Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Kali Linux (Retired Image)

Kali Linux is a security auditing and penetration testing Linux distribution. The current image is located at <a href="https://aws.amazon.com/marketplace/pp/B01M26MMTT" target="_blank">https://aws.amazon.com/marketplace/pp/B01M26MMTT</a> See more

Customer Reviews

19
Create Your Own Review

Cannot use it

  • By Duong Le
  • on 09/24/2016

Please help, cannot use Kali on my EC2 instance. It requires the maketplace. but i was not able to purchase from marketplace, too! Thank you!


good and nice system. good and nice system.

  • By nice system
  • on 09/02/2016

good and nice system. good and nice system. good and nice system. good and nice system. good and nice system. good and nice system. good and nice system. good and nice system. good and nice system. good and nice system. good and nice system. good and nice system. good and nice system. good and nice system. good and nice system. good and nice system.


Not needed.

  • By Corey
  • on 01/03/2016

This is a minimal old iso. There is no point to this image. Load a current Ubuntu 14 and install katoolin and required kali tools from there.


Very Poor for Offensive Security

  • By Nigel Jones
  • on 12/18/2015

Dont know what you think you have produced out of the box. But that needs some work on it. Leaving support up to a forum isnt product control and its certainly not free. I went through nearly every folder and couldnt find a thing, Sure i got access to the server but couldnt find a been on it. And as for the instructions 1 liner!!! Very poor product and If im honest. It looks like a scam.......


Handy and quick, but requires memory swapping enabled to run Metasploit

  • By tweprime
  • on 09/24/2015

Ideal for easy payload delivery. Ran into the same memory issue on the free tier regarding Metapsploit as others, but the memory swap fix by user anthony nena worked for me (reposting here):

To enable memory swapping:

sudo /bin/dd if=/dev/zero of=/var/swap.1 bs=1M count=1024
sudo /sbin/mkswap /var/swap.1
sudo /sbin/swapon /var/swap.1

Add the following line to /etc/fstab
/var/swap.1 swap swap defaults 0 0

Reboot! Enjoy


Problem

  • By Luciano Andres Fain
  • on 09/13/2015

Dear Offensive Security Team, I can't connect to host. I used the key generated as allways I use in my other AMIs, but here I can't login with ec2-user, root, ubuntu...
Any help will be appreciated
Regards


Out of Date

  • By Thomas Jones
  • on 08/26/2015

This may have been a good offering when it first came out, but it was next to useless for me in its current release state. Kali's appeal is that it's a *small* Linux distro. But, in order for it to be useful, you have to be able to install tools to it. Unfortunately, almost every apt-get I ran ended up with failures due to the package repos returning 404 errors.

Ended up having to launch a regular ubuntu image and then using the kali AMI tools to create my own Kali instance that apt-get actually worked on.


Includes none of the Kali packages

  • By uslex "uslex"
  • on 04/17/2015

Perhaps it was obvious to others, but not to me, that this image has none of the pen test, exploit, vulnerability scan, etc packages that you would expect to find as part of Kali. That would be OK if it were a simple matter to load those packages. But it is not. This ami isn't up to the task. After hours of searching, I discovered that the /etc/apt/sources.list is out of date and needs to be updated. I found the solution, but not from Offensive Security. Their support appears to be minimal at best. I'm impressed with Kali (and Amazon AWS EC2), but not Offensive Security.

Follow the instructions here to get it working:
http://hackaholic.info/Kali-update-and-upgrade-error-fixed/

Then install one of the meta packages found here:
https://www.kali.org/news/kali-linux-meta packages/

Be sure to follow the Amazon pen testing guidelines found here:
http://AWS.amazon.com/security/penetration-testing/


Free Tier - Not enough memory for Metasploit

  • By anthony nena
  • on 04/06/2015

Can't run Metasploit on the free tiers that are available. Would be 5 stars, but I consider Metasploit a staple for Kali. Nonetheless, I appreciate the hard work by the Offensive Security guys.

UPDATE:
Well I haven't heard anything back from OffSec as a solution for this issue, but I did find a fix by enabling Memory Swapping.

sudo /bin/dd if=/dev/zero of=/var/swap.1 bs=1M count=1024
sudo /sbin/mkswap /var/swap.1
sudo /sbin/swapon /var/swap.1

Add the following line to /etc/fstab
/var/swap.1 swap swap defaults 0 0

Reboot and you are good and you are welcome.


Please create HVM image for use with Amazon's newer instance types, e.g. t2

  • By Seb
  • on 02/19/2015

My inital testing of this was good, but I would like to use this image on Amazon's t2 instance types and can not do so easily. They require HVM instead of PV.