Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Red Hat Enterprise Linux (RHEL) 6

Amazon Web Services | 6.5_GA

Linux/Unix, Red Hat Enterprise Linux 6.5_GA - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

3 AWS reviews

External reviews

263 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Cyrano R.

RedHat Enterprise Linux on education area

  • October 20, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I feel very confident to select Red Hat Enterprise Linux in my projects, in my opinion it is one of the most stable Linux distribution available on the marketing, the support also is a strong point they are very focused to solve the problem in the less time possible, but the key point to select Red Hat Enterprise Linux (RHEL) it is the support compatibility with another vendors in Hardware and Software area, this is very important to have the all solutions supported in a single project.
What do you dislike?
The Red Hat Enterprise Linux (RHEL) haven't many points that I dislike, unless the cost, because the Red Hat Enterprise Linux (RHEL) in my opinion it is the most expensive Linux operations system distribution available on the market, I understand that it is leader, but in some case I was forced to select a non commercial distribution CentOS that it is very close to Red Hat Enterprise Linux (RHEL).
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Some time ago, I was adept of Debian distribution, but I had some problem with HBA drivers and storage support, I solved this problem when I adopted the Red Hat Enterprise Linux (RHEL) to this servers, and I really liked to move from Debian to Red Hat Enterprise Linux (RHEL) based on the stability, support from hardware manufactures and compatibility matrix.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I think that Red Hat Enterprise Linux (RHEL) is on the right path, I am just concerned about the effective costs, because in some cases I need to select a product with no support because the Red Hat Enterprise Linux (RHEL) doesn't fit on the budget.


    Guruprasad M.

Useful operating system for developers

  • October 07, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to install, easy to use, virus free & reliable
What do you dislike?
Exploring through folders, opens multiple screens when I try to open any folder
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
cost effective, easy to install & beneficial for developers
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I will recommend RedHat Enterprise Linux as it is cost effective, easy to use & most of the enterprises using this OS


    Information Technology and Services

Love/Hate Relationship

  • September 27, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Secure system that's easy to use and monitor
What do you dislike?
Sometimes hard to get packages when developing for newer technologies.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Cloud based servers for hosting services/microservices.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Make sure the packages and libraries you want on the system are available. Sometimes takes time to make it into the package manager.


    Higher Education

RHEL rocks

  • September 02, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Great support and the platform is rock solid. Satellite patch management makes administration for nodes without external access a breeze.
What do you dislike?
It's relatively expensive versus other alternatives
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Web, application and database servers.


    Mabel F.

Oracle dba

  • August 31, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Very reliable operating system, easy to increase CPU, memory
What do you dislike?
Patching is not so easy, wish it needs no reboot
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Save money on hardware


    Danielle P.

Great OS for applications

  • August 28, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Ease of use, stability, updates are easy
What do you dislike?
User interface lacks but KDE is still helpful
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Revenue management, Sales and catering optimization
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Take a training class and use it often (use it or lose it)


    Computer Software

RedHat for testing Linux driver

  • August 27, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It's Linux, it's not Windows!! Fast setup from distribution every works as it should. Can easily get updates and new software.
What do you dislike?
License is expensive unless you use CentOS
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Platform for testing Linux driver
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Good for Enterprise testing but license is expensive can use CentOS for some of the test machines


    Research

A review from a day to day user of Redhat

  • August 26, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Awesome stability, used for hardware dev. Very innovative and long lasting OS that came with multiple intuitive features.
What do you dislike?
Lack of support and update compared to Ubuntu or other offerings.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Hardware Dev. REHL was easy to use and came with lots of linux features that made it simpler to navigate.


    Semiconductors

The most stable Linux for Enterprise

  • August 25, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The most stable Linux distribution
Most of our customers have RHEL deployed so we have to make sure our program runs in their machines.
What do you dislike?
Of course the service but right now I'm registered as a developer to maintain the system by myself
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The cross-platform issue. We have to make sure our programs run on all of our customers' machines. The benefit is our PO.


    Michael G.

Solid Linux Distro for Enterprise Use

  • August 16, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
One won't find bleeding edge packages in Redhat Enterprise Linux, instead, only tried and true, rock-solid packages will be encounter. When one's primary goal is to build a server that won't fail, this is a good thing. When problems to occur, Redhat support responds quickly to requests and, at times, sent employees to our worksite to provide assistance.

Redhat Kickstart allows one to script OS and application installations so that consistent builds can be rapidly deployed.
What do you dislike?
When a licenses lapses, one can no longer patch the server that the license is assigned to. This can be problematic in an evironment where procurement can be sporadic and/or delayed. That said, Redhat support is excellent and, when I have encountered this issue, Redhat was happy to issue temporary licenses while we waited for procurement to complete. Licensing, at least in the environment I work in, is done on a server by server basis; it would be nice if it was possible to purchase node level licensing so that unlimited Redhat instances could be stood up in a VMWare cluster.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Redhat allows us to reliably host products such as IBM Websphere and DB2 with the knowledge that if assistance is required, it will be available. When using a free Linux distro, one is left to search for answers on their own, but with Redhat Linux, there is comfort in knowing that help is available if needed.