在本模块中,您将配置 Amazon Simple Storage Service (S3) 以托管 Web 应用程序的静态资源。在后续模块中,您将使用 JavaScript 将动态功能添加到这些页面,以调用通过 AWS Lambda 和 Amazon API Gateway 构建的远程 RESTful API。

Serverless_Web_App_LP_assets-02

本模块的架构非常简单。您的所有静态 Web 内容 (包括 HTML、CSS、JavaScript、图像和其他文件) 都将存储在 Amazon S3 中。然后,您的最终用户将使用 Amazon S3 公开的公共网站 URL 访问您的站点。您无需运行任何 Web 服务器或使用其他服务,您的网站就可以正常使用。

为了实现本模块的目的,您将使用我们提供的 Amazon S3 网站终端节点 URL。形式如下: http://{your-bucket-name}.s3-website.{region}.amazonaws.com。对于大部分实际应用程序,您需要使用自定义域托管您的站点。如果您希望使用自己的域,请按照 Amazon S3 文档中介绍的如何使用自定义域来设置静态网站的相关说明进行操作。

完成模块所需时间:30 分钟

使用的服务:Amazon S3

CloudFormation 模板:如果您已经熟悉了 Amazon S3,或者只想跳过去,直接使用 Lambda 和 API Gateway,可以在您选择的地区内启动一个 AWS CloudFormation 模板,以自动构建必要的资源。

地区 CloudFormation 模板
美国东部 (弗吉尼亚北部) 启动堆栈 >
美国东部 (俄亥俄) 启动堆栈 >
美国西部 (俄勒冈) 启动堆栈 >
欧洲 (法兰克福) 启动堆栈 >
欧洲 (爱尔兰) 启动堆栈 >
欧洲 (伦敦) 启动堆栈 >
亚太地区 (东京) 启动堆栈 >
亚太地区 (首尔) 启动堆栈 >
亚太地区 (悉尼) 启动堆栈 >
亚太地区 (孟买) 启动堆栈 >
Serverless_Web_App_LP_assets-17

CloudFormation 启动说明

  1. 根据您选择的地区,单击上面对应的启动堆栈链接。

  2. 在“Select Template”页面上,单击 Next

  3. Website Bucket Name 提供一个全局唯一名称,如 wildrydes-yourname, 然后单击 Next

  4. 在“Options”页面上,保留所有默认设置并单击 Next

  5. 在“Review”页面上,选中此复选框以确认 CloudFormation 将创建 IAM 资源,然后单击 Create

    此模板使用自定义资源将静态网站资产从中央 S3 存储桶复制到您自己专用的存储桶中。为了让自定义资源将新存储桶写入您的账户,它必须创建可以承担这些权限的 IAM 角色。

  6. 等待 wildrydes-webapp-1 堆栈达到 CREATE_COMPLETE 状态。

  7. 使用选定的 wildrydes-webapp-1 堆栈,单击 Outputs 选项卡并单击 WebsiteURL 链接。

  8. 验证 Wild Rydes 主页是否正确加载,然后进入下一模块“用户管理”。


请按照下面的分步说明来托管静态网站。单击各个步骤号可展开该部分。

  • 第 1 步:选择地区


    此 Web 应用程序可以在任何满足以下条件的 AWS 地区内进行部署:支持此应用程序中使用的所有服务,包括 Amazon Cognito、AWS Lambda、Amazon API Gateway、Amazon S3 和 Amazon DynamoDB。

    您可以参考地区表,查看哪些地区支持这些服务。可供选择的支持地区如下:

    • 美国东部 (弗吉尼亚北部)
    • 美国东部 (俄亥俄)
    • 美国西部 (俄勒冈)
    • 欧洲(法兰克福)
    • 欧洲(爱尔兰)
    • 欧洲(伦敦)
    • 亚太地区(东京)
    • 亚太地区 (首尔)
    • 亚太地区 (悉尼)
    • 亚太地区(孟买)

     

    AWS 管理控制台右上角的下拉列表中选择您的地区。

    region

    (单击可放大)

    region
  • 第 2 步:创建 S3 存储桶

    Amazon S3 可用于托管静态网站,而无需配置或管理任何 Web 服务器。在这个步骤中,您将为 Web 应用程序创建一个新的 S3 存储桶,用于托管所有静态资产 (如 HTML、CSS、JavaScript 和图像文件)。 

