Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Red Hat Enterprise Linux (RHEL) 6

Amazon Web Services | 6.5_GA

Linux/Unix, Red Hat Enterprise Linux 6.5_GA - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

3 AWS reviews

External reviews

263 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Government Administration

Red Hat Enterprise Linux (RHEL)

  • April 12, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It's not just an operating system, today RHEL is an ecosystem of products and services whose tools simplify the process of automation and management of ours data center, the documentation is very specific and comprehensive, and ¡it works! because behind the best developers that they can afford.

If you want to test some solutions for academic purposes, any Linux operating system could help you, but when it comes to saving time, effort and money, RHEL must be your best decision.
What do you dislike?
1.- The knowledge base(KB) is not public, you must pay for access.
2.- The licenses is in permament changes.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Anthing you can imagine: RRHH, Web Services, Transactional/NoSQL Data Base, development any services of mission critical, RHEL is a operating system standard on the industry.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Easy and fast deployment, mission critical solutions, red hat education is a good optcion to deem and service support.


    Benjamin B.

RedHat flavour of Linux

  • March 22, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to install.
Enterprise support.
Very solid distribution of Linux with the backing of Red Hat.
What do you dislike?
Built in package repositories leave a lot to be desired, and you often have to add third-party repositories to install basic software, for example, LibreOffice.

Other than the enterprise support there's not much difference between the completely free and open-source CentOS.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It's a solid distribution to run our SaaS applications (Ruby On Rails/NGINX/Passenger) on. Very stable and easy to maintain.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Only use this if you need the enterprise support. There's other distributions of Linux that are free and have a better community behind them.


    David G.

Good, reliable Linux Operating System

  • January 29, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It is very reliable, and quite easy to use the network setup and service management. The security given by the enterprise version is great. There are a large number of packages available, and it ships with Python by default.
What do you dislike?
I don't particularly like the package manager (yum). On rare occasions, it seems to fail with errors such as "database malformed". Often, in order to get detailed support it is necessary to login with Redhat subscription credentials.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Deployment of high availability services in a cluster of Redhat servers. Redhat virtual machines are also deployed through libvirt software. The benefits are that the Operating System is extremely reliable, and there are a range of packages available.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Good, secure Operating system. You will have to subscribe to download unlike some other Linux versions


    Jose E.

The VPS default OS

  • January 20, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It's very stable, perfect for a VPS and offering Website's hosting. It has never crashed, and it's pretty easy to use if you have a Unix experience background.
What do you dislike?
I use it everyday for hosting webpages, and I just love it. It's hard for me to say what I don't like.
The price is not cheap, but if you're going to use it for your business, then that's the price.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I work at Ecuawebdigital, we offer web development and hosting.
For the hosting service, we have a VPS(virtual private server) and we use RHEL on it. Pretty stable, and perfect for this. It has never crashed.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you are going to offer websites, or VPS, then go for this. It's perfect for such jobs.


    Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing

RHEL: Stability, at a Cost

  • January 20, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
RHEL is intended to provide long-term stability to its users. You may not get the newest versions of packages, but you can be pretty sure they won't break on you. The yum package manager is also very useful. The first Linux systems I used were all Debian based, so I was accustomed to APT, but yum offers essentially the same functionality, which is nice.
What do you dislike?
You don't get the newest version of packages. This is a trade-off with stability, but it's still a bummer that you don't have easy access to more recent software. RHEL 6 also uses Gnome 2 by default, which feels seriously outdated.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use RHEL in the research lab I work in. RH's package manager (yum) took some getting used to but is easy to use and very useful. It's also nice to know that everyone in the lab is on the same version.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If stability is a high priority to you, RHEL is a good choice. Be mindful that you'll miss out on the newest versions of software, however. All in all, the version of Linux you choose doesn't matter too much, since you can customize most things.


    Thomas Jones

Too Old To Still Be On MarketPlace

  • January 20, 2016
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

This AMI is the first-hit returned by an AMI search for RHEL 6. Unfortunately, it's a very *OLD* AMI, meaning that it requires pretty much 100% of the installed packages being upgraded.

