Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

WordPress Multisite Certified by Bitnami and Automattic

Bitnami | 5.3.2-2 on Ubuntu 16.04

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 16.04 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

24 AWS reviews

    WP-User

Great and Quick

  • August 19, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Nice and easy setup, great documentation and overall a great reason to keep using Wordpress and AWS. The Bitnami community around the product is also extremely helpful to get your questions answered.


    Craig Williams

Works well and is setup nicely

  • August 08, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

This AMI did exactly what I wanted and saved a ton of time setting up everything for WP MU.

The only issue is the default configuration didn't allow me access and I had to SSH in and make a few changes to get access to my site but after that everything was super easy to run.


    Ralf Ramos

Nice!! Very Good!!

  • January 28, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Excellent, well configured and secure! Easy to set up ! Great community support. The documentation is incomplete . But I recommend the product .


    Twiztec Cloud Services

Better Than Advertised!!!

  • January 14, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I've been using the Bitnami Wordpress 4.0.1 Multisite for about 2.5 months now. I'm getting ready to upgrade the servers and Wordpress so was researching here. This is the first time I actually read these reviews and I couldn't help but add in my 2 Cents.

Just a brief background I'm Using Bitnami's Wordpress Multisite 4.0.1 Stack, using AWS Free Tier as follows;

- EC2 Elastic Load Balancer,
- EC2 T2-Micro -Wordpress, PHP, PHP-FPM cacheing only(No DB, or Files saved here),
- Elasticache 1 Node- Memcached linked to Wordpress Server.
- RDS T2-Micro -Database Server,
- S3 Bucket- Stores all files, backups etc.
- Cloudfront- Serves Cached files from edge servers.
- over 25 Plugins on 3 different sites.

ALL AWS Free Tier, last months bill was about $0.23. And yes it will auto-scale too. But I normally turn it off as it almost always want's to start spinning up more servers. Traffic on my site has outgrown what a T2-Micro can handle.

My setup was Tons of work but works great for a very small very low traffic website. The issue is because of how T2/T2 Micro instances work. You are going to have issues if you have too many pages(more than 12-15), or if you have a more than 3 sites (multisite). Especially when being indexed, or working in the backend, during high traffic times. Its because of how AWS has them configured. But then again what do you expect for a 'free' 1 year trial?

There is ways that you can optimise your T2 but its a lot more work and I think its much smarter to just upgrade the server to anything above a "T" server. Yes the issue is with all "T" instances. As they are setup to "Burst" for up to 10 seconds, then AWS will throttle it back by 97%! Which makes your site not load, white screen, etc.

They're fine to get started, and for testing. But once you start getting indexed by lots of search engines and start seeing more traffic. Upgrade! Read about reserved & spot instances, you can save a ton.

Enough about me...

1. This is NOT Shared Hosting! If you have never used Linux command line, have no experience with Linux at all, don't know how to configure MySQL, PHP, Apache, etc, or worse yet, what they do or are. Then this is not the way you should go. And in all seriousness, neither is AWS for that matter.

Insted go to Bitnami's website and sign up for their service. Its pretty easy to setup and shows you how to link your new Bitnami Account to your AWS Account. You can now use the Bitnami tools to create and work with instances. It is MUCH simpler than using AWS directly.

If you need more advanced or Multi server setups for your live/production blog, etc. Find a professional and get it done right. Make sure they have done it before several times, and can prove it. Wordpress setups like mine above or the new setup I'm now building are VERY complicated, even using Bitnami's AMI.


2. R.T.F.M. is something I was taught when I first started learning Linux. Do a search for it. It will help you tremendously!

3. Bitnami easily has one of the best documentation sets I've seen, or used. Not only is it well organized, it shows you exactly what to do and gives you the exact thing to type in the terminal. They also have instructions for Tons of different ways to reconfigure it as well. Don't just blindly start setting up the stuff. If you don't know what it is search it first.

- Bitnami's Doc's Link:
https://wiki.bitnami.com/Applications/BitNami_Wordpress

4. In the link above is the Full Doc Set for all of the various Bitnami Stack options. If your not reading all of the Wordpress & Wordpress Multisite sections you absolutely must. (Or at least don't complain if or when you can't get it working right.) Reading the PHP, Apache & MySQL sections is a absolute must too.

