Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

OpenVPN Access Server

With more than 60 million downloads since inception, OpenVPN provides Virtual Private Network (VPN) solutions to secure data around the world. OpenVPN Access Server is designed specifically for businesses -- it protects data communications, secures IoT, and provides secure remote access to on-premise,... See more

Customer Reviews

19
  • 19
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0
Create Your Own Review

5-star reviews ( Show all reviews )

Quick and scalable VPN solution

  • By M. Stieler
  • on 02/25/2015

I needed a fast solution for a VPN to circumvent Internet restrictions in a hotel I stayed. Using the OpenVPN AMI I was able to install my own VPN server in minutes. Just start the VM (smallest machine was sufficient), connect to SSH and answer a few installation questions.
On the other hand, in our company we are also using OpenVPN with about 10-20 active connections to the VPC.


5 minutes to setup a VPN !

  • By Thomas Decaux
  • on 02/16/2015

Took me 5 minutes to setup a VPN, nothing to configure, just accept the licence, enter a new user, and download the VPN client.

VPN client is already configured, nothing to do on client side too!


OpenVPN Server

  • By paul
  • on 01/28/2015

Very straight forward to set-up and get running. Very reliable and good throughput. In-fact, due to compression, it provides a small speed boost to my standard internet connection. Runs fine on the micro server.


Fast, simple set up, and it works pretty much out of the box

  • By Mr Marshall
  • on 12/15/2014

We decided to try out OpenVPN to solve a couple of connectivity issues we were having between our hosted VPN provider and AWS. After a quick search on Google it became apparent that OpenVPN has helped so many solve VPN issues that it seemed like a no brainer.

Just spin up an instance from the market place, ssh into the box and follow the wizard. Exceptionally easy to set up, allowing us to connect to AWS servers with ease.


Easy to Setup, Easy to Maintain

  • By DUANE H DIETERICH
  • on 11/30/2014

I have used several VPN products and services as a "user". However, this is my first VPN server as an "administrator". Within a few hours, I had a VPN server installed and running in a public VPC and had both Windows and Android clients connected. After making adjustments to my VPC, I had to change the VPN server several times. The Windows and Android clients easily followed those changes. It is a very nice product.


Great work, great app, happy clients

  • By Vince
  • on 11/20/2014

I usually used openvpn as client and I am satisfied for the performance. Now, I'm trying to explore the OpenVPN Access Server to serve also my fellow countrymen. Thanks to Amazon and OpenVPN Team.


Ready for production use out of the box

  • By Cloud Professional
  • on 11/18/2014

Having this in place was really a breeze, setup is easy (answering a few yes/no questions). Of course, make sure you follow the instructions and how-to's. Web interface works great. After searching the documentation, I was able to brand the web interface, which was a nice touch. Even without being a Linux guy, I was able to interface with the instance using PuTTy and WinSCP, everything went down well.


Easy but...

  • By Mike Hall
  • on 09/24/2014

I setup and took down an OpenVPN server about 20 times and could not figure out what was wrong. I could attach to the tunnel but never see anything on the server side. I am very new to AWS and finally figured out that even though the servers were in the same subnet, they were still not permitted to communicate until I added rules to allow all IP traffic for each of them to talk to the OpenVPN server. Once I figured that out, everything went perfectly.

We use it now and it's great.


Excellent!

  • By waya
  • on 09/22/2014

Very very easy to use, very very good user experience, thank you very very much, still need more than five words.