    在这个步骤中,您将使用控制台或 AWS CLI 来创建 Amazon S3 存储桶。请记住,您的存储桶名称必须是全局唯一的。我们建议使用类似 wildrydes-firstname-lastname 的名称。如果收到错误消息,提示您的存储桶名称已经存在,请尝试添加其他数字或字符,直到找到未经使用的名称。


    1. 在 AWS 管理控制台中,选择服务,然后选择“存储”下的 S3
    2. 选择 +创建存储桶
    3. 为您的存储桶提供一个全局唯一名称,例如 wildrydes-firstname-lastname。如果收到错误消息,提示您的存储桶名称已经存在,请尝试添加其他数字或字符,直到找到未经使用的名称。
    4. 从下拉列表中选择您选定用于此研讨会的地区。
    5. 请选择对话框左下角的创建,而不是选择一个存储桶并从中复制设置。
  • 第 3 步:上传内容

    在这个步骤中,您将把本模块的网站资产上传到您的 S3 存储桶中。您可以使用 AWS 管理控制台 (需要使用 Google Chrome 浏览器)、AWS CLI 或提供的 CloudFormation 模板来完成此步骤。如果您已经在本地计算机上安装并配置了 AWS CLI,我们建议您使用此方法。否则,如果您安装了最新版的 Google Chrome,请使用控制台。

    控制台分步说明

    为了通过 AWS 管理控制台上传本地目录中的所有文件和子目录,您必须使用最新版的 Chrome Web 浏览器。如果您无法使用 Chrome,请按照使用 AWS CLI 或提供的 CloudFormation 模板的说明进行操作。

    1. 使用此链接下载此存储库的存档。

    2. 在本地计算机上解压缩您下载的存档。

    3. 在 Chrome 中打开 AWS 管理控制台。选择服务,然后选择“存储”下的 S3

    4. 选择您在上一步创建的存储桶,并确保您正在浏览的是对象选项卡。

    5. 打开 Windows 文件资源管理器或 macOS Finder,找到第一步中下载的 Zip 文件的展开内容。

    6. 转到本地计算机上的 WebApplication/1_StaticWebHosting/website 目录。

    7. 选中网站目录下的所有文件和子目录。不要选中网站目录本身。

    8. 将所选文件从本地文件系统拖放到 S3 控制台中对象选项卡下的内容中。

    9. 在出现的对话框的左下方选择上传

    10. 等待上传完成,并确保您看到 S3 控制台中列出了网站目录中的内容。如果您只看到了 website 目录,应该将其从您的存储桶中删除,并再次按照说明操作,确保您只选择了该目录的内容,然后再将其拖放到 S3 控制台中。

    CLI 分步说明

    如果您已经安装并配置了 CLI,可以用它将必要的 Web 资源文件从 s3://wildrydes-us-east-1/WebApplication/1_StaticWebHosting/website 复制到您的存储桶中。

    1. 执行以下命令,确保将 YOUR_BUCKET_NAME 替换为您在上一节中使用的名称,并将 YOUR_BUCKET_REGION 替换为您创建存储桶所在地区的代码 (如 us-east-2)。

      aws s3 sync s3://wildrydes-us-east-1/WebApplication/1_StaticWebHosting/website s3://YOUR_BUCKET_NAME --region YOUR_BUCKET_REGION
    2. 如果命令运行成功,您应该能看到已复制到存储桶中的对象列表。

     

    CloudFormation 分步说明

    如果您无法使用上述任何一种方法,则可以启动提供的 CloudFormation 模板,将必要资产复制到 S3 存储桶中。可以通过选择一个地区并单击本模块的 CloudFormation 模板部分中的 启动堆栈 链接,启动 CloudFormation 模板。

  • 第 4 步:添加存储桶策略以允许公共读取

    您可以通过存储桶策略来定义谁可以访问 S3 存储桶中的内容。存储桶策略是 JSON 文档,用于指定哪些委托人可以针对存储桶中的对象执行各种操作。

    在这个步骤中,您将把存储桶策略添加到一个新的 Amazon S3 存储桶中,以便让匿名用户查看您的站点。默认情况下,只有经过身份验证、能够访问您的 AWS 账户的用户才能访问您的存储桶。

