Customer Reviews (40)

CloudBerry Backup Server Edition

Average customer rating 
40 reviews
showing 1 - 10
04/09/2016,
Quite a Disappointment - Cloudberry
By Steve Kohanek
I have used this product for about about 2 months now. I have had numerous problems trying to restore files. It probably worked half the time. It would never tell you why it did not work, just that it failed. When I email the support team, it takes (for a fast response) about 24 hours for a reply. If I email on a Friday, they never respond until at least the following Monday. What do I do if I am in a dire situation and NEED to restore a file? This is not music software, it is mission critical backup software - I expect something better than this.

I do not like the interface, it is not intuitive at all. It does not list out each backup in logical historical fashion, only lists your "backup plans", or lists ALL files backed up for a given plan (potentially hundreds of thousands of files...) needless to say worthless information...

Also the restore never shows you the accurate size for the file you are restoring, eg it might say "6 GB) for a 1.5 GB file...

The final straw was I reached the 1 TB limit for my version, and it would not allow any further backups. However because I was doing "block mode" backups there were no purge options, so I could not delete any backed up data to make room for more (I only really had 600 GB of data in total to back up). I was between a rock and a hard place, with absolutely no options.

I opened a ticked with Cloudberry regarding the above ("please help, what are my options"), it's been 8 days and 4 desperate attempts at a response for help, and still nothing from the Cloudberry folks. Do they actually not know what to do?

Looks like I'll be shopping for a different backup software product.
04/08/2016,
Works great at backing up large database files to Amazon S3
By Michael Strand
Been using this product for several months to backup several databases to Amazon S3.

Our hosting provider charges about $0.10 / GB, whereas Amazon S3 charges $0.03 / GB. Seeing as we have a few TBs of database backups that need to be retained, this product pays for itself!
03/23/2016,
Solid product solid support when needed
By Michael L Thompson
Have been using this product at a few sites for a while now and it is bullet proof. When looking for a client piece to connect to S3 stumbled across CloudBerry and it was the first time I had used a either and was able to get everything setup without any major issues had a couple questions and CB's support was very responsive and even assisted with the S3 question I had since my client's are not large enough to warrant any type of support from AWS. I always use this product when the situation arises I do not even look at anything else. And the updates and support are included in the upfront price which is certainly nice!
02/08/2016,
Enterprise backup trial to Amazon Glacier
By Deerfield Academy NSS Team
I have been using the enterprise backup trial version to backup a file share to Amazon Glacier and am testing it as a replacement for Symantec Backup Exec (BE).

Cloudberry Lab (CBL) support has been very helpful answering all my questions about the backup methods and any issues I've had. Support is one of the most important factors in selecting any enterprise service, and CBL has excelled here.

In regard to the product, I find that it is more than capable of doing what I have BE doing. WIth a virtualized, redundant storage network, our traditional backups have become disaster recovery solutions only. Therefore, I almost never access the backups and find that having to purchase enough storage capacity to anticipate future growth to be unnecessary with the availability of expandable cloud storage. Thus, I find that CBL's enterprise backup coupled with Amazon Glacier to be the best solution for our environment. Also, CBL's ability to compress and encrypt the data before it is stored in the cloud provides me with enough confidence that our data is securely stored.

A note about BE. BE requires me to create a virtual machine with additional storage to act as a virtual tape library and feel this is an unnecessary additional overhead for such a service.
01/15/2016,
Best backup solution I have seen in years
By Kevin Dreyer
Finally all of my clients have regular offsite backups that complete after hours and I get a nice clean report. This software has all the features I was looking for and the support team is incredible.
12/08/2015,
Cloudberry is Impressive
By Will Hodgkinson
Cloudberry Server is an extremely solid backup tool for a wide range of backup applications. We have found that Cloudberry in many areas can efficiently backup server data to the cloud without the large cost and complexity overhead (and regular failures) of more traditional corporate backup software packages.
09/11/2015,
Backup software
By SRHammond
After reviewing several products to backup a small business server (SBS 2008), I went with this product. It has lots of options and works with multiple cloud platforms. It is simple and easy to use. They answered all my questions during the trial period and even talked about future possible features. Great folks to work with.
09/10/2015,
CloudBerry saved our data twice now
By Brian B.
After losing 2 data vault units to hard drive failures, we were able to recover all our files thanks to CloudBerry. When we migrated to a full server, this was the first program I installed.

CloudBerry is easy to setup and very intuitive. Customer support is fantastic.
09/09/2015,
Cloudberry is Excellent! - Great Product & Customer Service!!
By James Mackay
I had some questions regarding Archiving to Glacier using Cloudberry. I talked with Service Representative Sergey over a conference call using GoToMeeting. He walked me through and explained what my issue was with great detail.

The product is fantastic and the support from Sergey was outstanding.

Thank you to all at Cloudberry. You guys are awesome..

James
08/31/2015,
2 TB Backups one Locally to one to Amazon S3
By Michael Hart
We used HP Data Protector for years, our tape drive would lock up the server several times a week. It was very expensive to use. The backups were proprietary so you had to use their software to restore a single file. The files weren't indexed so a single file was difficult to find if you didn't know exactly where it was originally stored.

Cloudberry backup is so simple to use and understand. We backup our 4 servers to a local backup server and another copy to Amazon S3. We have several million artwork files, we backup in real-time with version control. If you need to restore 1 file or a whole folder it can be done easily in a few minutes.

Amazon S3 has continually worked to reduce our storage costs. Their tech support has been very helpful the few times we have needed them.
showing 1 - 10
Product Being Reviewed
Contango LLC
Software as a Service
79.99