Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

OpenVPN Access Server

OpenVPN Inc | 2.7.5

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu Ubuntu 18 LTS - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

38 AWS reviews

External reviews

122 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


5-star reviews ( Show all reviews )

    Wendy M.

My great adventure with OpenVPN

  • May 30, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
What I like most about OpenVPN is the fact that it offers a great IP addresses protection.
Again this software reduces security risks as it prevents unrecognized access to our network.
It's very powerful and and flexible software to use.
It uses two-factor authentication thus providing high security.
What do you dislike?
I haven't found anything to dislike about this software as it works perfectly thus meeting all our needs.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Ease of setup and deployment.
Provides high security.
Great with remote access to internal servers.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I highly recommend this software without hesitation as it's benefits cannot go unnoticed.


    Internet

OpenVPN

  • May 27, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Simple interface thats has very intuitive options to select the needed options .
What do you dislike?
The phone application of OpenVPN does not have the option of completely hiding the app or hiding it more than usual.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I use a lot of wifi hotspots and need a secure connection to the internet.


    Jane N.

Virtual Private Network under on roof by OpenVPN

  • May 24, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
What I like most about OpenVPN is the way it has all the features for VPN in one secure platform.
OpenVPN has a great customer support that is always available throughout the day and night.
I like the fact that OpenVPN has a free version that has all inclusive features in one place.
What do you dislike?
I do not have anything serious that I dislike about this VPN solution. It meets all my desires.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
IT remote management.
I use OpenVPN to browse all sites that might be closed or restricted from my location.
Managing business resources via OpenVPN on Microsoft Azure.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I would highly recommend the use of OpenVPN to all folks in need of VPN.


    Jeremy F.

Low effort and highly reliable client to VPC VPN

  • May 16, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The availability of client software for all operating systems and mobile devices means my customers can connect regardless of their setup.
What do you dislike?
I’ve not had any bad experience with OpenVPN.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I use OpenVPN to support a legacy 3 tier application running on AWS. My customers run the windows client locally and connect to the databases and other services over the VPN.


    Josh W.

Excellent, flexible solution for our Azure environment

  • May 16, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The documentation & excellent technical support.
What do you dislike?
Occasionally I have to disconnect the VPN client and reconnect it. This happens maybe 1 time per day or every other day. It could just be my system though.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We have secured our Azure environment by requiring users & admins to connect by VPN to manage our servers and other business critical resources.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I would strongly recommend reviewing the relevant documentation before setting up the Open VPN Access Server.


    Glenn R.

One of the best VPN clients on the market

  • May 08, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
OpenVPN is a great VPN tool. A lot of operating systems natively support VPN, however try to set one up and you will notice the limitations. OpenVPN is incredibly easy to setup and use. We use this tool to allow users to access the same network. Connecting is a breeze and there are no bugs. The software is also very secure. Importing certificates is also easy and with literally ever other VPN tool out there this is not the case at all.
What do you dislike?
When you first install it through a web browser, you will be asked to login. I have found that for some reason this screen just hangs and does nothing. Not sure what that is about but it does not effect the functioning of the software. T
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
OpenVPN is used to allow users to access our internal network without being directly connected.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Stable and easy to use VPN client


    Dub

Wonderful

  • April 09, 2019
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

It works like a charm. Easy to use and setup!! I will continue to use this while in my travels to connect to websites I can in other countries. Fast too.


    Information Technology and Services

Flexible and robust

  • March 10, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The best feature is the ability to run multiple ports and protocols with a single appliance.
What do you dislike?
Not integrated with SD WAN capabilities.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
With OpenVPN we build fast and functional VPN gateways for are customers enabling compliance and data protection.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
With enterprise support this product is the best value for VPN.


    Alex H.

A solid, secure VPN solution

  • March 08, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
- The OpenVPN Access Server AMI is a great out of the box VPN solution for your AWS VPC.
- We were able to easily connect to our Active Directory in AWS to the OpenVPN Access Server and enable 2-factor requirements via Google Authenticator.
- Supports PAM, RADIUS, and LDAP.
- This solution replaced our clients deprecated PPTP solution. OpenVPN is consistently rated among the most secure VPN solutions which is why we went with it.
What do you dislike?
License management on the openvpn.net could be improved in one regard: allowing users to deactivate and move a license between servers. As you spin up an instance you may need to reconfigure our move your license to a newer server and that requires involving OpenVPN Support to reissue your license. This can take a few hours before they respond but typically they are pretty fast so not a huge negative for us.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Simple way to connect to our AWS VPC with 2-factor authentication tied to our Active Directory.


    Nick P.

Amazing Easy VPN

  • March 08, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The system is easy to setup and easy to configure, server our corporate solution perfectly!
What do you dislike?
The Linux client can be difficult but our new routers all have built in openvpn so no longer a concern
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are an international software firm, your product allows us to support people world wide
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Its honestly just the easiest solution, when you are in a bind its a great go-to