    请参阅此示例策略,它用于向匿名用户授予只读访问权限。此示例策略允许 Internet 上的任何人查看您的内容。更新存储桶策略的最简单方法是使用控制台。选择存储桶,选择“权限”选项卡,然后选择“存储桶策略”。


    1. 在 S3 控制台中,选择您在第 1 部分中创建的存储桶名称。
    2. 选择权限选项卡,然后选择存储桶策略
    3. 在存储桶策略编辑器中输入以下策略文档,将 [YOUR_BUCKET_NAME] 替换为您在第 1 部分中创建的存储桶的名称:
    {
        "Version": "2012-10-17",
        "Statement": [
            {
                "Effect": "Allow", 
                "Principal": "*", 
                "Action": "s3:GetObject", 
                "Resource": "arn:aws:s3:::[YOUR_BUCKET_NAME]/*" 
            } 
        ] 
    }
    
    1. 选择保存以应用新策略。
  • 第 5 步:启用网站托管

    默认情况下,可通过结构为 http://.amazonaws.com// 的 URL 访问 S3 存储桶中的对象。为了能为根 URL (如 /index.html) 下的资源文件提供服务,您需要在存储桶中启用网站托管。这样一来,就可在存储桶特定于某个 AWS 地区的网站终端节点 (.s3-website-.amazonaws.com) 访问您的对象。

    您还可以在网站中使用自定义域。例如,http://www.wildrydes.com 在 S3 上托管。本次研讨会不介绍如何设置自定义域,但您可以在我们的文档中找到详细的说明。

    在这个步骤中,您将使用控制台来启用静态网站托管。您可以在选定存储桶之后,通过“属性”选项卡执行此操作。将 index.html 设置为索引文档,并将错误文档保留为空。有关详细信息,请参阅有关为静态网站托管配置存储桶的文档。


    1. 在 S3 控制台的存储桶详细信息页面中,选择属性选项卡。
    2. 选择静态网站托管卡片。
    3. 选择使用此存储桶托管网站,然后为索引文档输入 index.html。将其他字段保留为空。
    4. 选择保存之前,请注意对话框顶部的终端节点 URL。您将在整个研讨会的其余部分使用此 URL 来查看您的 Web 应用程序。从此处开始,此 URL 将被称为您网站的基准 URL。
    5. 单击保存以保存您的更改。
  • 第 6 步:验证您的实施

    完成这些实施步骤后,您应该能够通过访问 S3 存储桶的网站终端节点 URL 来访问静态网站。

    在您选择的浏览器中访问网站的基准 URL (即在上一节中注明的 URL)。您应该能看到 Wild Rydes 主页。如果您需要查找基准 URL,请访问 S3 控制台,选择您的存储桶并单击属性选项卡上的静态 Web 托管

    如果页面显示正确 (参见以下屏幕截图示例),就可以转到下一模块“用户管理”。

    wildrydes-homepage

In this module you'll configure Amazon Simple Storage Service (S3) to host the static resources for your web application. In subsequent modules you'll add dynamic functionality to these pages using JavaScript to call remote RESTful APIs built with AWS Lambda and Amazon API Gateway.

Serverless_Web_App_LP_assets-02

The architecture for this module is very straightforward. All of your static web content including HTML, CSS, JavaScript, images and other files will be stored in Amazon S3. Your end users will then access your site using the public website URL exposed by Amazon S3. You don't need to run any web servers or use other services in order to make your site available.

For the purposes of this module you'll use the Amazon S3 website endpoint URL that we supply. It takes the form http://{your-bucket-name}.s3-website.{region}.amazonaws.com. For most real applications you'll want to use a custom domain to host your site. If you're interested in using a your own domain, follow the instructions for setting up a static website using a custom domain in the Amazon S3 documentation.

Time to Complete Module: 30 Minutes

Services used: Amazon S3

CloudFormation Template: If you're already comfortable working with Amazon S3, or you just want to skip ahead to working with Lambda and API Gateway, you can launch one of these AWS CloudFormation templates in the Region of your choice to build the necessary resources automatically.

