Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

CentOS 6 (x86_64) - with Updates

Centos.org | 6 - 2014-09-29

Linux/Unix, CentOS 6 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

69 AWS reviews

External reviews

230 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Michael Shader

Works well but.....

  • January 07, 2014
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

does not support the new style C3 instance type. Would be more useful if it did. It otherwise runs very well.


    Veljko Vasic

Great choice for everyone

  • December 27, 2013
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Hello, the product I have chosen to develop my sites and maybe something more in the future is I think enough for everyone to start developing portals or even host something advanced because its easy to use, it is very well documented and used for hosting


    Expiwrite Associates, Inc.

OK for disposable instances

  • December 11, 2013
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

The root device, /dev/sda, created when an instance is launched from this ami cannot be mounted as a secondary device. That is fine until a kernel update fails. If the instance cannot restart you cannot attach the volume as a secondary to another instance in order to fix it.

Fortunately the aws marketplace support group can "unlock" the volume, thus enabling attachment to another running instance as a secondary. This can take some time.

With the availability of pv-grub and xen friendly kernels, it is worth the effort to setup your own CentOS minimal install ami.


    giabao

Lack of support instance type

  • December 03, 2013
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I am looking for c3.xlarge instance but when choose CentOS AMI, it does not support c3 family instance type but other AMIs do support.
Please support c3 family insantce type. Thanks


    S. Hawes

Some linux/rhce ability required

  • November 26, 2013
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I very much enjoy the familiar environment, thoughtfully constructed, no unpleasant surprises.

Full security is enabled by default. To connect anything useful you will need to open up ports on the firewall (ie iptables skill), also consider what level of selinux you require. Acl skills probably a good idea also.

New AWS users you can use tcpdump to confirm packets are getting through your corporate firewall and arriving on the instance, before the firewall has a chance to filter them out.


    Mr. Simon C. Kenyon

does what it says on the tin.

  • November 14, 2013
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

i had to install twice, because the first time i installed it i messed up my iredmail installation.
the distinction between the other releases and this one (with updates). once again i installed the wrong one the first time around.

but thanks for it. much appreciated.


    Gustaf Bystrom

Works as always

  • November 12, 2013
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Just started to move from rack servers to Amazon and am surprised how easy and simple it is. CentOS runs as good as it always has. After a few more final tests all my servers will be migrated to Amazon.


    Science Direct Article Pages New Front End

Perfect minimal CentOS VM

  • October 19, 2013
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

A reliable CentOS VM has been missing from the AWS ecosystem for a long time. This AMI fills the gap. It's minimal, clean, and text-book vanilla. Absolutely perfect for my needs.


    Diego Mayol

Stable and free

  • October 15, 2013
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

CentOS is a stable and free solution for enterprise use. It has not the latest software versions, but there are many good third-party repositories. After 8 years of experience with CentOS is still my first choice.


    Amazon Customer

Excellent product

  • October 05, 2013
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I needed to run some software which is only certified for Redhat Enterprise Linux. It runs perfectly on this AMI without any problems.

The AMI comes configured with minimal extras which was perfect as it saved me from having to spend any time removing things that I didn't need for my use case.

This is an excellent AMI and I am very happy with it.