Why did I receive a bill after I closed my AWS account?

Last updated: 2020-05-21

I closed my AWS account, but I received another bill. Why did I get another bill from AWS?

Resolution

When you close your AWS account, you must terminate all your resources or you might continue to incur charges. The on-demand billing for your resources stops on closing your account. You might receive a bill after you close your account due to one of the following reasons:

  • You incurred charges in the month before you closed your account: You receive a final bill for the usage incurred between the beginning of the month and the date you closed your account. For example, if you closed your account on January 15th, you receive a bill for usage incurred from January 1st through January 15th at the beginning of February.
  • You have active capacity reservations on your account: You might have provisioned Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) Reserved Instances, Amazon Relational Database Service (Amazon RDS) Reserved Instances, Amazon Redshift Reserved Instances, or Amazon ElastiCache Reserved Cache Nodes. You continue to receive a bill for these resources until the reservation period expires.
  • You signed up for Savings Plans: You continue to receive a bill for your compute usage covered under Savings Plans until the plan term is completed.

You can sign in to your account, view past billing, and pay for AWS bills even after your account is closed. To pay your unpaid AWS bills, do the following:

  1. Open the Billing and Cost Management console.
  2. Choose Orders and invoices from the navigation pane. You can view your overdue bills in the Payments Due section.
  3. Choose Verify and pay next to your unpaid bills to retry your payments.

If the payment doesn’t have Verify and pay next to it, contact AWS Support and ask them to retry the payment for you.