Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

OpenVPN Access Server

OpenVPN Inc. | 2.8.5

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu Ubuntu 18 LTS - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

44 AWS reviews

External reviews

13 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Rickzkm

Outdated, requires ton of configuration

  • July 19, 2019
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Compared to Digital Ocean Marketplace version, this one here is outdated and with very silly setup and does not work.


    Adam

127.0.0.53 is not a DNS server!

  • July 05, 2019
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Like a few reviews have mentioned, this image has trouble resolving domain names. My client can reach the admin page without issue, but it fails to connect to the internet. I don't know why this hasn't been fixed already in this AMI, but /etc/resolvd.conf is linked to the broken stub-resolver configuration. The fix is very simple, but it took hours to figure the default system configuration was broken.


    name

Route client traffic through openVPN doesn't work

  • July 03, 2019
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

The option to route traffic through the openvpn server to internet doesn't work. I followed all the steps carefully on the website.


    Dub

Wonderful

  • April 09, 2019
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

It works like a charm. Easy to use and setup!! I will continue to use this while in my travels to connect to websites I can in other countries. Fast too.


    Luozhou

This AMI is no longer working. It worked half a year ago.

  • April 08, 2019
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Please debug. I was trying to use the internal db. Here is the error information that I got from /var/log/openvpnas.log:

2019-04-08 01:27:17+0000 [-] Failover initialization error: "ConfigDict: required config-key 'config_db' is not defined": util/cdict:285,util/cdict:257,util/cdict:521,util/cdict:550 (exceptions.KeyError) (config_db)
2019-04-08 01:27:17+0000 [-] Server agent initialization failed: "ConfigDict: required config-key 'tmp_dir' is not defined": util/cdict:285,util/cdict:257,util/cdict:521,util/cdict:550 (exceptions.KeyError) (tmp_dir)
2019-04-08 01:49:51+0000 [-] OVPN 1 OUT: 'Mon Apr 8 01:49:51 2019 98.169.136.197:52960 TLS Error: TLS key negotiation failed to occur within 60 seconds (check your network connectivity)'
2019-04-08 01:49:51+0000 [-] OVPN 1 OUT: 'Mon Apr 8 01:49:51 2019 98.169.136.197:52960 TLS Error: TLS handshake failed'
2019-04-08 01:49:51+0000 [-] OVPN 1 OUT: 'Mon Apr 8 01:49:51 2019 98.169.136.197:52960 SIGUSR1[soft,tls-error] received, client-instance restarting'
2019-04-08 01:50:00+0000 [-] OVPN 1 OUT: 'Mon Apr 8 01:50:00 2019 openvpn/98.169.136.197:52622 SIGTERM[soft,remote-exit] received, client-instance exiting'


    aasim

Not working AMI have issue

  • March 12, 2019
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Tried to route all traffic with VPN, but unable to connect to the instance. If I don't route traffic from the VPN instance then the IP of my local doesn't change after connecting with the OpenVPN instance.


    contrid

Excellent, works well

  • June 07, 2018
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

The OpenVPN Access Server works very well. I can create a tunnel to it from any of my devices as well as my router using OpenWRT with openvpn-openssl


    Motel6

Huh...

  • July 07, 2017
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I'd like an easy option to send all network traffic through the VPN. Seems a bit of a waste to only route part of it. Not what I was looking for.


    Matt

Excellent product

  • January 09, 2017
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I have used openvpn for years and used it for several client while in AWS. The only problem I have run into is you can not use this ami in a dedicated tenancy VPC, Is this by design?


    Bala Murugan

This Image fails on "Instance Status Checks"

  • June 27, 2016
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

We tried this Image ami-5b1b6d2c and its keep failing on 'Instance Status Check', Is there a updated Image? Or Is this product available on Amazon Linux Image instead of Ubuntu?