Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

FreeBSD 10

Colin Percival | 10.4-RELEASE

Linux/Unix, FreeBSD 10 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

20 AWS reviews
  • 20
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

    Mikhail Kupchik

Great offer

  • June 21, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Works flawlessly. Deployed in a minutes.

Saved my back during unexpected failure of dedicated server at another hosting provider. Served as a replacement for a few days, until the next server was provisioned and fully configured.


    FRANCO BRUNO BORGHESI

Just works!

  • June 17, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I got my FreeBSD instance up and running with just a few clicks. In a matter of minutes I was installing applications and setting up the services I needed to get my stuff working. I'm impressed with the performance, I'm using the smallest instance and performance is great. Good work Colin.


    Daniel Stocker

it works just great

  • May 24, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

many thanks for the Image you provided. it works like charm. setup is totally easy (as usual) and it runs rocksolid and fast. even with the smallest instance.


    Santo Natale

Great job for an amazing product

  • May 12, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Just another great job from Colin Percival.
I'm successfully using it with a lot of services. AWS and FreeBSD reliability and quality are a must to have!
Thank you!


    Julian Ospald

It's FreeBSD...

  • April 13, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

So there's not much to say. The default installation is ok. No weird configuration, everything pretty much as you expect it to be.

Running a gitlab service on a FreeBSD instance now. Works like a charm.

Rock solid.


    Lucas Holt

Great FreeBSD install

  • March 11, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I found Colin's website quite useful in determining which FreeBSD AMI to install on AWS. It's also good to know that the default user is ec2-user for this.

The system boots up a rather default install of FreeBSD except for a few scripts to setup the environment. The newer versions also allow you to update from freebsd-update rather than building a custom kernel.

One issue I had was that I switched to FreeBSD from an Ubuntu AMI. The elastic IP could not be migrated between the different virtualization types in Amazon. If you're migrating from Linux and you have elastic IPs or reserved instances, consider that it may use a different instance type.

Maintaining these FreeBSD AMIs is a lot of work and I'm very glad that Colin puts in the time on these. They are extremely helpful.


    Andreas Jönsson

Awesome!

  • February 12, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Awesome job of getting the latest FreeBSD 10 to EC2! Thanks a bunch! Works great out of the box!
An easy and cheap way to play around with FreeBSD. Recommended.


    Eugene

Amazing FreeBSD on Amazon AWS

  • December 15, 2014
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

FreeBSD is the best solution for internet. ;) I'm glad to use FreeBSD on Amazon AWS. I miss this before. Not only Windows and Linux must be available from quick Instance Launcher.


    Stuart Brown "SABrown"

FreeBSD 10 on Amazon Web Services

  • November 18, 2014
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Many thanks to Colin Percival for bringing FreeBSD to AWS. It's pretty straightforward to setup and build from - used tiny version(s) to learn how it all hangs together. Performance seems to be pretty good - tested out on with WordPress and Magento - both seem happy enough with caching etc at various levels. Throw in the AWS features and some pretty extensive solutions can easily be built.


    Luke Cyca

Just what it says on the tin

  • August 07, 2014
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I'm using this with Free Tier as a way to learn FreeBSD.

It has worked really well so far. Be sure to read the associated page on Colin's website at http://www.daemonology.net/freebsd-on-ec2/.

Really great work.