Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Kali Linux (Retired Image)

Kali Linux | 1.0.6*

Linux/Unix, Other 1.0.6 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

19 AWS reviews

    SEC

feedback

  • February 06, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

good image, thanks !

first, you must be using

ssh -i 'you are id_rsa public file' admin@ec2-remote-ip

then, you must set :

`
export LANGUAGE=en_US.UTF-8
export LANG=en_US.UTF-8
export LC_ALL=en_US.UTF-8
export PATH="/sbin:/usr/sbin:$PATH"
`

in you're curr profile variable file , example: ~/.bashrc


    AlessandroD

Love Kali Linux AWS - very handy!

  • January 26, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Works very well, you can get up and running very fast.

Only caveat is that it takes a little elbow grease to get a remote graphical desktop (Gnome/VNC) configuration going; however, there are a few good how-tos out there. (Try Harder!)

Thank you Offensive Security!


    BrightScope Infrastructure Group

Initial SSH user changed for Version 1.0.6

  • January 06, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Those that are having issues with 1.0.6 please note that: When SSHing into a newly provisioned instances the user must be 'admin' instead of 'kali' like older versions (docs/tutorials dating back to Jan 1st 2014).

Offensive Security please update the "highlights" section of this AMI.


    Normunds Aizstrauts

Thanks OffSec!

  • December 23, 2014
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Thanks to Offensive Security team for this release!
Works perfectly, can be set up in seconds, loving it! Having official OffSec created aws image is really convenient, frees up so many hours of tryhards around the globe, previously spent on re-configuring Ubuntu/Debian to work with BT repos. Cheers!


    Kyle Cox

Java not working

  • December 16, 2014
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Whenever I try to connect to my kali linux instance via Java it fails to connect with the IP. I don't think I'm doing anything wrong (although it's very possible). I don't really want to download any Ssh applications either that's why I installed Java 8 so that it WOULD WORK ;)

Anyways I have Kali Linux running on a VM on my Macbook Pro 11,3 it's just I wanted to utilize more CPUs for breaking pairwise Keys aka penetration testing on wpa2 networks. I know Kali would work if I was able to connect that's the only reason I gave it 3 stars otherwise it would be zer0...


    Adham Mohammed

Simple, amazing, scalable and ALL IN SECONDS!!

  • March 12, 2014
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I was in a hurry and I needed to run a customized kali distro for use in a client pentest assessment after my vps plan failed due to OS & app compatibility. I used AWS with no prior experience and all it took me was 15 minutes to create the keys, login, update and install custom tools and modify the security settings to allow connections on other ports. The full process is extremely easy and highly configurable to a great extent. I'd definitely recommend it for a friend with enough trust that he wont be disappointed. Cheers to the AWS team and keep the great work going.

Adham Mohamed,
CEH, ECSA, SCMRE
Business Development Manager at Bluekaizen


    Esai

Best os over here yet

  • February 13, 2014
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Makes it really easy to use kali in a virtual environment without stressing my dev terminal. Truly the best solution to try out different stuff.


    Minseok Jeon

So Convenient!

  • January 31, 2014
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

It's so good to build penetration platform on cloud.
In fast, i had to install additional package on ubuntu 12.04 LTS on aws,
but now i can install a lot of security testing package automatically.
it support apt-get install to install them, and tips initial login id is kali.


    Michael Clayberg

Kali on AWS

  • January 29, 2014
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

It is incredibly easy to install the Kali AMI on EC2. 5 stars for this.

The release, however, comes without documentation and thus you won't know this is only the Kali OS (based on Debian). You will need to install all the tools usually found in a Kali distro. Also the Kali OS and tools prefer to run as user 'root' and AWS prefers one engage with the instance as a lower-level user. This presents use challenges. These wrinkles caused me to drop a star, but only one as the challenges can be largely overcome.

If you want more info, I wrote a blog post based on my experience building out this instance: http://t.co/0jtmds8feH