I terminated my Amazon EC2 instances, but I'm still being charged for EBS volumes. Why?

Depending on how the EC2 instance was configured when it was launched, EBS volumes might not be deleted when the instance they're attached to is terminated. EBS volumes attached to stopped instances persist and accrue charges as long as they're associated with your account.

Check the Volumes pane of the Amazon EC2 console, making sure to check all regions that you're being charged in. If you have any volumes provisioned to your account that you don't need anymore, you can delete them by following the instructions at Deleting an Amazon EBS Volume.


Did this page help you? Yes | No

Back to the AWS Support Knowledge Center

Need help? Visit the AWS Support Center

Published: 2016-03-17

Updated: 2017-04-17