WordPress powered by Bitnami (PV)

This image is for customers that require legacy paravirtualization support (PV). Bitnami WordPress is a pre-configured, ready to run image for running WordPress on Amazon EC2. WordPress is one of the world's most popular web publishing platforms for building blogs and websites. It can be customized via a wide selection of themes, extensions and plug-ins. See more

Customer Reviews

72
Create Your Own Review

4-star reviews ( Show all reviews )

Amazingly easy to setup but having some permission issues

  • By Eclinic247 Administrator
  • on 07/01/2015

It was a very quick setup but when I handed over the instance to our wordpress admin, we discovered that there were permission and ownership issues in wp-content folder and had to manually go and set the correct ownership and permissions to make uploads work from admin panel.

Works well

  • By Mark Pavkovic
  • on 12/22/2014

The WordPress AMI was easy and quite quick to deploy. I have had no issues using it so far. I'm using it for my personal web site / Blog and appears to have all the features that I was expecting.

Like it

  • By Andreas
  • on 11/27/2014

Used it for several websites, good fx. Huge community of developers able to support. Will use it again for sure.

help suction not very good

  • By Tomer Koren
  • on 11/11/2014

No essy to find things You need patience to find the solution
Still a nice prodact
Quick and easy installation
Quick and easy installation
Enjoy

works great!

  • By mykeylynx
  • on 08/24/2014

With a micro tier definitely use it with a SSD. I tried it with a magnetic drive and it's really slow.

Reasonably easy to implement

  • By Vince
  • on 07/23/2014

I will start by stating that I am a self taught coder, and only have moderate technical skills. I was able to get an EC2 instance up and running with the Bitnami Wordpress image in just a few minutes, and had my website ported over in a few hours. It was relatively easy with few issues. My only suggestion is that Bitnami make follow up directions for standard setup issues more readily available. For example, I did have to do a fair amount of searching to learn how to change the default URL.

about the best you'll find

  • By christopher zubris
  • on 06/02/2014

This is probably the best "click and go" version of wordpress on ubuntu i could find. I did have trouble getting my domain name server setup with this. If you use the default ec2 (its a very long url in this case) then everything works just fine.
Being new to wordpress i gave up trying to change this and started up a LAMP setup on another instance.

The documentaion is fairly good but not nearly complete enough for EC2 instances. It seemed geared more towards generic ubuntu installs, meaning you already have ubuntu running on your own, ya click the link, download the 'bitnami wordpress for ubuntu' package and run their setup scripts. Some people have posted 'soup to nuts' installs using this setup but it would be nice to see somethign from bitnami. The EC2 specifics were more related to getting the ssh pubkey setup.

Deployed like a charm, but...

  • By Sergey Kharnam "Serge"
  • on 05/22/2014

The default user/password pair for the Wordpress admin console didn't work and it requires to act in tricky way to overcome this. I decided to re-install the Wordpress manually and control end-to-end installation and configuration process.

A wordpress fortress

  • By Iceberg Th
  • on 02/06/2014

Bitnami's Wordpress on Ubuntu 12.04 LTS is great stack. It is a fortress with lots of security measures. So secure that is a bit hard for beginner to work with. I think (checked only by HTML source view from browser, not in mod-enabled folder)that it has a Google's PageSpeed.

It is a bit harder to set W3 Total Cache. It would be nice to see it embeeded in future due to its easy integration with maxcdn.

Easy and express setup

  • By Paolo Barbaglia
  • on 12/02/2013

The wordpress AMI is completely configurable and easy to use. Wordpress is installed and ready to use in a few seconds.