Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

OpenVPN Access Server

OpenVPN Inc. | 2.8.5

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu Ubuntu 18 LTS - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

44 AWS reviews

External reviews

149 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Computer Software

OpenVPN Review

  • February 13, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
nice lightweight application that provides us with vpn access for internal company documents and websites.
What do you dislike?
It can be a little difficult to set up by yourself if you don't have proper instructions
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
giving access to confidential information and services.


    Henry P.

Best software to create VPN tunnels.

  • February 04, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
OpenVPN is the best software to create VPN tunnels, is easy to modify because it is open source and is very secure and reliable, I also like to be able to access my network from my mobile or any other device.
What do you dislike?
It does not accept some proxies and is quite difficult for novices to understand.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
OpenVPN helps protect us from hacker intrusion and gives us access to our network remotely and work from home.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
OpenVPN is highly recommended to work remotely, very secure and open source so it can be modified without problems, it is also free and relatively easy to use.


    Frederik G.

Protects data transfers and communications.

  • February 03, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
OpenVPN is an open source software and not a VPN provider, with this software you can create encrypted virtual private network tunnels, passes completely firewalls, is very easy to use, the encryption is excellent (TSL/SSL) and protects data transfers and communications.
What do you dislike?
OpenVPN does not offer a user support service which makes it difficult to solve problems even though it has a large global support community and that helps a lot.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Having a powerful 256-bit encryption helps me to keep my connections anonymous and secure, and provides webrtc protection.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It is a software with high levels of security and encryption, is free and easy to use.


    Juan I.

Very segure an easy to use.

  • January 28, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Open VPN is a great VPN (Virtual Private Network) server that runs on Windows and Linux, is very popular for its security, for being an open source and because it is really very easy to use.
What do you dislike?
Not all proxies in the world are compatible although most and sometimes latencies can be very high.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We have very sensitive data on our computers and thanks to OpenVPN and its encryption we can navigate and communicate securely through the web.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Open VPN is a free software even more secure than other expensive services, is very easy to use and works with almost any proxy.


    Adrian K.

Open VPN - Create your own VPN now

  • January 19, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
OpenVPN provides us with a set of mechanisms that allows us to build a secure VPN network - it authorizes, authenticates, encrypts and ensures the integrity of the transmitted data. In addition, it protects the server (hub) against DoS attacks and the virtual network against the injection of foreign data.

+ good support in Linux, Windows and Mac, as well as the ability to advertise single routes.
+ OpenVPN offers two types of tunnels, which we use depending on specific needs: tun/tap
What do you dislike?
- Problem with using on some mobile devices
- Limited free license for 2 devices (license for at least 10 births can be purchased)
- The interface could be more friendly.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Thanks to OpenVPN I can safely use the Internet on all devices without worrying about data leakage.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you want to create your own secure vpn, you should consider trying openvpn because it has a free license allowing you to connect to 2 devices at the same time.


    Outsourcing/Offshoring

Works quite well

  • January 11, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It connects us to our work systems safely so our clients' information doesn't get comprised.
What do you dislike?
Nothing I can think of, I've never had a single issue with it. It's always worked fine for me.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Our agents work from home, so this allows us to connect safely with our work systems and work in a secure environment.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It's easy, secure and works well.


    Management Consulting

Decent VPN solution on a budget

  • January 08, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to setup and control. Decent administrative options. Once setup it is relatively steady and doesnt require much maintenance
What do you dislike?
Support is lacking as it is open source.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Third party remote access to internal network resources


    Judith C.

The free VPN software for people with knowledge

  • October 10, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
OpenVPN it's a free software that works really good. It's efficient, secure, and the clients can be of any operative system, all are compatible. You can tune totally your configuration and there are lots of possibilities. It's good for people that wants to create a customized VPN tunnel.
What do you dislike?
It's really hard to start with OpenVPN, there are much options and isn't easy to get it up. The desktop application of mac don't work properly.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We use to connect to the work computers in a safe way. With OpenVPN we can create a private tunnel from our laptops to the firewall server of our company and keep connected to work computers in a safe way.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It's the best alternative to use in a company with linux servers. It's compatible with all operative systems.
Once it's installed in the clients, it runs in background without doing any further work.


    Carmer N.

The best for protect you

  • September 30, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
There are a few things that I like about open vpn, it is a free programming and you can make alterations to the code, the wide assortment of servers that it offers so clients can attempt a few and consequently remain with which we feel more good exploring the Internet, it doesn't measure much, you can get it as an augmentation of chrome, download in the playstore for gadgets with android. In phones it is so easy to utilize that just a single picks the server and that is it. The help on your site is exceptionally valuable.
What do you dislike?
It truly is great, for code changes on the off chance that it is prescribed to have a propelled learning of programming on the grounds that every client has diverse inclinations and at times they have to alter the product details to fulfill their necessities.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We use to associate with the work PCs safy. With OpenVPN we can make a private passage from our workstations to the firewall server of our organization.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It's not super easy to use but rather it works exceptionally well and is totally free. Difficult to beat in the VPN portion, given expense/security/dependability.


    Miguel J.

Best VPN software for little companies

  • September 12, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
OpenVPN it's a little but powerful program to create VPN tunnels from your computer to another, or from a computer to a full network. It's totally safe, and if you scale the server, can deal with a big number of connections.
What do you dislike?
At difference with other commercial softwares, OpenVPN needs that you work in the configuration during a few hours, isn't install and ready, and there are some options that are a bit difficult to set.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We use to connect from our homes to the network of the work, using as a server a firewall that redirects the traffic.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
OpenVPN it's the best opensource alternative, it's free and works good for small-medium companies.