Region CloudFormation Template
US East (N. Virginia) Launch stack >
US East (Ohio) Launch stack >
US West (Oregon) Launch stack >
EU (Frankfurt) Launch stack >
EU (Ireland) Launch stack >
EU (London) Launch stack >
Asia Pacific (Tokyo) Launch stack >
Asia Pacific (Seoul) Launch stack >
Asia Pacific (Sydney) Launch stack >
Asia Pacific (Mumbai) Launch stack >
Serverless_Web_App_LP_assets-17

CloudFormation Launch Instructions

  1. Click the Launch Stack link above for the region of your choice.

  2. Click Next on the Select Template page.

  3. Provide a globally unique name for the Website Bucket Name such as wildrydes-yourname and click Next.

  4. On the Options page, leave all the defaults and click Next.

  5. On the Review page, check the box to acknowledge that CloudFormation will create IAM resources and click Create.

    This template uses a custom resource to copy the static website assets from a central S3 bucket into your own dedicated bucket. In order for the custom resource to write to the new bucket in your account, it must create an IAM role it can assume with those permissions.

  6. Wait for the wildrydes-webapp-1 stack to reach a status of CREATE_COMPLETE.

  7. With the wildrydes-webapp-1 stack selected, click on the Outputs tab and click on the WebsiteURL link.

  8. Verify the Wild Rydes home page is loading properly and move on to the next module, User Management.


Follow the step-by-step instructions below to host a static website. Click on each step number to expand the section.

  • Step 1. Select a Region


    This web application can be deployed in any AWS region that supports all the services used in this application, which include Amazon Cognito, AWS Lambda, Amazon API Gateway, Amazon S3 and Amazon DynamoDB.

    You can refer to the region table to see which regions have the supported services. Among the supported regions you can choose are:

    • US East (N. Virginia)
    • US East (Ohio)
    • US West (Oregon)
    • EU (Frankfurt)
    • EU (Ireland)
    • EU (London)
    • Asia Pacific (Tokyo)
    • Asia Pacific (Seoul)
    • Asia Pacific (Sydney)
    • Asia Pacific (Mumbai)

     

    Select your region from the dropdown in the upper right corner of the AWS Management Console.

    region

    (Click to enlarge)

    region
  • Step 2. Create an S3 Bucket

    Amazon S3 can be used to host static websites without having to configure or manage any web servers. In this step you'll create a new S3 bucket that will be used to host all of the static assets (e.g. HTML, CSS, JavaScript, and image files) for your web application. 

    In this step, you will use the console or AWS CLI to create an Amazon S3 bucket. Keep in mind that your bucket's name must be globally unique. We recommend using a name like wildrydes-firstname-lastname. If you get an error that your bucket name already exists, try adding additional numbers or characters until you find an unused name.


    1. In the AWS Management Console choose Services then select S3 under Storage.
    2. Choose +Create Bucket
    3. Provide a globally unique name for your bucket such as wildrydes-firstname-lastname. If you get an error that your bucket name already exists, try adding additional numbers or characters until you find an unused name.
    4. Select the Region you've chosen to use for this workshop from the dropdown.
    5. Choose Create in the lower left of the dialog without selecting a bucket to copy settings from.
  • Step 3. Upload Content

    In this step, you will upload the website assets for this module to your S3 bucket. You can use the AWS Management Console (requires Google Chrome browser), AWS CLI, or the provided CloudFormation template to complete this step. If you already have the AWS CLI installed and configured on your local machine, we recommend using that method. Otherwise, use the console if you have the latest version of Google Chrome installed. 

    Console step-by-step instructions

    In order to upload all files and subdirectories in a local directory via the AWS Management Console, you must use the latest version of the Chrome web browser. If you cannot use Chrome, please follow the instructions for using either the AWS CLI or the provided CloudFormation template.

    1. Download an archive of this repository using this link.

    2. Unzip the archive you downloaded on your local machine.

    3. Open the AWS Management Console in Chrome. Choose Services then select S3 under Storage.

    4. Select the bucket you created in the previous step and ensure you are viewing the Objects tab.

    5. Open either Windows File Explorer or macOS Finder and browse to the expanded contents of the zip file you downloaded in the first step.

    6. Browse to the WebApplication/1_StaticWebHosting/website directory on your local machine.

    7. Select all of the files and subdirectories under the website directory. Ensure that the website directory itself is not selected.

