SAS® University Edition

Get free SAS software for teaching and learning statistics and quantitative methods. SAS University Edition provides teachers, professors, students, independent learners and academic researchers with the most recent releases of the world's best advanced statistical analysis software. Writing and submitting code is easy thanks to a powerful graphical interface that provides point-and-click access to the latest statistical and quantitative methods. With analytic skills in high demand in a variety of fields - economics, social sciences, computer science, business, medical/health sciences, engi... See more

Customer Reviews

20
Create Your Own Review

Never connects

  • By jpipermaru
  • on 02/08/2017

So, far my experience has been terrible. I have created 4 different instances over two different subscriptions. I have yet to connect after selecting Access Software. I am reviewing all potential issues on my local side, but I have been able to connect to EC2 instances in the past on this machine. So far, not so good.

SAS studio just doesn't load

  • By Sas_enthu
  • on 01/30/2017

I have been trying to access the SAS university edition for more than a month now. Each time it just says it is loading and nothing happens further. Just one blue screen that says 'loading'. I'm super disappointed. Can somebody explain what's the shortcoming here? Internet bandwidth for one isn't an issue.

Decent enough!

  • By CarrieB
  • on 01/06/2017

The look and feel of SAS Uni in AWS is very similar (unsurprisingly) to VIYA. The install works well enough and while I am just getting to grips with SAS in the cloud, it feels like a really viable alt to Enterprise Guide - though i have yet to come up against what I am sure will be inevitable limitations.

the only issue i have had is that the setup guidance provided by SAS is wrong. No 'Access Software' link appears next to SAS under subscriptions. To launch the application, I needed to go to the EC2 console manager and paste instance DNS into a new browser window - and then supply instance id as the password. I fumbled around with this for a wee while and feel like an idiot. Seems an obvious thing to do frankly but SAS does provide quite different (and for me, wrong) guidance.

working really well

  • By new jersey
  • on 10/21/2016

It's been working really well for me! I can store all my files here and do analysis on them. The only thing is that it doesn't support Listing output, but other than that it's very easy to use.

VERY impressed

  • By Liz in NY
  • on 09/01/2016

I'm new to AWS, but a long-time SAS user at my academic/research institution. I was excited to maybe have a way to log in for quick analyses that I forgot to run, or needed to rerun, when away from the office. Although it's of course not quite as stable as a local version of SAS, I was really impressed by the capabilities here. To the other reviewers who were hoping to depend on this and never have a real version of SAS installed - get real... this is FREE and usually a single SAS license will cost you what, at least $1k per year. I'm glad to have a backup plan now when I've got a small project that would otherwise have to wait until I can commute into the office, and is saving me from having to buy a personal license for home use (plus my crappy little laptop was having problems with the VMware distribution of SAS University Edition). I'll be recommending this to some friends at other universities that often find themselves in the same position as me - just needing occasional quick access to SAS from their personal computers.

Keeps Loading thats it!!

  • By it keeps loading
  • on 08/26/2016

Hi, After I clicked on 'access software' and giving credentials it was directed to 'SAS® University Edition: Information Center' and I started SAS Studio a blue screen came up and keeps loading from 3 hours, it never loaded;(never to worry about my broad band speed its good.) Can you please fix it. Thanks, Harish PL

SAS [University Edition] Studio on AWS appears to work fine for me

  • By SAS Contractor
  • on 06/21/2016

I was concerned by the poor recent user reviews that the current version of SAS [University Edition] Studio from AWS Marketplace might be having some problems. But since the price was right (free software plus minimal AWS usage fees), I implemented it on my AWS instance. I have been able to successfully run several bundled SAS tasks and code snippets on bundled and imported data. So far the software and AWS appear to work as advertised.

I like this cloud implementation with browser access from most PC platforms and no product-specific maintenance on my platforms.

Cannot access software, page will not load.

  • By Steven Liu
  • on 06/18/2016

I wanted to learn SAS on here but I guess the sheer number of weird DRM emulation measure in place make it incredibly hard for SAS to work at all. This doesn't help me not use R or pandas for everything, I wish it was more accessible like other products.

Cannot upload a file larger than 10MB - REALLY

  • By Forrest Pascal
  • on 05/01/2016

Cannot upload a file larger than 10MB - REALLY. What real data analysis can you do with a file size of 10mb

Disappointed

  • By MAS, Emissary Public "Minister Mario F. Stevenson"
  • on 04/14/2016

DTS-04142016:10:04

Hello,

RE: Review of SAS® University Edition - Disappointed

This edition (SAS-UE) is a limited demo only. It's designed for students or programmers to use the edition in a production environment. Reviewing the documentation shows there should be an admin interface. This is an edition stripped of all access rights.

Here's the problem. SAS believes this is free. It's not free. One will pay for the EC2 cost. Documentation will be useless because it's a demo version. The documentation also show a GUI for most administrative functions meaning it results to the GUI side of Windows or Linux. What's shown on the videos are truly the only thing that can be done on this edition.

Thank you,
---MMS