Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Red Hat Enterprise Linux (RHEL) 5

Amazon Web Services | 5.11_GA

Linux/Unix, Red Hat Enterprise Linux 5.11_GA - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

300 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Jason L.

Good Idea but low end user reason to use

  • December 01, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
New look compared to window apple interface
What do you dislike?
Not a lot of usable feature for the end user, targeted more toward programmers and developers in my opinion.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
n/a


    Catherine S.

My review

  • November 30, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Ease of setup. RHEL is very easy to install. Documentation easily accessible.
What do you dislike?
I have only used a command line interface with this OS
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Usability can be an issue with the CLI. The benefit is security and ease of setup.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
General CLI experience. Familiarize yourself with the latest updates and RHEL commands.


    Information Technology and Services

Red Hat

  • November 26, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
There is plenty of knowledge resources on every subjects
What do you dislike?
I don't have any dislikes. Much of my frustration is fixed persistent effort
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Cloud computing


    Suhaas C.

it is more stable and comfortable desktop development.

  • November 25, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
software appearance, which helps to look for what I want exactly
What do you dislike?
it has become old and hoping we will have a new one
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
the Best interface for google but not anymore


    Retail

Resilient and Sustainable OS Platform

  • November 24, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Secured operating system with best of class support and partner ecosystem (Hardended shell keeps it safe from malicious actors). Its easy to patch and maintain the currency for sustainable operations
What do you dislike?
Nothing as such - it is an excellent operating system for building resilient and sustainable applications - would love to GUI interface someday as people operate with MS-Windows
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are building solution for businesses by embracing a secure operating system that accelerates their cloud journey and portability easier. This is platform to build apps once and run them anywhere


    Higher Education

Great OS image

  • November 24, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to use, frequent security patches, availability across cloud providers and native library support.
What do you dislike?
Some OS updates can be more disruptive than usual
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Use it to run enterprise level cloud services. Works pretty well with all cloud providers


    Brad A.

RHEL Quick Review

  • November 23, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Their support and the proven yum package management system
What do you dislike?
Not as many repositories as some other distributions
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Solid production quality rack mount servers to handle data transfers to our ERP
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Consider the cost vs service need, there are plenty of other distributions that are free


    Matthew M.

RHEL has always been wonderful since I started with Linux.

  • November 22, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I am not your average user. I generally use forums for help and this is why RHEL is great! It is very easy to generally find someone who is trying to accomplish the same thing.
What do you dislike?
I really don't care for any of the GUI's they make some stuff easier but for the most part it is much nicer to just use CLI for everything. Now Windows has brought command line even.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We generally use it for quote a few application servers and a couple web servers. They just run and don't require much to patch them. I don't have a bunch so I just do them each.


    SWARESH S.

RHEL review

  • November 09, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Software Compatibility issues are minimal. Its customer support system is very helpful. The security mechanisms are very efficient. It is a very reliable OS & provides a good environment.
What do you dislike?
It is very resource-intensive. It should have a better GUI at least for desktop users . UI is slightly old fashioned. It is expensive. Upgrade policies should be easier.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Softwares & Technologies related to VLSI automation. It supports most of the popular shell scripts for my tasks in backend development. Investment costs are low.


    Computer Software

RHEL is the best

  • November 06, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
takes best performance of an application. worked in National ID systems worldwide and applications are tuned to the kernel and RHEL kernel performs best
What do you dislike?
nothing much, can be cheaper ( support cost) to make affordable for small enterprises
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
kernel level tuning to get best out of pentium processor