Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

OpenVPN Access Server

OpenVPN Inc | 2.8.5

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu Ubuntu 18 LTS - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

40 AWS reviews

External reviews

122 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Lisandro V.

OpenVPN Reliable Solid and Safe.

  • September 18, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
OpenVPN is a completely reliable software, I can make VPN connections in a simple and easy way. In addition, it is very profitable, it is very economical compared to other vpn solutions. I have used OpenVPN in our company and the result is always positive, the quality of security is very high and provides stability in all its connections. I can use OpenVPN even on my mobile device, that way I have access to the corporate network from any of my electronic devices.
What do you dislike?
I don't like its interface very much, since it is very simple. I wish it was a little more intuitive. The update process is very poor, it is difficult to determine the name of the version to use with wget when updates are available. Everything else is excellent and works very well.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
OpenVPN offers us access to most electronic devices, from laptops to phones, that's why we have access to our network no matter what electronic device we are using. We use OpenVPN to block unauthorized access to the company's database. Also, we can now access blocked websites in our country. In addition, it keeps our data and operations online completely safe.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
The cost of OpenVPN is quite cheap, I recommend it to any company that has security problems. It also has a free license that allows you to connect to 2 devices at the same time.


    Daniel C.

Great open source software

  • September 12, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
OpenVPN is an easy software with open source software, which allows you to create encrypted virtual tunnels for secure communication and data transfer. This allows me to easily, quickly and securely connect to their work and home network. It has useful application for Android, tailored to the needs of the user or administrator.
What do you dislike?
People who are not ready, it's a little hard to understand why I have to explain the use of the new employees.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
This allows me to remotely access my work network, to control access to the data of the employee and to protect clients' data.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I have never seen such advanced services like OpenVPN offers.


    Marketing and Advertising

OpenVPN, a wonderful service that has details to repair.

  • September 04, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
OpenVPN allows you to surf the internet as if you were located at a specific geographical point, allowing you to enjoy the freedoms offered by this place. A particularity of OpenVPN is that it offers its service to companies so that its workers can work as if they were in the preferred site of this company. It is a service with an affordable price for anyone who wants to use it.
What do you dislike?
Occasionally, OpenVPN has sudden disconnections, which, in many cases, suddenly expels its users from the website they are working on. Sometimes I have had to test websites that can only be opened by residents of the UK, and when disconnecting OpenVPN I have been expelled from them, interrupting my work and sometimes preventing me from re-entering the site. It was these disconnections for no apparent reason that made us switch to Open VPN for Amazon Web Services, the latter offers a VPS service that is much more stable.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
At the time, OpenVPN helped us to perform tests and any other kind of work on web pages that required an IP address that did not belong to the United States. However, due to its multiple disconnections we had to replace this with Amazon Web Services.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I recommend that anyone who wants to use OpenVPN is to prepare to experience occasional disconnections from the service which could interfere with their work. If you don't mind this detail then this VPN is for you.


    Telecommunications

Never thought it was so easy to setup open vpn. The best

  • August 29, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It's easy to install and to use. Setup is a hassle though
What do you dislike?
To setup process was cumbersome. A lot of trial and error to make it work, but once setup it works like a charm.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Secure connection to work pc
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I can't upload a screenshot of my openVPN because my company doesn't allow screenshots of work PC


    Rich

Works now

  • August 21, 2019
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Works now with version 2.7.4. Easy setup from instructions. Price could be better not sure if I will keep after free tier is over.

1 person found this helpful

    Emily Valentina S.

A tool that can be setted up easily.

  • August 15, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It's very easy to set up when you get used to it. The option to save credentials is great, because I don't have to write them every time that I want to connect the VPN.
What do you dislike?
Sometimes it gets disconnected by itself and it's a bit annoying, because it seems that the server is down and it takes some time to connect it again when you restart it. Also, when you are logged with the same user in 2 devices at same time, the connection speed is slower in one of the two devices.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It's possible to set one IP provided by the company, so the clients can filter that IP from the rest of traffic on their pages.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
When you're configuring the VPN, you should save logs in a different folder that it's not in the program archive and then change the route from OpenVPN options.


    Kristian T.

OpenVPN - Free VPN solution available for everyone.

  • August 04, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
OpenVPN is a multi-platform solution (compatible with most popular systems and mobile devices), valued by users around the world, VPN server, which allows you to set up a connection between the host and a local computer encrypted with the use of OpenSSL library, supporting authentication with keys, as well as certificates, username and password, and, in a version for Windows, additional cards. Additional advantages of the application are support for NAT machines, dynamic IP addresses, high scalability, and load balancing mechanism.
What do you dislike?
- A free license allows you to connect a limited number of devices.

- Setting up a private server can be difficult for new users.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Thanks to OpenVPN, I can safely use public networks in a chosen place in the world and bypass the regional blockade.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
OpenVPN, I recommend a user who is planning to create a private VPN.


    Sarah H.

OpenVPN - Robust VPN protocol with many possibilities

  • July 31, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
OpenVPN is primarily a free solution for creating an open source virtual private network. This allows you to create encrypted "point-to-point" or "server-client"; channels between devices. With it, you can establish a connection for non-NATO devices or a firewall that does not require changing settings. Securing data streams is guaranteed by the OpenSSL library, which enables all available encryption algorithms. Another significant advantage of OpenVPN is that it is compatible with most of the operating systems and devices used.
What do you dislike?
Creating your own server can be problematic for users who have no experience with server management.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
OpenVPN allows me to connect to my private server, so I can securely access the network anywhere.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I recommend using OpenVPN to all users looking for a secure VPN protocol.


    Rickzkm

Outdated, requires ton of configuration

  • July 19, 2019
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Compared to Digital Ocean Marketplace version, this one here is outdated and with very silly setup and does not work.


    Adam

127.0.0.53 is not a DNS server!

  • July 05, 2019
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Like a few reviews have mentioned, this image has trouble resolving domain names. My client can reach the admin page without issue, but it fails to connect to the internet. I don't know why this hasn't been fixed already in this AMI, but /etc/resolvd.conf is linked to the broken stub-resolver configuration. The fix is very simple, but it took hours to figure the default system configuration was broken.