Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

CentOS 6 (x86_64) - with Updates

Centos.org | 6 - 2014-09-29

Linux/Unix, CentOS 6 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

69 AWS reviews

External reviews

246 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    S. Hawes

Some linux/rhce ability required

  • November 26, 2013
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I very much enjoy the familiar environment, thoughtfully constructed, no unpleasant surprises.

Full security is enabled by default. To connect anything useful you will need to open up ports on the firewall (ie iptables skill), also consider what level of selinux you require. Acl skills probably a good idea also.

New AWS users you can use tcpdump to confirm packets are getting through your corporate firewall and arriving on the instance, before the firewall has a chance to filter them out.


    Mr. Simon C. Kenyon

does what it says on the tin.

  • November 14, 2013
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

i had to install twice, because the first time i installed it i messed up my iredmail installation.
the distinction between the other releases and this one (with updates). once again i installed the wrong one the first time around.

but thanks for it. much appreciated.


    Gustaf Bystrom

Works as always

  • November 12, 2013
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Just started to move from rack servers to Amazon and am surprised how easy and simple it is. CentOS runs as good as it always has. After a few more final tests all my servers will be migrated to Amazon.


    Science Direct Article Pages New Front End

Perfect minimal CentOS VM

  • October 19, 2013
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

A reliable CentOS VM has been missing from the AWS ecosystem for a long time. This AMI fills the gap. It's minimal, clean, and text-book vanilla. Absolutely perfect for my needs.


    Diego Mayol

Stable and free

  • October 15, 2013
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

CentOS is a stable and free solution for enterprise use. It has not the latest software versions, but there are many good third-party repositories. After 8 years of experience with CentOS is still my first choice.


    Amazon Customer

Excellent product

  • October 05, 2013
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I needed to run some software which is only certified for Redhat Enterprise Linux. It runs perfectly on this AMI without any problems.

The AMI comes configured with minimal extras which was perfect as it saved me from having to spend any time removing things that I didn't need for my use case.

This is an excellent AMI and I am very happy with it.


    Gerhard Steinbeis

Works great as expacted

  • September 02, 2013
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I am using CentOS since a couple of years. And as expected, the Images for the the EC2 instance works seamlessly!


    W. Mason "Dubhunter"

Best CentOS AMI

  • August 11, 2013
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I am a fan of CentOS and was very happy when this AMI became available. THe setup was simple, and has been very stable.

I would strongly recommend this AMI for anyone who likes the RedHat family of Linux but does not need to run RHEL.


    Bibekananda

Ec2

  • July 28, 2013
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

This is good opportunity from amazon site for learning some thing. its improve our cloud computing environments with Linux infrastructure.


    Mikkel Staunsholm

Nice and bare bones

  • July 02, 2013
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

This one is for the people who know linux. Not much coming out of the box. I used it for node.js server, and it is nice not having all sorts of stuff running that I will never use.

My notes for installing it as a node.js server:
https://gist.github.com/staunsholm/5888338

Mkkl.