Customer Reviews (17)

CloudBerry Backup Server Edition

Average customer rating 
17 reviews
showing 1 - 10
03/03/2014,
Excellent User Experience/Outstanding User Interface
By Jajohn75
I have been evaluating CloudBerry for my wife who is a CPA in private practice. There is no question that this is the correct product to unite her to AWS S3 and my compliments on the interface. I’ve been a Design Researcher at Microsoft for many years and believe you have created an excellent frame for end users to leverage cloud-based technology without becoming network administrators themselves.
10/22/2013,
Horrible support, broken product
By CCCRC 5th District
I wouldn't recommend this product to anyone in a production network environment. I've had a client purchase this software and backed up all of their files. The backup, while slow, to glacier did work. But now, in the event of a disaster, restoration is impossible. The software will get through 200-900 files (I have 40k I am trying to restore at 24gb) and then fail. This causes me to have to wait another 5 hours for glacier to process my restore request. I've been working on this for 5 days now and I have only been able to get back 2000 files. I have put in 4 tickets to the developer, but even though we purchased the maintenance agreement, they have not once tried to contact us in the 5 days. BEWARE of this product if you ever think you will need to do a restore of more than a couple of files. Do not use this in a business environment because there is NO support during an disaster recovery event and the software simply doesn't work. I give 2 stars instead of 1 simply because the software might work for a company backing up a file or two. For reference this is backing up/restoring a file share on a win2k8 server over a 20meg metro fiber.
02/22/2013,
Great Product, Easy to Use
By Montgomery School
We were looking for a cloud storage solution to replace our tapes and Veritas software for disaster recovery. Cloudberry provided us with a simple solution that fit out needs and, with the Glacier service through Amazon, did so at a fraction of the price of other services.
02/19/2013,
Good product, great customer support
By Brian Leighty
We're using this product to backup our server offsite using Glacier. This product allows us to save a large chunk of money by using Glacier with is a fraction of the cost of other backup services. The program is simple and straightforward to create a backup. Due to the size of data it took several days for all the data to transfer over but now we're synced and due to the incremental backups, it doesn't take nearly as long when we run it each day. Now while the product is good and does what it should, the customer support is what really gives this product five stars. They really want to improve it and want to hear back from those using it. It's nice knowing that if I ever run into any issues they'll be there to help me out which a lot more than I can say for some other companies.
01/15/2013,
Great Backup Product
By janiesue1000
Easy to set up and easy to use. After my initial backup of all files, I have it backing up changes during the day and at night. When it is done, it sends me an email. It takes advantage of the features of Amazon S3.
12/19/2012,
Flexible and easy to use
By National Priorities Project
We evaluated several products to back up our office's Windows File Server. We chose CloudBerry Backup Server Edition because it is both easy to use and feature-rich (for example, it backs up files in use, allows us to limit bandwidth during business hours, provides many options for purging files, encryption).

The other appealing feature of CloudBerry is that it de-couples the backup product from the backups themselves. The backup files reside on S3 with the rest of our assets, streamlining our monthly billing and making things easier to manage.

The backups have been running without issue, and the price point is very appealing.
12/03/2012,
A nice, functioning, efficient tool!
By Silver Sepp
Have been using it for some time now. The setup was a breeze and I like how discretely it has been doing the backups. Without fuss, everything has been backed up nicely.
11/13/2012,
Works great - great deal
By NPOIT
This works amazingly well and is very full featured. There are many options available and we have not tried them all, but the basic functionality and the features we have tried have all been rock solid. We get great throughput without any issues at all. Simple mode provides a reliable method for syncing files into the cloud without using a proprietary file format.
10/25/2012,
Simple to use- good for small/medium sized business
By Dan C.
This tool is great for a small/medium sized business. It contains much of what you'd expect from a more advanced tool (block level backups, AES 256 encryption, compression, etc), but it presents these features in a very user friendly way. It takes a multithreaded approach to increase performance.

It also has a plethora of different places to store the data, i've never even heard of most of them, there are so many (local disk is of course one of them for local backups). They also seem to keep up with the latest trends (Glacier is already supported).

The only thing to keep in mind is that they chose to use a sqlite database to store their metadata. While this allows them to keep their install simple- I have had conflicts with our server's antivirus software, and it doesn't seem quite as scalable as if they had used something like ms sql, mysql, etc. I don't think it was a bad decision, just something to keep in mind, and something to test.
10/23/2012,
Great Backup software
By Zakari66
I'm using this product on a 2008R2 box I have sitting at home for testing purposes (school related stuff).

It has very nice features such as a scheduler for bandwidth usage & also already implements Amazon Glacier.
It can also give you an estimate of the monthly costs of your backup, which in some cases can be pretty useful (you can also configure a price limit, if the backup is too expensive, it wont start)

This is a complete backup software, but it is still very simple to use.
Support is great too, they answer all questions quickly & precisely.
showing 1 - 10
Product Being Reviewed
CloudBerry Lab
Software as a Service
$79.99