Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

OpenVPN Access Server

OpenVPN Inc. | 2.8.5

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu Ubuntu 18 LTS - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

43 AWS reviews

External reviews

140 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Adam A.

Good VPN for small operations.

  • September 27, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Low cost. OpenVPN is easy to configure and deploy.
What do you dislike?
Special software package required on every OS(no native support).
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Secure tunnels for mobile productivity. Secure access to network resources.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Consider if open source software fits your requirements first.


    Motel6

Huh...

  • July 07, 2017
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I'd like an easy option to send all network traffic through the VPN. Seems a bit of a waste to only route part of it. Not what I was looking for.


    Joshua S.

Works fine for what I use it for. No problems.

  • May 03, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like that I can simply connect to the Open VPN. Once I'm connected I have no problem accessing our database remotely. It doesn't disconnect while I'm using it and it doesn't even seem to slow down the data base.
What do you dislike?
I dislike that I have such a long password and that there doesn't seem to be an obvious option for having the password stored in the system. I save the password in MS Word and then have to copy paste it to connect. Seems like a waste of time.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
When I need to work out of the office and still access the data warehouse I use this tool. It allows me to be more flexible in my work location.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Works well. No hassle.


    Information Technology and Services

In combination with Sophos UTM SSL VPN

  • March 30, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to configure on mobile devices, you can easily just email yourself the ovpn file or if you have a tablet device, just browse to the UTM User Portal and grab it yourself. I haven't used OpenVPN with any other vendor except for Sophos, but if it works this way with other vendors then it is a great solution. Simple connection once installed with the automated configuration. While some do complain about it, I like that it prompts for credentials every single time you try to connect with it, but once connected you can stay on for days depending on the policy. Why is this important, because PPTP and L2TP/IPsec systems usually have a method to remember credentials. To me this a huge security problem, if a laptop was stolen, or breached, these credentials exist without any sort of effort by the criminal entity.
What do you dislike?
Having to manually up the configuration each time a change is made on the UTM configuration, but it would seem there is no way to avoid that.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
With Crypto Ransomware becoming more and more prevalent, and actively breaching Remote Desktop Services and other remote applications that SMBs and Enterprise organizations use, having a secured VPN is critical to keeping these resources private and removing the need for any sort of DNAT.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you need a reliable connection to your office network and you are running a Sophos UTM with UTM 9.x or even the XG Firewall SF-OS v16+, then OpenVPN is the product Sophos utilises for its SSL VPN. It is easy to deploy to users as they can just login to the UTM User Portal with their own Active Directory credentials (or local creds, depending on your auth methods) and download the full installer with their personalised configuration, or an update file if anything changes. The only downside is that this software/program will not run at time of login from a Windows laptop, so if you need scripts from a domain environment to run before or during login, this wont solve that issue.


    Matt

Excellent product

  • January 09, 2017
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I have used openvpn for years and used it for several client while in AWS. The only problem I have run into is you can not use this ami in a dedicated tenancy VPC, Is this by design?


    Bala Murugan

This Image fails on "Instance Status Checks"

  • June 27, 2016
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

We tried this Image ami-5b1b6d2c and its keep failing on 'Instance Status Check', Is there a updated Image? Or Is this product available on Amazon Linux Image instead of Ubuntu?


    Anthony Mapfumo

Easy configuration

  • July 05, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Straight forward configuration. It took me about 15 minutes from start to finish. I am using a Linux client and it is working like a charm. So far it has been reliable and stable.


    Rob Sutter

Secure, simple, and light on resources.

  • June 25, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

OpenVPN Access Server is easy to setup and provides instant security for you and your users. The two-user free test license is a great way to see if it will work for your organization, and OpenVPN makes it easy to bring your own license when you need to grow.

You can be up and running in less than thirty minutes, and it runs on micro instances - perfect for evaluation!


    Boris Lazarov

Very easy setup

  • June 25, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Extremely easy to setup and configure. Pretty great if you need to evaluate OpenVPN software or if you need an actual VPN server for private usage.


    Harim G.A.

Good enough

  • June 22, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Would be better if passiong tag options to enable routing gateway/dns through VPN worked but it is exactly what you'd expect. Clean install of OpenVPN AS and works flawlessly after manual setup.