5. Even if you do know your way around a LAMP Stack still, check with the Bitnami Doc's before you do anything. Bitnami's Stack Build is not like a standard 'build it yourself' server. It took me a while to learn "their way".

6. Even things that I couldn't find in Bitnami documentation was still easily found on other sites. Bitnami is pretty widely used and as such all over the web.


I highly recommend using Bitnami AMI's, I've tried several of them now, and WILL continue to for some time. It saves tons of time not having to start from scratch. From installing, configuring, securing, tracking your changes and documenting for a production web server. Plus there's support, how to's, forums, etc.


    Trentin

no t2.micro support

  • August 24, 2014
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

It will not run on a t2.micro.

They have not included it as a supported platform.

Finding login information for this product is hard.

You also have to hunt for all the config and log files as they are not in standard linux places


    Santosh Ramachandran

Great Product, makes server side really easy!

  • July 21, 2014
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

The Bitnami Wordpress Stack is excellent when hosting on a dedicated server such as Amazon EC2.

All the necessary components are taken care of with excellent documentation. These guys have cut down the learning curve to setup servers to half or even lesser.

Definitely recommend the Bitnami wordpress multisite image to anybody who would like to setup a wordpress multisite network.

Best Wishes and a Big Thank you!
Santosh Ramachandran


    SomeAssyReqd

Poor initial experience

  • May 07, 2014
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Deployed the image and followed pages and links from the Bitnami's site and never could get logged into the Wordpress Admin Console ( /admin). Their instructions list a default user (that seemed valid), but the password for an AMI (non-CloudFront) instance failed. I'd love to rate this higher (I've installed Wordpress on CentOS before quite easily, but this was NOT the experience I would have expected for a pre-built image.


    retok

Definitely not plug and play

  • April 18, 2014
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

After the AMI is ready in AWS the hunt for information starts. It starts with finding what the login info for Wordpress admin is (to be found somewhere on the Bitnami sites FAQ). Then logging in with SSH to the console is also not intuitive if you haven't done it before. It's more complicated than just entering a user and password. However to be fair, the super secure SSH login is an Amazon thing and not directly connected to the Bitnami installation.

The reason to login to the console at all is if you don't want your Wordpress installation in a subdirectory like the default (/wordpress) then it's getting really complicated. And actually that was the point I gave up. Even though some instructions were provided, they simply don't work. The command you are supposed to enter give a "command not found" error and the so called "manual way" asks me to edit files I don't have in my directory.


    Les

Free Tier Eligible Description Is Misleading

  • March 24, 2014
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Signed up for the Free Tier. Selected this product to install because the description said it was Free Tier Eligible in "bold". During the install was promptly warned it would not perform properly if installed at the Free Tier level. Completed the install with no issues as I was curious to see if it would even start correctly but it did. Then I deleted the server as it is useless to install something to test when you know in advance from the manufacturer that it won't run properly.

Tried the install on a Windows Server image that was "Free Tier Eligible" as well and that "Free Tier" image not only said it would NOT run correctly unless you installed it on a server two levels above the Free Tier, the disk image was larger all by itself than my entire Free Tier allocation.

I REALLY HATE bait and switch. Went back to my shared host to do my testing as I can't really use the Free Tier to test as nothing can be installed that's stronger than a pocket calculator at the Free Tier level.

This image and the Windows Server image "may" be great but the Free Tier language in this and the Windows Images is totally misleading. For that reason I give it an F along with the Free Tier program.

To run a couple of test servers at the proper computing level will cost me way more than at a shared host. I may come back when I get ready for production but for a startup incubator type of situation where you are trying to keep your costs as low as possible there are cheaper solutions out there.


    christopher zubris

I could use a more dummy proofed SSH setup.

  • February 17, 2014
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I can't really review too harshly because the webpage setup was pretty easy. But if you want to SSH in its a little trickier. The bitnami guides aren't taylored to EC2. For instance one guide keeps saying to copy the .pem file or to chmod the .pem file. I don't know how! Nor do i know the location of it because i can't ssh in. I'm sure i'm missing one simple line in the guide. I'll reread then ask for help. Their support is pretty good.