Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Fortinet FortiGate (BYOL) Next-Generation Firewall

Fortinet Inc. | 7.2.3

Linux/Unix, Other 7.2.3 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

2 AWS reviews
  • 2
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

119 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Information Technology and Services

Fantastic security for complete security.

  • June 13, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
1) Ease of use
2) Simple GUI
3) CLI option
4) Fabric
5) VDOM
6) Easy to deploy
What do you dislike?
1) Quick support - We can't raise P1 or P2 tickets from support portal.
2) Configuration backup - There has to be an option to email configuration on daily or weekly basis.
3) HA configuration needs license for 2nd device
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
1) Secure network
2) Block attacks from outside
3) Access office setup remotely using SSL VPN
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Ease of use & deploy to secure your network.


    Telecommunications

Fortigate firewalls

  • June 13, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
My main job function is to manage Fortigate firewalls. They are very easy to make minor adjustments to web content filters and feature a robust Unified Threat Management system.
What do you dislike?
Setting up SSL and IPsec VPN tunnels is not very intuitive.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We use Fortigate firewalls to manage LAN to WAN and WAN to LAN traffic, as well as VPN access for both SSL and IPsec VPN tunnels.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
They're easy to manage once they're setup, but can be tricky to implement originally.


    Telecommunications

FortiGate

  • June 01, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Online technical documentation is extensive.
What do you dislike?
Some features and capabilities don't work as documented.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
This firewall provides excellent perimeter security at an affordable cost.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Logging can significantly degrade performance, causing the FortiGate to go into "Conserve Mode." If you plan to use logging, you may need a more expensive model of the FortiGate.


    Primary/Secondary Education

Easy to Use Firewall

  • May 31, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I love the insights that I can see based on the application being used. It is very easy to see which user or device is sucking up the bandwidth.
What do you dislike?
The only thing I didn't like was the device needed a software upgrade that "soft bricked" my firewall. The upgrade path wasn't followed, so that was my fault. But I wanted to cancel the upgrade before it started but there was no way to do that. It involved a long night trying to get the device back up and running. Eventually it did and is working great now.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We are able to limit bandwidth on certain applications, block websites, and route traffic as needed. Policy based routing has helped us use a secondary connection as a fail-over if our primary goes down. This has been a lifesaver.


    Education Management

Solid product. Good UTM solutions that does not break the bank

  • April 10, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Amount of features. I am happy to have a good UTM product that is providing use with the ability to content filter . / Application firewall and IPS.
What do you dislike?
A few small bugs have been found during our deployment. But all seemed to have a solid workaround. The ability to see traffic in real time could be better.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
IPS / Content Filtering / Application Firewall. The biggest benefit is the ability to manage a large number of firewalls at once with the global management tool.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Buy the high end appliances. Its better to plan for 5+ years outs needs.


    Ajay K.

best firewall that comes with excellent support flexibility and its

  • January 22, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I love the interface, the admin interface is now mobile friendly.
What do you dislike?
The ipsec tunnel with other products get hang often
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Secuurity, abikity to add web filter, custom policoes on port forwarding, blocking of unwanted traffic. Ability to create vpn from site to site onternationally and locally has saved a lot of money. Ability to see the logs using the forticloud free account makes lofe much easier.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Go for 100d if you are a sme


    Financial Services

Fantastic product and support

  • January 10, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
For me, the fortigate just works. I have not really been able to complain about a situation in which I wasn't able to get something working on my own or in the end, support helped and they have always been very knowledgable.
What do you dislike?
Some of their logging can be a little cumbersome to decipher and sift through. If you have fortiview internally it would make it easier but we don't have that product so our logs are purely deciphered on our siem.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I've not only been able to have it protect my environment, but I'm also able to segragate network spaces out with it and am able to get very granular in policies that I can create. There are a number of features you can turn on which will definitely help your environment not be so vulnerable in today's landscape.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
We've considered moving to other alternatives such as Palo Alto but couldn't justify the cost. The fortigate appliance along with the IDS feature has been everything we've needed to this point.


    Hospital & Health Care

Excellent firewall

  • January 09, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
How you can customize the firewall to our liking
What do you dislike?
I have nothing to complain about. I have been
Using it for over a a year!
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
It does the job wonderfully!
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It does the job and I can’t complain. If you need a firewall try fortigate out.


    Mike B.

Fortigate's, keep out the trash

  • December 07, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Nice gui, robust CLI, webfiltering is very customizable, sslvpn feature is great coupled with forticlient.
What do you dislike?
A bit pricey, but worth it if you're tired of the Cisco machines. Chatty with the email alerts. No easy option to drop incoming traffic without an alert every time.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Using as our main firewalls/routers, and also as a part of our SSLVPN solution. Networking all branches with these via BGP tunnels
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Their support can't be beat. Next day service on all dead boxes.


    tigerlilly

Great Product but shame its only BYOL?

  • July 16, 2014
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

This is a great product and Ive used many of their hardware boxes. Its does very good all-round protection and application control.

Its a shame that its BYOL only, I have had to use a competitor product in AWS more often as a result of this as it doesn't fit in with the Elastic Computing Model.