体取决于您的本地环境)。将数据传输到 AWS 的端到端时间约为一周,包括常规的运送时间和在 AWS 数据中心的处理时间。您可以同时使用两个 48TB 的 Snowball 在同样的时间内复制两倍的数据,也可以使用一个 80TB 的 Snowball 在两天半的时间里复制 80TB 的数据,如果采用后面这种方式,端到端时间会增加到一周半左右。

开始阅读实施指南

Get Started with the Implementation Guide

15 Steps  |  About 1 week

FAQs

Q: What is a Snowball appliance?

AWS Snowball is a data transport solution that accelerates moving terabytes to petabytes of data into and out of AWS using storage appliances designed to be secure for physical transport. Using Snowball helps to eliminate challenges that can be encountered with large-scale data transfers including high network costs, long transfer times, and security concerns.

Q: Why should I use a Snowball? 

Snowball is a strong choice for data transfer if you need to securely and quickly transfer terabytes to many petabytes of data to AWS. Snowball can also be the right choice if you don’t want to make expensive upgrades to your network infrastructure, if you frequently experience large backlogs of data, if you're located in a physically isolated environment, or if you're in an area where high-speed Internet connections are not available or cost prohibitive.

Q: How does Snowball work?

AWS Snowball uses secure appliances and the Snowball client to accelerate petabyte-scale data transfers into and out of AWS. You start by using the AWS Management Console to create one or more jobs to request one or multiple Snowball appliances (depending on how much data you need to transfer), and download and install the Snowball client. Once the appliance arrives, connect it to your local network, set the IP address either manually or with DHCP, and use the client to identify the directories you want to copy. The client will automatically encrypt and copy the data to the appliance and notify you when the transfer job is complete. When the transfer is complete and the appliance is ready to be returned, the E-Ink shipping label will automatically update to indicate the correct AWS facility to ship to, and you can track the job status by using Amazon Simple Notification Service (Amazon SNS), text messages, or directly in the console.

Q: How much data can I transfer using Snowball?

You can transfer virtually any amount of data with Snowball, from a few terabytes to many petabytes. You can typically transfer multiple TB of data to each Snowball appliance. You can transfer larger data sets by using multiple Snowballs, either in parallel, or one after another. For example, you can transfer 100 TB of data using two Snowballs in parallel, or you can transfer the data using two Snowballs one after another.

Q: How long will it take to move data using a Snowball?

The rule of thumb is about one week, including shipping time and data transfer time. You can use the Snowball client to estimate the time it takes to transfer your data (refer to the user guide for more details). Data transfer speed is affected by a number of factors including local network speed, file size, and the speed at which data can be read from your local servers.

The Snowball client will copy data to the Snowball as fast as conditions allow, (as little as a day to copy 48 TB of data, depending on your local environment). End-to-end time to transfer the data into AWS is approximately a week, including the usual shipping and handling time in AWS data centers. You can copy twice that much data in the same amount of time by using two 48 TB Snowballs in parallel, or you could copy 80 TB of data in two and a half days on a single 80 TB Snowball, which would increase your end-to-end time to about a week and a half.

Get Started with the Implementation Guide