Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

OpenVPN Access Server

OpenVPN Inc. | 2.8.5

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu Ubuntu 18 LTS - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

44 AWS reviews

External reviews

149 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Entertainment

OpenVPN is a great tool to gain connection across multiple VPNs

  • October 27, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It is easy to use OpenVPN to access various VPNs (if needed). The tool allows you to have a real-time pulse on the connection and can connect with Google Authenticator for verification purposes. It also allows you to add multiple profiles in case you need to toggle across different VPNs.
What do you dislike?
Often times OpenVPN can have zero activity across the connection stats portion of the tool, despite constant connection with the VPN source. This creates confusion on whether or not there are any Internet connectivity issues or blockers related to the VPN.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
OpenVPN helps users safely and securely connect to workplace servers via VPN. This has been crucial in the transition to remote work, to ensure everyone has the access they need without any security risks.

3 people found this helpful

    Computer Software

Great VPN, easy set up, and administration!

  • October 21, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to set up and administer and very simple licensing!
What do you dislike?
There can be some confusion between the open source version and the paid subscription.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We are allowing our clients access to a hosted application and we've seen increased security compliance.

3 people found this helpful

    Vithushan S.

Best flexible VPN Solution

  • October 04, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The best about OpenVPN is the easiness to get the server up from the admin console. Also, the OpenVPN client is also very much easier to set up. The network traffic filtering is another cool feature it got. In a nutshell OpenVPN got decent features as well as the capability of customizing the server/client configs which is amazing.
What do you dislike?
Even though it got very good customization capability, it's not very straightforward to get connected for a non-technical person.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
As an organization, we are having a lot of sensitive servers where we need VPN tunneling to take the data out of the internet also, we need the Virtual Private Network to get all our team network traffic connected via a server during the work from the home period. So the OpenVpn helps us in all of these scenarios.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If your organization involves in the area of server administration/VPN tunnels. it's 100% recommended to try OpenVPN

3 people found this helpful

    Marketing and Advertising

Cloud VPN Solution

  • September 27, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Simply helps us to connect any Servers which hosted in the Amazon Cloud Platform
What do you dislike?
Automatic Notification required when the License get expired
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
It is a simple Cloud Connect VPN which we can use to connect the Cloud Applications from our Local Machines
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Those who are looking for a simple Cloud connect Virtual Private Network Application can actually start using this Application

1 person found this helpful

    Rajesh D.

OpenVPN for Secure Connection

  • September 17, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
We are using OpenVPN for Secure connection to our remote branches & Applications. It provides advance features such as Two-Factor Authentication that we can integrate with Google Authenticator as well. It also provides Options such as route the traffic via internet as well. It provides certificate authentication that helps us to encrypt & Secure the enviorment. We can also configure & Manage the same with Openvpn admin GUI as well. It provides DNS Options & user management as well.
What do you dislike?
The only issue with Openvpn we found when we try to connect or configure the client environment, it doesn't accept the certificate sometimes.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
OpenVPN resolved our Secure connection environment issues & helped us to connect with our remote branches securely & also allowed us to encrypt the data over the public network.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you are looking for a Secure VPN Connection & data encryption as well, then OpenVPN is one of the best solutions.

1 person found this helpful

    PRABAKARAN A 1.

Excellent open source vpn server

  • September 16, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I have set up my VPN by running an open VPN server in docker containers on my Azure virtual machine.

I have achieved the following things,
1. Reduced latency and increased browsing speed
2. User - I have added 5+ users, connected through mobiles
3. Adblocker, I have configured pi-hole in my open vpn server. Able to get rid of adverts
4. Security, my azure virtual machine is well secured. My VPN is secure
5. Reliability, very reliable. VPN never disconnects automatically.
6. Bandwidth, based on an Azure virtual machine, not our wifi. getting 50 to 80 MBs through open VPN
What do you dislike?
Content caching is not in place. Otherwise, it would be more speed browsing
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I have set up my vpn and connected through mobile devices, able to be safe and secure in public wifi.

I have configured pi-hole adblockers, surfing freely without too many advertisements

1 person found this helpful

    KanuPriya K.

OpenVPN for VPN access

  • August 30, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The best thing about OpenVPN is I can easily import VPN files given by the client and connect to VPN, and it saves the profile; hence next time connection to VPN is just one click. I like the UI of the Open VPN.
What do you dislike?
What I don't like about the Open VPN is it timeout automatically in a couple of minutes, and that leads to inactivity of my established connection in the Putty.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I am using the OpenVPN for VPN establishment to the private network, and I feel it is easy to use OpenVPN compare to other VPN clients.

1 person found this helpful

    Hospital & Health Care

OpenVPN; A Startup's Experience

  • August 30, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
OpenVPN was a free solution (with the right company configuration) that worked for our small, rapidly growing company of ~50 employees. Mostly hosted on AWS, we were able to dedicate an EC2 Server to managing the VPN needs of the company, primarily to provide access to other AWS resources in a secure manner. This solution scaled very well as we grew.
What do you dislike?
We did run into some latency issues, for example, when we had entire company calls and everyone had their video and audio on. Sometimes the speaker on a video call would break up and then reconnect. This proved to be a minor but noticeable drawback.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We have developed a strong, standardized way of accessing protected resources. The VPN allows us to keep our private servers securely tucked away from public access, allowing us to keep our customers and our own sanity satisfied. IT has been part of our journey to High Trust accreditation.

1 person found this helpful

    Computer Software

Non-invasive VPN Software

  • August 11, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like that OpenVPN is quite easy to setup. I use OpenVPN at my company in order to access internal files and portals that are only open to those on the VPN. "Logging in" to the VPN is as simple as typing in a username and password that I create, then gaining access. One thing I also appreciate is that every once and so often, OpenVPN will remind me to change my password. In addition, some VPNs significantly slow down internet browsing speed, which I have not noticed at all with this software.
What do you dislike?
While I understand this is the nature of the beast, I don't like that I have to login with my username and password EVERY time I login to my computer. I would hope that there are certain ways to detect that it is in fact me accessing the software. I've also had the VPN abruptly disconnect at times, requiring me to re-login in order to access needed files.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Information security, really. I'm not on the IT team but I've never had issues with security, hacks, phising, et-cetera.

2 people found this helpful

    Naveen

What about the security

  • July 30, 2021
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

what about the security who takes care of it
Imagine is instance is compromised
The OS on which VPN is running is the image CIS bench marked