Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

OpenVPN Access Server

OpenVPN Inc. | 2.8.5

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu Ubuntu 18 LTS - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

43 AWS reviews

External reviews

140 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Gus

I like it

  • June 03, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I love having my own VPN server on the cloud, And top of all it's free. Amazon did a great job with the marketplace to make it easy for the users.


    Norm de Plume

Got the job done

  • May 26, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Install and basic setup was quite easy. However, getting routed connections to work properly with AWS routing proved challenging for an AWS beginner.


    pt

VPN Access Server

  • May 26, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Working as expected. There were few obstacales with web admin but I found kind of workaround (I didn't want web api to be publicly accessible so I shutdown http server).
Still I would prefer some generic out of the box vpn server where I can use any vpn client...it might be possible here but I haven't explore that option yet.


    Sandy

Exactly what it says on the box

  • April 25, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

It "just works" - I had no problems setting up, or running. The only downside to this particular product is that so far as I can tell, to use the VPN requires client side software; there doesn't seem to be a way to run without OpenVPN software on the client device


    Aristarkh Zagorodnikov

Good product

  • April 20, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Saved us a lot of hassle with setting up a VPN access server. If you are not going to deploy centralized configuration management (OpsWorks/Puppet/Ansible/etc.) and set up OpenVPN yourself, using this AMI is very convenient. The only actual downside is lack of support of pre-shared TLS keys.


    Monad Software Ltd

Didn't use

  • April 05, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I was looking for something that would work with the Windows 8.1 built in VPN client without too much fuss.

Ended up using this instead: http://blog.ls20.com/ipsec-l2tp-vpn-auto-setup-for-ubuntu-12-04-on-amazon-ec2/#


    J. Earl

So easy even a Caveman can do it.

  • March 30, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

By far the easiest OpenVPN deploy yet. Switched from hand built server to the marketplace image in less than an hour. First login to the instance configures the server through shell prompts, then you are good to go with the admin UI. Add a user and you are up and running!


    Steve Iannuzzo

Great vpn app and OS bundle!!!

  • March 23, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Rock solid Ubuntu and Openvpn bundle!!!

Had the server, application, and remote users up in less than 1 hour.

Good documentation for setup - Very good support via email by Openvpn.

Less than $100 for a 10 user licence, well worth the investment.

Will certainly be using this product for many of my clients!


    CB-Siteops

OpenVPN is the way to go

  • March 16, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I was suspicious about the product first because I am used to work with Brandname such as Cisco SSL VPN and Juniper SA. so, I decided to download the product and use it for my AWS installation. it only took me 5 minutes to get the instance installed and configured. bye bye bastion host….

i recommended to anyone who want access to their AWS resources without have to go through the Cisco/Juniper/Checkpoint/Paloalto pain.

I am enjoying it and why should not you…

thank you.


    Limited

You are asked to provide a password you don't know

  • March 04, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

You are asked to provide a password on the admin login which is supposed to be the same password you use to authenticate / connect to the server. However if you login with a certificate there is no password so you are out of luck!

"Login as "openvpn" with the same password used to authenticate
to this UNIX host."