Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

OpenVPN Access Server

OpenVPN Inc | 2.8.5

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu Ubuntu 18 LTS - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

39 AWS reviews

External reviews

117 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Daniella M.

Extra Protection with OpenVPN

  • June 02, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
A great tool that keeps my network secure and safe. I can rely on OpenVPN to create a secure network. I like it because it works with windows and linux. A user friendly interface that is easy to use and navigate through. Also, I like the availability of the end-to-end encryption.
What do you dislike?
Nothing at all. It meets my needs and I didn't face any technical issue before.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The extra protection provided by OpenVPN helps me to keep my data safe and secure from hackers.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I highly recommend using OpenVPN because of the availability of great features that keeps my network safe.


    Alan C.

Oреn sourсе аnd vеry еаsy to usе

  • June 02, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Thіs рroduсt hаs а rеаlly аwеsomе futurе аnd lots of usеrs usіng so еаsy to gеt hеlр. Thе сodе іs oреnsourсе аnd еаsy to usе, аnyonе саn сhаngе аll thеy nееd. I usеd іt for рееr to рееr сonnесtіon аnd іt іs fаst. Plugіns аvаіlаblе, іf you wаnt to hіdе your іdеntіty, I trіеd somе tіmе but іt іs not my сuр of tеа. I рrеfеr tor ovеr oреnvрn for thіs рurрosе.
What do you dislike?
Rеаlly nееd to know аlot аbout nеtworkіng аnd whаt your nееds аrе to сonfіgurе thе sеrvеr sіdе. Confіgurеd іnсorrесtly thіs сould lеаd to mаjor sесurіty іssuеs.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Ovеrаll аftеr workіng through thе sеtuр аnd сonfіgurаtіon oрtіons thе dаy to dаy usе іs sеаmlеss аnd strаіght forwаrd. Onсе you gеt ovеr thе lеаrnіng сurvе thіs іs а grеаt sеlf hostеd vрn sеrvісе.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Works wеll. Hаd no рroblеms usіng. Alwаys rеlіаblе реrformаnсе


    Reginald W.

An ехсеllеnt solutіon to ассеss wіndows іn othеr сountrіеs

  • June 02, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
A fundаmеntаl сhаrасtеrіstіс of thіs softwаrе іs іts аdарtаbіlіty аnd еаsе of usе, but thе most іmрortаnt thіng іs thе rеsults іt рrovіdеs. Wіth just асtіvаtе іt oреns а wіndow to thе world, аn еndlеss аmount of сontеnt thаt gеogrарhісаl bаrrіеrs сould not ассеss. Whеn I sеаrсh for rеfеrеnсеs for аdvеrtіsіng саmраіgns, іt іs nесеssаry to hаvе thе most oрtіons аnd OреnVPN gіvеs you thе oрtіon to sеаrсh thе world wіthout rеstrісtіons.
What do you dislike?
I dіslіkе thаt I hаvе suсh а long раssword аnd thаt thеrе doеsn't sееm to bе аn obvіous oрtіon for hаvіng thе раssword storеd іn thе systеm. I sаvе thе раssword іn MS Word аnd thеn hаvе to сoрy раstе іt to сonnесt. Sееms lіkе а wаstе of tіmе.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I hаvе to work from homе somе tіmе, аnd аll my rеsourсеs аrе рrеsеnt from thе offісе LAN nеtwork. Usіng dynаmіс DNS аnd LAN рееr to рееr сonnесtіon now I саn ассеss аll thе іnformаtіon from my offісе nеtwork. It solvеs lots of my рroblеm, thе bеst іs іt іs а frее solutіon аnd I саn сonfіgurе іt аll by mysеlf.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Connесtіng to іntеrnаl systеms loсаtеd іn vаrіous раrts of thе world wіthout thе nееd for а Publіс-fасіng Intеrnеt сonnесtіon


    Oleksandr T.