    8. Drag and drop the selected files from your local filesystem to the content under the Objects tab in the S3 console.

    9. Choose Upload in the lower left of the dialog box that appears.

    10. Wait for the upload to complete, and ensure you see the contents of the website directory listed in the S3 console. If you only see a single website directory, you should delete it from your bucket and follow these instructions again ensuring that you select only the contents of the directory before dragging and dropping into the S3 console.

    CLI step-by-step instructions

    If you already have the CLI installed and configured, you can use it to copy the necessary web assets from s3://wildrydes-us-east-1/WebApplication/1_StaticWebHosting/website to your bucket.

    1. Execute the following command making sure to replace YOUR_BUCKET_NAME with the name you used in the previous section and YOUR_BUCKET_REGION with the region code (e.g. us-east-2) where you created your bucket.

      aws s3 sync s3://wildrydes-us-east-1/WebApplication/1_StaticWebHosting/website s3://YOUR_BUCKET_NAME --region YOUR_BUCKET_REGION
    2. If the command was successful, you should see a list of objects that were copied to your bucket.

     

    CloudFormation step-by-step instructions

    If you are unable to use either of the previous methods, you can launch the provided CloudFormation template in order to copy the necessary assets into your S3 bucket. Launch a CloudFormation template by selecting a region and clicking Launch stack link in the CloudFormation Template section of this module. 

  • Step 4. Add a Bucket Policy to Allow Public Reads

    You can define who can access the content in your S3 buckets using a bucket policy. Bucket policies are JSON documents that specify what principals are allowed to execute various actions against the objects in your bucket.

    In this step, you will add a bucket policy to your new Amazon S3 bucket to let anonymous users view your site. By default your bucket will only be accessible by authenticated users with access to your AWS account.

    See this example of a policy that will grant read only access to anonymous users. This example policy allows anyone on the Internet to view your content. The easiest way to update a bucket policy is to use the console. Select the bucket, choose the permission tab and then select Bucket Policy.


    1. In the S3 console, select the name of the bucket you created in section 1.
    2. Choose the Permissions tab, then choose Bucket Policy.
    3. Enter the following policy document into the bucket policy editor replacing [YOUR_BUCKET_NAME] with the name of the bucket you created in section 1:
    {
        "Version": "2012-10-17",
        "Statement": [
            {
                "Effect": "Allow", 
                "Principal": "*", 
                "Action": "s3:GetObject", 
                "Resource": "arn:aws:s3:::[YOUR_BUCKET_NAME]/*" 
            } 
        ] 
    }
    
    1. Choose Save to apply the new policy.
  • Step 5. Enable Website Hosting

    By default objects in an S3 bucket are available via URLs with the structure http://.amazonaws.com//. In order to serve assets from the root URL (e.g. /index.html), you'll need to enable website hosting on the bucket. This will make your objects available at the AWS Region-specific website endpoint of the bucket: .s3-website-.amazonaws.com.

    You can also use a custom domain for your website. For example http://www.wildrydes.com is hosted on S3. Setting up a custom domain is not covered in this workshop, but you can find detailed instructions in our documentation.

    In this step, you will use the console to enable static website hosting. You can do this on the Properties tab after you've selected the bucket. Set index.html as the index document, and leave the error document blank. See the documentation on configuring a bucket for static website hosting for more details.


    1. From the bucket detail page in the S3 console, choose the Properties tab.
    2. Choose the Static website hosting card.
    3. Select Use this bucket to host a website and enter index.html for the Index document. Leave the other fields blank.
    4. Note the Endpoint URL at the top of the dialog before choosing Save. You will use this URL throughout the rest of the workshop to view your web application. From here on this URL will be referred to as your website's base URL.
    5. Click Save to save your changes.
  • Step 6. Validate your Implementation

    After completing these implementation steps you should be able to access your static website by visiting the the website endpoint URL for your S3 bucket.

    Visit your website's base URL (this is the URL you noted in the prior section) in the browser of your choice. You should see the Wild Rydes home page displayed. If you need to lookup the base URL, visit the S3 console, select your bucket and then click the Static Web Hosting on the Properties tab.

    If the page renders correctly (see below for an example screenshot), you can move on to the next module User Management.

    wildrydes-homepage