Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

CentOS 6 (x86_64) - with Updates

Centos.org | 6 - 2014-09-29

Linux/Unix, CentOS 6 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

69 AWS reviews

External reviews

229 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


4-star reviews ( Show all reviews )

    MR BORJA SIXTO

Borja

  • August 03, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Easy to install and fully operative. It is a very basic configuration installation, you need to install apache and other components.


    Sonny Mendoza

Good for Web Server Deployment

  • June 10, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

OS is loaded with regular Centos 6.0 64 bit base OS. Pairing it with minimal instance type resource can still run a decent Web server hosting 2 to 3 web programs. Must have at least 1.0 GB memory or higher if planning to run ruby and svn.


    John Christopher

Excellent Distro - Just need to resize partition

  • February 20, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Excellent distro - Very fast and light. 10 GB default size. You need to resize the partition in case you are using an EBS over 10GB. Concise instructions are available here:

http://stackoverflow.com/questions/24014493/unable-to-resize-root-partition-on-ec2-centos#new-answer


    ankit singh thakur

My Review over CentOs

  • October 05, 2014
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

To be very honest I am bit newer with CentOs and that why the reason I wasnt able to configure web server properly, probably that was only reason I not able to continue it.


    BoxerLee

Overall , is good

  • September 26, 2014
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Overall is good.


most importantly ,This product is flexible and free.

This product EC2(FREE) is used by me for study Drupal. It is enough for me.
But I think you should update more luxurious products if have many visits or you use a big program in this service because the CPU is very difficult to understand because I complied a LNMP Package actually takes me over 3.5 hours . Normally only need about 20~30 mins.


    Luis Herrera

Good Instance

  • September 24, 2014
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Is a excellent instance for beginners.
was able to install and setup the server in 30 minutes.
Only have a problem with the installation of ntopng


    Dave Walker

Nice compact distro - but two changes to suggest

  • September 14, 2014
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I've been set a task to build a simple webserver; having a little experience with CentOS and more with RHEL, I picked this AMI as a nice free way to get things up and running, and it delivered.

The distro is indeed kept patched and is pretty well minimised; I even needed to install the ntp client separately, which was not a problem. The distro reported itself as CentOS 6.5, and there was very little that yum needed to update. All storage goes to / ; swap (and other pseudo-partitions) are mapped to /dev/shm , which keeps things stateless if you have any potentially sensitive data to deal with and don't want to worry about storage encryption.

However, if you have a need to build your server according to a particular security policy and turn it into an AMI when you're done, this fixed partition layout can be a problem if you want to follow a standard security profile such as the CIS Benchmark and do hard-limiting with filesystem privilege. As it wouldn't be fair to expect the maintainers to anticipate the partitioning needs of all users, it would be good if a future version came with LVM root encapsulation.

I expect I'll be using this AMI again. Also, note you need to connect as root rather than ec2-user.

I've also found a significant problem, which isn't with the distro but rather the context in which it is presented. Despite the fact that CentOS is offered without charge and under the GPL, the fact that it's in the Marketplace rather than the Community (or even AWS' "Start Here") means that derived AMIs *can't be made Public*. Please address this, urgently!


    Jeff Hoffmann

Great if you're an existing CentOS user

  • August 24, 2014
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I wanted to use CentOS instead of Amazon Linux because of dependencies of the different yum repos I use. Everything is working great so far. The one thing I would say is that it's not really clear that you should be using "root" as a username to ssh in when I was coming from Amazon Linux where the username is "ec2-user". In hindsight, of course you log in as root, I guess I was thinking that there'd be an effort to standardize that username across distros.


    edenxia

very well

  • April 14, 2014
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

this template is working very well. but it will be great if it can fix one thing.

it does not support launch image with internal instance store


    Geetansh Jindal

Lost my pem

  • March 28, 2014
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Hello mate,

I just lost my PEM of my server which is configured with your AMI.

can you please guide me how can i recover my password.

All of my domains are down. please guide me.