WordPress powered by Bitnami (PV)

This image is for customers that require legacy paravirtualization support (PV). Bitnami WordPress is a pre-configured, ready to run image for running WordPress on Amazon EC2. WordPress is one of the world's most popular web publishing platforms for building blogs and websites. It can be customized via a wide selection of themes, extensions and plug-ins. See more

Customer Reviews

71
Create Your Own Review

WASTE OF TIME

  • By NO PASSWORD!
  • on 09/14/2016

Spent a good 1.5 hours trying to find the password. Turns out it never generated. Went with another wordpress install. SUPER ANNOYING!

Outstanding!

  • By MH
  • on 08/08/2016

This is by far the best and easiest way to launch a wordpress site on AWS. You do need to be a bit more advanced that the average web developer. Accessing AWS via SSH is a bit tricky for the average person. Just read the tutorials and you'll be fine. 5 stars!

Excellent implementation! No issues whatsoever.

  • By Dmansk
  • on 12/12/2015

This latest release is fantastic and super easy to get up and running. The provided documentation and instructions for obtaining logins, etc. worked like a charm. Once its running, updating WordPress to 4.4 was a one click deal within the admin. No issues as indicated in earlier reviews. Permissions or otherwise. Any kinks seem to be worked out. Truly a time saver and what's better than free for both the AMI and the micro instance.

Does what you need it to do!

  • By Booticus "Mario Roberti"
  • on 08/21/2015

I migrated my previous wordpress to this Bitnami image and it worked perfectly. Exactly as I needed it to out of the box. What more do you need??! :)

Terrible experience

  • By Milos
  • on 07/13/2015

For an AMI (Amazon Machine Image) you would expect that it is truly turn key and ready to go.

It simply isn't. And the documentation that is offered on the marketplace page is completely wrong.

The password CANNOT be found in the system log for the instance. Therefore you get a wordpress installation that you can't even log into! Very useful!

If you're not careful you might not even get an instance with a public IP address (Bitnami makes no effort to warn you about this problem).

If you can't get access to the password for the installations (wordpress, mysql) then what is the point of using this image?

Well organized

  • By Razvan
  • on 07/02/2015

The AIM is well organized and everything is in /opt
Too bad I had to look for passwords on forums.

It would have been nice to have this in a .password file so one make use of them easely

Amazingly easy to setup but having some permission issues

  • By Eclinic247 Administrator
  • on 07/01/2015

It was a very quick setup but when I handed over the instance to our wordpress admin, we discovered that there were permission and ownership issues in wp-content folder and had to manually go and set the correct ownership and permissions to make uploads work from admin panel.

Nice shortcut to set up a Wordpress blog in no time

  • By Kendoo Solutions
  • on 05/21/2015

Nice AMI, used for a couple of days for a POC and it was good enough.

Didnt have time to evaluate security issues.

So simple and easy to use

  • By Branch Digital
  • on 04/20/2015

If you understand the basics of AWS and WordPress dev on the LAMP stack, then you'll find this tool very useful.

Ridiculously simple

  • By d. wachtendonk
  • on 04/14/2015

I was shocked at how easy it was to install wordpress on our domain. Within a few clicks we were up and running. I was able to get everything installed without the assistance of my dev team. #awesome.