How do I terminate active resources that I no longer need on my AWS account?
Last updated: 2022-05-02
I want to terminate active resources that I no longer need.
Closing your account might not automatically terminate all your active resources. You might continue to incur charges for some of your active resources even after you close your account. You're charged for any usage fees incurred before closure.
To find your active resources, see How do I check for active resources that I no longer need on my AWS account?
To terminate your active resources for some commonly used AWS services, do the following:
- To delete active Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) instances, see How do I delete or terminate my Amazon EC2 resources?
- You might be charged for Elastic IP addresses even after you terminate all your EC2 instances. You can stop the charges by releasing the IP address. For more information, see Why am I being billed for Elastic IP addresses when all my Amazon EC2 instances are terminated?
- Even after you terminate your EC2 instances, you incur charges for the Amazon Elastic Block Store (Amazon EBS) volumes that you attached to your EC2 instances. Be sure to delete the Amazon EBS volumes and Amazon EBS snapshots. For more information, see Why am I being charged for EBS when all my instances are stopped?
Note: The Amazon EBS root device volumes are automatically deleted when you terminate your EC2 instances.
- To delete Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) objects and buckets, see How do I delete Amazon S3 objects and buckets?
Note: Be sure that the Server access logging for your Amazon S3 bucket is disabled before deleting the objects in the bucket. Otherwise, logs might be immediately written to your bucket after you delete your bucket's objects. For more information, see Enabling Amazon S3 server access logging.
- If you have an Amazon S3 bucket that was created by AWS Elastic Beanstalk, then you must first delete the Bucket Policy. The Bucket Policy is located in the Permissions section of the bucket properties in the Amazon S3 console. For more information, see Using Elastic Beanstalk with Amazon S3.
Note: If you delete a bucket created by Elastic Beanstalk and you still have existing applications and running environments in the corresponding Region, then your applications might not function accurately.
- To delete Amazon RDS Amazon Relational Database Service (Amazon RDS) resources, see Deleting a DB instance.
- To delete Amazon RDS snapshots, see Deleting a snapshot.
- To delete retained automated backups of DB instances, see Working with backups.
Important: To delete a DB instance or DB snapshot that has deletion protection enabled, you must modify the instance and disable deletion protection.
- To delete your active Amazon Lightsail resources, see How do I shut down my Amazon Lightsail resources?
- To terminate an Amazon EMR cluster, see How do I terminate an Amazon EMR cluster?
- To delete an Amazon Elastic Container Service (Amazon ECS), see How do I delete or terminate an Amazon ECS service?
AWS Client VPN
- To delete a Client VPN endpoint or connection, see How do I delete or terminate a Client VPN endpoint or connection on AWS Client VPN?
- If you have Reserved Instances (RIs) with a monthly charge on your account, then you're billed for these subscriptions until the plan term ends. This applies to monthly charges such as EC2 RIs, Amazon RDS RIs, Amazon Redshift RIs, or Amazon ElastiCache Reserved Cache Nodes. AWS can't cancel a Reserved Instance before the subscription term ends, but you can list your EC2 RIs for sale on the EC2 Reserved Instance Marketplace. For more information, see Reserved Instance Marketplace.
- If you have active AWS Marketplace subscriptions, these subscriptions aren't automatically canceled on account closure. You must terminate all instances of your software in the subscriptions and cancel subscriptions on the Manage subscriptions page of the AWS Marketplace console.
- If you signed up for a Savings Plan, then you are charged for the compute usage covered under the Savings Plan until the plan term ends.
- It's a best practice to delete your active AWS Directory Service directories before account closure. For more information, see How do I delete an AWS Directory Service directory?
- To terminate resources for other services not listed in this article, see the AWS Documentation for that service.