CLOUDBASIC RDS AlwaysOn/Geo-Replicate (Multi-AZ/AR) for SQL Server HA/DR

Starting from $0.69 to $5.48/hr for software + AWS usage fees

If SQL Server is part of your cloud or hybrid cloud system architecture, CloudBasic RDS AlwaysOn/Geo-Replicate (Multi-AZ/Multi-AR) for MS SQL Server Web, Standard and Enterprise editions, could become your solution for: (1) Readable-Replicas: create RDS/EC2 SQL Server Multi-AZ and/or Multi-AR (Cross-Region; hybrid) Readable-Replicas for High-Availability (HA), to off-load primaries, Data-Locality or Disaster Recovery (DR). All RDS/SQL Server editions, including Web Edition, are supported. (2) Cloud DR & Reporting/DWH, No-Downtime Migration: continuously replicate SQL Server from On-Premise ... See more

Customer Reviews

12
Create Your Own Review

5-star reviews ( Show all reviews )

Excellent product and support

  • By Dev OPS
  • on 03/30/2017

CloudBasic RDS AlwaysOn/Geo-Replicate for SQL Server HA/DR is an excellent product backed by great support. Using the pre-configured AMI we were up and running in minutes. Used CloudBasic to migrate SQL Server databases into RDS, followed by setting up cross-region Multi-AR RDS SQL replications for Disaster Recovery and Multi-AZ High Availability. It works well with RDS Multi-AZ, creates SQL Server read-replicas which can be used for reporting, data-locality and offloading of primary RDS SQL Servers. With help form the responsive CloudBasic support team we were able to migrate our databases with no down time. Setting up DR and HA was straightforward.

I strongly recommend the product and the CloudBasic advisory support team.

Does what it says on the box, easy to use, amazing support.

  • By Oniqua Cloud
  • on 11/10/2015

I found this tool when I was looking for a way to transfer databases between our development systems and our production systems. These comprised of a mix of in house physical SQL, EC2 SQL and and RDS. Cloudbasic Geo-replicate solved this problem.

The product improvements I asked for were implemented within days allowing me to extend our use of this product into our devops continuous delivery model.

Affordable SQL Server High Availability Solution

  • By Nick Semer, IT Consultant
  • on 10/05/2015

As a consultant I look for affordable and easy to maintain solutions for my customers. This SQL Server HA solution features a simple web interface. I did not have to worry about configuring server clusters, log shipping etc. I was able to setup a DB instance replication to a cross-region AlwaysOn RDS in minutes. I was pleasantly surprised that MSSQL Web Edition is also supported.
I had to call for support related to DB issues on my end. I was assigned a dedicated support representative who proved to be very helpful. I did an extensive testing to ensure that this product is very reliable.
With this product I am planning to scale up my Cloud Disaster Recovery implementation efforts.

Simple, Powerful, accompanied by Stellar Support

  • By Otelz Development Team
  • on 10/01/2015

The software delivers what it promises. Its easy to use. The support is fantastic. We where impressed how fast they reached out to us to want to help. The software is fast, economical and affordable. It doesn't put any stress on your source and destination databases. It seamlessly does what it does and it does it well. I highly recommend this product to anymore.

Simple cross-region RDS replication solution

  • By Radmeister Inc.
  • on 08/31/2015

We were looking for a way to continuously replicate our RDS based SQL Servers from west to east coast, for disaster recovery and reporting purposes. We started from looking for a SQL Server log shipping and high availability based solution ..then found CloudBasic's Geo-Replicate server. We launched the server from the market place, entered RDS source and destination information and within minutes were able to stream data. The secondary DBs seeded very fast, and have been in sync since than.

We called for support to verify if the replication configuration was properly setup. We were assigned a dedicated supported representative and received high level of support.

We feel like we receive the ROI that we are looking for in a database replication solution.

CloudBasic SQL Migrate to RDS Solution

  • By Tampabay Times
  • on 06/17/2015

I was looking for a way to Migrate my local SQL db's to the AWS RDS instance. I used CloudBasic to Migrate my SQL2012 to an RDS 2012 instance. Install of CloudBasic was easy and once the connection strings were set on the CloudBasic Server webpage, my database connectivity was verified and the db migrated very fast to the RDS instance. Cloudbasic kept my destination database in sync with my source until I was ready to migrate my application over.
I had to call for support a few times and was amazed by the high level of support RJ provided.

CloudBasic is the easiest and fastest solution to replicate your data to an RDS instance for production and or testing.

Thank You for making my job easier!!!

CloudBasic works great! Easy to setup and comes with outstanding support.

  • By AnswerFirst Communications
  • on 04/16/2015

CloudBasic has a nice web user interface. There's a quick setup feature to start replicating your databases in minutes after you setup the AMI from Amazon's Marketplace. If you have any questions, RJ and their support team will go to great lengths to make sure CloudBasic gives you the ROI that you're looking for in a database replication solution. Awesome product.

Simple and inexpensive solution to replicate SQL Servers from West to East coast

  • By Versant Holdings, LLC
  • on 12/16/2014

Versant delivers its RN Residency program, based on a multi-tenant SaaS solution across a landscape of organizations with disparate IT infrastructure capabilities.

Our customer base spans 100+ hospitals, including Tenet Healthcare, Baptist Health of South Florida and Texas Health Resources.

We migrated our systems to AWS a year ago. Then shortly after, as part of our business continuity planning, selected the pre-AWS Marketplace version of CLOUDBASIC REPLICATE to handle our RDS SQL Servers replication from West to East coast. As a result we are in a position to switch our primary systems location to East coast at any time.

Not only natural disasters, network or power outages can be the reason for our systems to go down. Software or human errors can also cause our systems to malfunction for prolonged period of time. With tens of thousands of concurrent users, throughout 100+ hospitals, our systems must remain operational 365x24x7.

We have recently upgraded CLOUDBASIC REPLICATE to the latest AWS Marketplace version. The latest version appears to be as stable as the previous one. But the vendor has simplified the system management. We receive same priority support as before.


Jane Olson,
Asst. VP, Service Delivery,
Versant Holdings, LLC

Easy setup. Various deployment scenarios.

  • By J.P, Solution Architect
  • on 12/08/2014

We were looking to utilize AWS as a fail-over site for our on-premise SQL Server based applications. We turned to the AWS Market place to find solutions to help us speed up implementation. Found this product, and within minutes were able to stream SQL Server data to an RDS SQL Server on AWS. All we had to do is enter source and destination SQL server connection strings. Then selected if we wanted a one time migration of the SQL server or also wanted the system to setup for us continuous data replication

We realized that within AWS this product can do Geo-replication providing read-only access to the replica instance, which would allow us to run reporting against the SQL Server replica. It can also do continuous AWS cross-region replication in parallel. We are considering to migrate our primary systems to AWS and deploy our systems with Geo-replication in a primary west coast AWS location and also maintain a fail-over location on east coast.

We experienced some problems at the beginning but were able to resolved them with the help of this source: http://help.cloudbasic.net

Powerful Yet Simple Replication Solution

  • By George K
  • on 12/03/2014

The most important feature we were looking for was to be able to access the end point of the replica for our reporting.

This product replicates between SQL servers manages by us. We have to ensure the destination SQL Server is used in read-only mode, but this gives us the flexibility to setup replication in various scenarios: on-prem to AWS, across AWS regions, zone-to-zone. It does seem that SQL Server Web edition is supported in all scenarios as well. Since we can launch this server behind VPC we are planning to setup secure continuous db replication of on-prem to AWS.

We experienced some setup problems at the beginning. But after visiting the known issues help section, all went smooth after that.