CloudBerry Backup Server Edition

Simple and fast backup to Amazon S3 cloud. CloudBerry Backup is a secure online backup solution that helps organizations to store backup copies of their data in online storage. It is a powerful Backup and Restore program designed to leverage Amazon S3 technology to make your disaster recovery plan simple, reliable, and affordable. See more

Customer Reviews

44
Create Your Own Review

It works without constant care and feeding

  • By longrf01
  • on 11/18/2016

The last time I was involved in server administration was in the late 90's as a jack-of-all-trades tech at a dialup Internet Service Provider. We had about two dozen servers and used Veritas along with a tape autoloader. Not a day went by that some backup didn't fail and when we needed to do a recovery it would usually fail because a critical open file was missed, or there was a small hardware difference on the recovery equipment, etc. Fast forward a couple jobs, several promotions, and an early retirement and now I'm back at being the jack-of-all-trades IT guy, except this time at my own consulting company.

The contrast with CloudBerry and Amazon S3 is night and day. The backups just plain run, without failure, each night. The data automatically goes offsite so there's no tape rotation, media replacement expense, or surprise media failures. I'm very, very happy so far.

I wholeheartedly recommend CloudBerry Backup

  • By TechSoft Systems
  • on 07/12/2016

EXPERIANCE: I have been using CloudBerry Backup (CBB) for more than 4 years now and completely trust the software. Currently I’m running CBB on my Home based WHS 2011 and business based Server 2003. I would not hesitate to recommend CBB for your backup solution. I have had to restore files and folders on both my WHS2011 and my server 2003 file server. A few restores have been completed on my WHS2011 due to bad hard drives and a catastrophic failure. I have also restored my Server 2003 due to a hijack virus which would have been a nightmare if it wasn’t for CBB. In each instance, I was able to recover all my files and folders with minimal down time and effort. I have also used CBB to set up a replacement server. I was able to take the backups created for my WHS2011 and restore them while preserving the permissions, file structure, etc. to a new machine while the old machine stayed in place and online. This saved me an immense amount of down time and configuration. SUPPORT AND MAINTENANCE: The support for CBB is top notch. When I needed support it has been professional, courteous and knowledgeable. The solutions have been provided in a timely manner as well. Most of my technical support tickets have been questions about features and updates with the occasional break/fix trouble ticket. I have never gone any unreasonable length of time without an answer to my question or solution for my issue. The maintenance program keeps you up to date on services, updates, features, support and more. It is well worth the money. CLOUDBERRY BACKUP (CBB) SOFTWARE: CBB has been reliable, dependable, consistent, accurate and most importantly, trustworthy. The team at CBB are constantly innovating. They have added feature after feature over the years. CBB is a much more robust backup solution that it was 4 years ago and I expect it will be even more so in the future. It has options for local and remote/cloud backups or a combination of both. With features like, email notifications and block level backups you will save both time and money. As you may have been able to tell by my review, I wholeheartedly recommend CBB. It is my one stop shop, easy to use, robust backup solution that fits all my needs.

Quite a Disappointment - Cloudberry

  • By Steve Kohanek
  • on 04/09/2016

I have used this product for about about 2 months now. I have had numerous problems trying to restore files. It probably worked half the time. It would never tell you why it did not work, just that it failed. When I email the support team, it takes (for a fast response) about 24 hours for a reply. If I email on a Friday, they never respond until at least the following Monday. What do I do if I am in a dire situation and NEED to restore a file? This is not music software, it is mission critical backup software - I expect something better than this.

I do not like the interface, it is not intuitive at all. It does not list out each backup in logical historical fashion, only lists your "backup plans", or lists ALL files backed up for a given plan (potentially hundreds of thousands of files...) needless to say worthless information...

Also the restore never shows you the accurate size for the file you are restoring, eg it might say "6 GB) for a 1.5 GB file...

The final straw was I reached the 1 TB limit for my version, and it would not allow any further backups. However because I was doing "block mode" backups there were no purge options, so I could not delete any backed up data to make room for more (I only really had 600 GB of data in total to back up). I was between a rock and a hard place, with absolutely no options.

I opened a ticked with Cloudberry regarding the above ("please help, what are my options"), it's been 8 days and 4 desperate attempts at a response for help, and still nothing from the Cloudberry folks. Do they actually not know what to do?

Looks like I'll be shopping for a different backup software product.

Works great at backing up large database files to Amazon S3

  • By Michael Strand
  • on 04/08/2016

Been using this product for several months to backup several databases to Amazon S3.

Our hosting provider charges about $0.10 / GB, whereas Amazon S3 charges $0.03 / GB. Seeing as we have a few TBs of database backups that need to be retained, this product pays for itself!

Solid product solid support when needed

  • By Michael L Thompson
  • on 03/23/2016

Have been using this product at a few sites for a while now and it is bullet proof. When looking for a client piece to connect to S3 stumbled across CloudBerry and it was the first time I had used a either and was able to get everything setup without any major issues had a couple questions and CB's support was very responsive and even assisted with the S3 question I had since my client's are not large enough to warrant any type of support from AWS. I always use this product when the situation arises I do not even look at anything else. And the updates and support are included in the upfront price which is certainly nice!

Enterprise backup trial to Amazon Glacier

  • By Deerfield Academy NSS Team
  • on 02/08/2016

I have been using the enterprise backup trial version to backup a file share to Amazon Glacier and am testing it as a replacement for Symantec Backup Exec (BE).

Cloudberry Lab (CBL) support has been very helpful answering all my questions about the backup methods and any issues I've had. Support is one of the most important factors in selecting any enterprise service, and CBL has excelled here.

In regard to the product, I find that it is more than capable of doing what I have BE doing. WIth a virtualized, redundant storage network, our traditional backups have become disaster recovery solutions only. Therefore, I almost never access the backups and find that having to purchase enough storage capacity to anticipate future growth to be unnecessary with the availability of expandable cloud storage. Thus, I find that CBL's enterprise backup coupled with Amazon Glacier to be the best solution for our environment. Also, CBL's ability to compress and encrypt the data before it is stored in the cloud provides me with enough confidence that our data is securely stored.

A note about BE. BE requires me to create a virtual machine with additional storage to act as a virtual tape library and feel this is an unnecessary additional overhead for such a service.

Best backup solution I have seen in years

  • By Kevin Dreyer
  • on 01/15/2016

Finally all of my clients have regular offsite backups that complete after hours and I get a nice clean report. This software has all the features I was looking for and the support team is incredible.

Cloudberry is Impressive

  • By Will Hodgkinson
  • on 12/08/2015

Cloudberry Server is an extremely solid backup tool for a wide range of backup applications. We have found that Cloudberry in many areas can efficiently backup server data to the cloud without the large cost and complexity overhead (and regular failures) of more traditional corporate backup software packages.

Backup software

  • By SRHammond
  • on 09/11/2015

After reviewing several products to backup a small business server (SBS 2008), I went with this product. It has lots of options and works with multiple cloud platforms. It is simple and easy to use. They answered all my questions during the trial period and even talked about future possible features. Great folks to work with.

CloudBerry saved our data twice now

  • By Brian B.
  • on 09/10/2015

After losing 2 data vault units to hard drive failures, we were able to recover all our files thanks to CloudBerry. When we migrated to a full server, this was the first program I installed.

CloudBerry is easy to setup and very intuitive. Customer support is fantastic.