GitLab CE Certified by Bitnami (PV)

This image is for customers that require legacy paravirtualization support (PV). New deployments should use the "GitLab CE" image at https://aws.amazon.com/marketplace/pp/B00NNZU5PO. GitLab CE is an open source, cloud-based Git repository and version control system used by thousands of organizations worldwide. Written in Ruby, GitLab Community Edition includes a host of features that enable software development teams to consolidate source code, track and manage releases, increase code quality, deploy code changes, and track the evolution of software over time. Also included in the GitLab ... See more

Customer Reviews

8
Create Your Own Review

Everything works great, but email

  • By Matt Krystof
  • on 06/23/2015

Works well for the most part. Getting the password for the default admin account (user@example.com) took a few minutes for me to read enough to realize the initial password is generated and is found in the System Log. Setting up new accounts is a pain because email does not work, which is required for users to verify their email address and enable the account. I didn't want to spend the time fixing email so I just went with a free bitbucket account instead.

Not enough info

  • By git
  • on 10/15/2014

I installed the bitnami instance, very pleased with the one click setup. However not only did the emails not work, but neither did the repo access. Could not clone, push, etc. It appears to be a domain problem as the repo access is via the amazon assigned public domain.

Either way, I could not figure out how to get the domain changed. Documentation or help specific to the bitnami machine instance was lacking.

In the end I ended up scraping it and using the a linux ec2 instance on which I used the bitnami linux installer. I had the same issues here with domain, but due to more widely available documentation I was able to quickly resolve it.

Does not support HVM!!

  • By sander post
  • on 10/06/2014

One big issue I found with this particular image is the lack of HVM support which makes it unsuitable for the newer (small) AWS machines like the t2.micro and t2.small. There's no upgrading from non-hvm to hvm machines which requires you (when upgrading from a t1.micro) to upgrade to a rather expensive machine instance.

Other than that Bitnami images are pretty nice. They're rather complete configs and almost ready to go into production.

Works like a charm

  • By Emil Mohamed
  • on 09/23/2014

Everything is working as expected. The only missing part was the email sending server, but this is easily fixable with apt-get installation.

Amazingly simple and powerful

  • By polyman91
  • on 06/30/2014

This AMI is awesome. Able to get up and running with both gitlab and gitlabci very quickly. Make sure you follow (http://wiki.bitnami.com/Amazon_cloud/Where_can_I_find_my_AWS_Marketplace_credentials%3f) in order to get the default password, with username "user@example.com".

Very easy to setup. Works right out of the box, except for emails

  • By Ecorce Atelier Creatif
  • on 06/23/2014

Useful Machine. Almost no setup necessary, works out of the box. As mentionned earlier by other reviews, this machine is missing sendmail.

Since emails are a part of a standard workflow in Gitlab, the machine should come with sendmail (or another email solution) pre-installed.

Default login

  • By Joe Juarez
  • on 05/02/2014

What is the default password for this? When I go in and install it, it comes up with the login page, nothing seems to work. I finangled my way into mysql to find the username was user@example.com but the password that is documented does not work at all!

Best option, but not perfect

  • By Tyler
  • on 02/24/2014

Bitnami has the quickest install for Gitlab, but there are some issues it would be nice to have addressed.

-Sendmail isn't installed, so email notifications don't work out of the box. Easy to solve by running apt-get install sendmail, but still a slight annoyance.
-SMTP doesn't work, probably because of the modified nature of the install.
-File locations are not the same as the official product making modifications and maintenance a little more difficult.

showing 1 - 8