Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

OpenVPN Access Server

OpenVPN Inc. | 2.8.5

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu Ubuntu 18 LTS - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

43 AWS reviews

External reviews

144 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Anthony Mapfumo

Easy configuration

  • July 05, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Straight forward configuration. It took me about 15 minutes from start to finish. I am using a Linux client and it is working like a charm. So far it has been reliable and stable.


    Rob Sutter

Secure, simple, and light on resources.

  • June 25, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

OpenVPN Access Server is easy to setup and provides instant security for you and your users. The two-user free test license is a great way to see if it will work for your organization, and OpenVPN makes it easy to bring your own license when you need to grow.

You can be up and running in less than thirty minutes, and it runs on micro instances - perfect for evaluation!


    Boris Lazarov

Very easy setup

  • June 25, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Extremely easy to setup and configure. Pretty great if you need to evaluate OpenVPN software or if you need an actual VPN server for private usage.


    Harim G.A.

Good enough

  • June 22, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Would be better if passiong tag options to enable routing gateway/dns through VPN worked but it is exactly what you'd expect. Clean install of OpenVPN AS and works flawlessly after manual setup.


    Gus

I like it

  • June 03, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I love having my own VPN server on the cloud, And top of all it's free. Amazon did a great job with the marketplace to make it easy for the users.


    pt

VPN Access Server

  • May 26, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Working as expected. There were few obstacales with web admin but I found kind of workaround (I didn't want web api to be publicly accessible so I shutdown http server).
Still I would prefer some generic out of the box vpn server where I can use any vpn client...it might be possible here but I haven't explore that option yet.


    Norm de Plume

Got the job done

  • May 26, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Install and basic setup was quite easy. However, getting routed connections to work properly with AWS routing proved challenging for an AWS beginner.


    Sandy

Exactly what it says on the box

  • April 25, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

It "just works" - I had no problems setting up, or running. The only downside to this particular product is that so far as I can tell, to use the VPN requires client side software; there doesn't seem to be a way to run without OpenVPN software on the client device


    Aristarkh Zagorodnikov

Good product

  • April 20, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Saved us a lot of hassle with setting up a VPN access server. If you are not going to deploy centralized configuration management (OpsWorks/Puppet/Ansible/etc.) and set up OpenVPN yourself, using this AMI is very convenient. The only actual downside is lack of support of pre-shared TLS keys.


    Monad Software Ltd

Didn't use

  • April 05, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I was looking for something that would work with the Windows 8.1 built in VPN client without too much fuss.

Ended up using this instead: http://blog.ls20.com/ipsec-l2tp-vpn-auto-setup-for-ubuntu-12-04-on-amazon-ec2/#