Given that this AMI is also stupidly-fat at 420+ RPMs (seriously: why would SSSD, NFS, CIFS and several other RPMs need to be on what should be a starting-point kind of AMI??), doing an update takes *forever*. Even better, trying to use cloud-init to do the update resulted in broken (as in not recoverable with the yum DB manipulation/cleanup tools) yum DBs on two of the three instances I launched. Nothing like trying to query the yum DB and getting a few hundred "conflicts with" and "duplicates" errors.

Ultimately, found and switched to a newer, HVM AMI. Fortunately, I didn't *need* a specifically PV-type AMI, as my intents for launching the AMI was to use it to create a custom AMI (which is why a fat AMI is especially problematic).


    Computer Software

Enterprise = Reliability

  • January 18, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The reliability you get with the Enterprise edition of RedHat. My experience with RedHat Enterprise Linux (RHEL) was actually in college. My school used a cluster of these machines in a Linux lab that made school projects and development a breeze. The ability to remote into them was a fantastic ability. As long as the school's internal network was up, there were generally no issues.
What do you dislike?
There were times when particular machines would "go down" or become unresponsive. When that was the case, I just had to connect to a different machine in the cluster of machines.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Having the license to deploy dozens or more machines with RHEL can help achieve a very reliable cluster of Linux servers.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Consider RHEL only if you need a reliable cluster of Linux machines. Obviously as a consumer or for less important use cases, you could use one of the many open source Linux distributions out there. There are other alternatives which also provide reliability.


    Hans D.

The go-to enterprise Linux distribution

  • January 17, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Red Hat is universally recognized by businesses as the gold standard for Linux distributions. With great support, a great user community, and being a platform that many packages and applications are based off of, implementing Red Hat is one of the best decisions a company looking for a solid Linux partner can make.
What do you dislike?
Red Hat is one of the most expensive distributions out there. That cost comes with great support and service, but there are other enteprise-grade distributions that are far cheaper and provide similar functionality.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Red Hat is the foundation for any enterprise-wide Linux solution. It is a solid solution for web, email, file sharing, IT security, and policy management deployments.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Check out other distributions based on Red Hat such as CentOS to see if the distribution, pricing, and support make more sense for your business, especially if you are not needing the level of support a Red Hat support contract provides.


    Consumer Services

Multipurpose Linux OS, works for development and production

  • January 14, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Worked with RHEL 6+ quite a bit and found it really great for day to day use for my job. We also had similar systems on production so it made for a great testing environment as well.

I have used RHEL on a daily basis for over 3 years and it something that never made me miss traditional operating systems like Windows or Mac.
What do you dislike?
While RHEL has support for lot of software I would use, there were several times when I would need some software to work with it and it either wouldn't or there was a problem with packages. Installing software on command line was a nightmare. It lacks support documentation among other things as well.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
RHEL was sort of replicating our production systems, it was stable and hardly crashed which made it a great development environment which is why our company invested heavily into it.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It is very similar to other desktop experiences, so things would be easy to switch over to.


    Research

Generally a more reliable version of Linux

  • January 14, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The reliability of the packages from their repositories is one of the best reasons to use RHEL. Also the remote management system allow the admin to regularly schedule packages and updates as well as remotely install new packages to all systems using their online tools. Hopefully this feature sticks around as they might be replacing it shortly.
What do you dislike?
Their current changes to centralize remote management of systems around the IT department rather than smaller groups. Some of the changes with gnome 3 and the other GUIs has been a little annoying. Gnome 3, which is now the standard GUI for RHEL, is taxing on the system performance. It's performance seems to be closer to Windows that to what Gnome 2 was like. One other annoying feature is how long it can take for them to get the most up to date packages in their repository. I feel like it takes them months to catch up with the not so reliable repositories.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Using RHEL we have been able to customize our Linux distributions to our liking, installing all the repository packages we desire, and removing the ones we do not. RHEL has also provided a more stable environment within our cluster, and has simplified our interactions with older systems.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Be sure you understand their new remote management changes before purchasing.