Opensource, fast, reliable and configurable VPN software

  • June 02, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Stable and reliable performance. In the config file of a specific server, you can specify a lot of necessary options. Simple switching between servers via GUI. Other VPN services usually provide OpenVPN config-files for their servers.
What do you dislike?
It is necessary to prescribe in the config files the option to protect against DNS leaks, in other VPN services this is usually already taken into account by default.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We have several development teams in different countries, one of which blocks the web resources of the other. The software we develop under the strict NDA and the security service limits contact with the outside world. Therefore, we need security in communications and encryption when visiting other web resources. Therefore, in our case, Vpn has become a panacea for all security problems.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you need to quickly install and use a VPN and you have an average knowledge of IT, then this solution is for you.


    Valter B.

Openvpn

  • May 30, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Openvpn As web interface is easy and intuitive to use.
What do you dislike?
It requires some networking experience, especially when configuring private subnet access.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We have improved reliability and security for remote access for building automation systems.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
A very robust solution.


    Adam S.

Fast & Secure VPN

  • May 30, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It is a reliable, fast and Secure VPN tool. It is a great tool for me, it works very well. Also, I like that I can use the same account on my mobile, ipad and PC. Very suitable for different operating systems and easy to setup with no issues.
What do you dislike?
Didn't face any issues so far while using Open VPN. It is a straight forward software.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Open VPN is an effective tool that I rely on because it is safe and secure to use while connecting to important database related to our IT department.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Highly Recommended. I highly rely on OpenVPN is an effective tool that I rely on because it is safe and secure to use while connecting to important database and maintaining a secure network.


    James D.

The VPN service that's featured everywhere and for good reason

  • May 30, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It supports many different platforms (both desktops and mobile), the customer service is quick and efficient. It is frankly easy to set up (I have tried on Mac, Linux, Android and iOS without any issue).
What do you dislike?
Some servers were actually very slow when using my cellular connection, but this can happen with any service and a slowdown is always expected. Since they offer many servers in different countries, I was able to quickly find some servers that work in my current location.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
This software has been consistently reliable for my personal use and saved me various times.


    Felicia M.

OpenVPN for networks protection

  • May 29, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
OpenVPN is allows me to tunnel any IP network using UDP or TCP port. One of the main things that I like about it is that it is equipped with a 256-AES-CBC encryption for maximizing our network security and keep our internal communication safe. This tool is great to tunnel networks through firewalls connections without having to use/change any firewall rules. Setting up the network is somehow easy and flexibility but with some experience anyone can get a very high connection speed and a great performance.
What do you dislike?
Customer support are not responsive. It takes a lot of communication and time to fix a problem with them. It is always better to look for one of the professional support forum with people who have experience with OpenVPN. They are really helpful.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
OpenVPN provides us with a great and secured internal network with a a very high connection speed that is compatible with both windows and Mac applications.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
OpenVPN is a convenient open source system that can maximize any network security. It is widely available and there are many available tutorials online how to use it and get the most our of it in protecting networks.


    Christropher F.

Flexible open source VPN

  • May 28, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like Openvpn because it is an open source and flexible software that supports using different type of devices and operating systems like windows, android and IOS) all together. The two-factor authentication is a great option to maximize the network security. Openvpn is very useful in creating a secure network tunnel that is IP protected.
What do you dislike?
Requires prior knowledge and experience to be able to do make the right configurations. It is also important to keep backups from all the working configuration files.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Openvpn is very useful to use while developing our authentication modules because of its strong encryption system. It also offers a great system to establish a virtual private network that is safe and well protected.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
OpenVPN offers a secure network that is flexible and well protected. It might require watching some tutorials but once you know how to do the right configurations, it works great. I definitely recommend it


    Internet

OpenVPN

  • May 27, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Simple interface thats has very intuitive options to select the needed options .
What do you dislike?
The phone application of OpenVPN does not have the option of completely hiding the app or hiding it more than usual.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I use a lot of wifi hotspots and need a secure connection to the internet.