Debian GNU/Linux 8 (Jessie)

Debian is a computer operating system composed of software packages released as free and open source software primarily under the GNU General Public License along with other free software licenses. Debian GNU/Linux, which includes the GNU OS tools and Linux kernel, is a popular and influential Linux distribution. It is distributed with access to repositories containing thousands of software packages ready for installation and use. Debian is known for relatively strict adherence to the philosophies of Unix and free software as well as using collaborative software development and testing pr... See more

Customer Reviews

86
Create Your Own Review

Nice & clean

  • By Ain Tohvri
  • on 12/25/2014

Nice and clean image to start with and install all you need.

I'm running it for Rails instance and Drupal (PHP) instance, all stable.

Better than Ubuntu for servers

  • By A
  • on 11/08/2014

For most server uses, Debian is the ideal Linux distro.

Ubuntu adds very little, feature-wise, that is necessary for server uses, and Debian is slimmer, more stable, better-tested, and comes with less cruft.

This should be the default AMI for Linux on AWS.

Familiar with Debian? This is a great minimal build.

  • By Jason Klein
  • on 10/27/2014

Our business has been running on Linux since 2001. Our infrastructure is isolated into many small Debian VPS. In many ways, I suppose we may be a perfect candidate for hosting on AWS.

I used this image to familiarize myself with Debian on EC2. If you are familiar with installing Debian from debootstrap (or any other minimal install method), then installing the specific packages you need for that install, you will be very pleased with this minimal AMI. I appreciate not having to uninstall unnecessary packages.

FWIW, This AMI does not use LVM. Some may prefer LVM for boot encryption, snapshots, RAID over multiple EBS volumes, volume expansion, etc. If you need LVM, you must manually migrate this boot volume to a new EBS volume with LVM.

sdfs

  • By daniil
  • on 10/19/2014

Be detailed and specific. What would you have wanted to know before you purchased the product?
Not too short and not too long. Aim for between 75 and 300 words.

sdfsdfsdfsdfsdffbhghbfgbfgd

Speed and performance with 1000 Simultaneous connections

  • By Joe Lucas
  • on 09/20/2014

After being asked by a client running his site on the Joomla CMS to up the performance of his current set up I decided to build an AWS instance.

Debian/Ubuntu is my poison so on to the meat :)

Debian Wheezy seems solid without any foibles that I could find.

I wanted to go with an SSD based setup in order to satisfy mysql's thirst for iops and chose to also run the test vps with 16GB+ of ram.

First things first, my client wanted to go with Nginx although I am at the moment a cherokee man through and through :)

Thank you Alvaro Lopez Ortega....

If you do not mind conf files and nano like me this is less painful then you can imagine. So onward with apt-get and in goes Nginx without any drama or any issue's popping up!

I am REALLY used to putting stuff in /var/www so having to work with /usr/share/nginx/www is kind of new. Saying that you can always change the web servers global root or even on a site by site basis via their individual conf files in sites-enabled.

PHP5-fpm + APC, you would think so would you not? On this occasion though I wanted to try out Zends built in opcache which is only available from 5.5 and as such had to do a manual install from source due to wheezy not yet having it available for install with apt-get.

Ahhhhh, MariaDB....

Stuff the official mysqlDB let me give MariaDB a shot at holding Joomla's data! In it went and then out it came :(

MASSIVE cpu usage when under load out of the box and also after tuning the config it was still eating cpu cycles like no mans business! So what to do? PerconaDB to the rescue!

PerconaDB does not even break a sweat :)

A focused PerconaDB admin could probably explain in greater detail the why's and how's of Percona's V8 as opposed to MariaDB's lawnmower engine... I am not saying that MariaDB cannot perform at the same levels as PerconaDB, what I am simply stating is that PerconaDB out of the box out performs MariaDB while consuming hardly any cpu time and I found Percona's my.conf generator easy to use which probably also contributed to it's solid performance out of the starting gate.

Now that you have read all of the above I can tell you with hand on heart that 1000 simultaneous connections pulling a 4MB Joomla page where hitting a sub 2000ms response/load time which the mainstream would be more then happy with.

Fortunately or unfortunately, I do not fit into that category so how do you squeeze blood out of a stone? You configure Nginx to microcache! Suddenly what was approaching 2000ms gets smashed down to sub 200ms and I take another swig of my Caipirinha as I wipe away the beads of sweat that have just started running down my forehead. I know it is 2am but can this really be happening? how the hell is this possible?

Nginx microcaching negates the need for any performance tweaking of anything behind it....

What a performance, I decided to really push Nginx and went for a 4000 connection load test which resulted in 2000ms load times and 50% 8 core usage all the way through.

Surprisingly another benefit of Nginx's micro caching is it's very low ram usage which never really went above 1GB. So your vps/server does not run with an SSD? no problem, just load Nginx micro cache into ram and your iops will go through the bloody roof!!!

As a final note on this quick review, I would say that cpu power and available ram supersedes the requirement for solid state storage until of course HP gets their arse into gear and starts releasing their "machine".

Peace and love to all.

As usual the best

  • By GREG
  • on 08/15/2014

High quality OS ! Stability Security and lot of deb ! the installation was very quick ! Thank you for developper and amazon for free instance !

Best Operating System out there

  • By Josef Straßl
  • on 06/29/2014

Debian is still the best OS out there. Both flexible and fast. I dont understand, why it isnt under the default Images.

I love it

  • By brian
  • on 06/11/2014

Easy to use configure and deploy been using Debian since high school. Never gonna switch!
Xoxoxo ian Debian users will get this

Debian+AWS=AWESOME

  • By Javier Arturo Rodriguez
  • on 05/08/2014

Provisioning an EC2 instance with this AMI allows us to bring all our packages, automation scripts, recipes and expertise to AWS in a stable, secure and well-supported platform - there's no need to juggle RPMs anymore.

A very good product

  • By Alessandro Bramato
  • on 05/03/2014

This Debian server is a very important test area for me. Thanks a lot to Amazon for this free opportunity. The configuration of istance is very simply and fast if you have a skill in IT scienze. I test virtual machine for a virtual pbx and a web server for word press. Firewall is easy to configure and change are applayed in real time. Congratulation for your cloud infrascture Amazon team.