Debian GNU/Linux 8 (Jessie)

Debian is a computer operating system composed of software packages released as free and open source software primarily under the GNU General Public License along with other free software licenses. Debian GNU/Linux, which includes the GNU OS tools and Linux kernel, is a popular and influential Linux distribution. It is distributed with access to repositories containing thousands of software packages ready for installation and use. Debian is known for relatively strict adherence to the philosophies of Unix and free software as well as using collaborative software development and testing pr... See more

Customer Reviews

86
Create Your Own Review

The Perfect Virtual Machine

  • By JLFrancois
  • on 02/11/2014

It is Debian and that is what makes it easy to deploy and in minutes I have exactly what I need in any size instance.

Simply a debian :-)

  • By Luca Villani
  • on 02/09/2014

No more to say: a small debian wheezy image, perfect to customize via --user-data-file switch of ec2-run-instances command (in your script remember to regenerate sshd keys and to remove "admin" unix user).

Debian is stable as ever

  • By Hunter Grubbs
  • on 02/08/2014

This is a stable image of Debian 7 (wheezy), and contains all that you would expect as such. Startup services are trimmed down to minimal for a lean footprint. Great for production.

Great service - needs a couple of very minor refinements

  • By Ian Cognito
  • on 02/05/2014

The Debian instance that I fired up was 7.3 and everything went off without a hitch.

I noticed in the other reviews the issue with logging in as 'admin' instead of 'root'. A good security move on Amazon/Debian's part, but a potential gotcha that should be brought to the attention of the installer with a bit more prominence, as a suggestion.

This instance was very well thought out, in terms of defaults, and the person or people responsible should be commended for a job well done. The instance naming convention could be a bit clearer, as a suggestion.

The step-by-step procedures are clear and comprehensive. I would have no hesitation in recommending this service, based on what has happened so far. I intend to put other services on AWS as a result of this experience.

Debian is everywhere

  • By Fabio Giulio Simeoni
  • on 02/04/2014

I tried it for a short time. I know Debian well and so I can say that you have to use it on AWS

Rock solid, no problems

  • By Jeff
  • on 01/24/2014

Its an office Debian AMI, whats not to like?

There are a couple of things to note:

1. You cannot login as root by default, but must use the admin user.

2. M3.small is not yet available.

great product.

Works as expected

  • By Vincent Loubser
  • on 01/08/2014

The standard Debian experience - everything is set up the way you expect it to be. No problems or misconfiguration experienced to date.

DO NOT USE MARKETPLACE AMIS

  • By Mark Silvester
  • on 12/13/2013

Do not use marketplace images, if you accidentally make the root disk unbootable, you can not fix it by attaching that disk to another server.

Excellent - had Eccet running in the cloud in no time

  • By Bedatec
  • on 11/29/2013

While it is no wonder, as this is the standard deployment scenario, I still was amazed that I had Eccet up and running "in the cloud" just three days after I had started to look at Amazon Web Services at all.

Much of that attributes to have my standard deployment base OS available. The installation went so smooth that I am hard-pressed to find two little nags:
- It took me a moment to get used to the Ubuntu-style sudo-to-be-root configuration.
- The hostname isn't set to something that would resolve externally, but given the possibilities of assigning this very flexibly in the AWS, it might just not be possible always.

The latter was the only thing I needed to "fix" by setting it to the public instance DNS name, as my application uses the hostname to register instances with the broker service.

Overall rating: Excellent!

Very good

  • By Eneias
  • on 11/26/2013

It is a well configured version of Debian 7, that I have installed php 5 mysql to run my applications. It work very fast.