Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

WordPress Certified by Bitnami and Automattic

Bitnami | 5.8.1-7-r02 on Debian 10

Linux/Unix, Debian 10 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

128 AWS reviews

    Online Expert

Terrible Not user Friendly at all

  • March 26, 2019
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Terrible Not user Friendly at all, can not setup anything of make any use of this at all... Pointless to even download it


    Ahoy

Easier to do it yourself than configure this

  • March 06, 2019
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Wanting to use this as a quick way to spin up a varnish cached instance but this is defiantly not the solution.

Between outdated, incorrect or just non-existent documentation it's faster to just do it manually. Then you get the added benefit of knowing just what is going on with your stack.


    rtUT

After trying to add elastic ip now my public DNS won't load...

  • January 31, 2019
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

After trying to add elastic ip now my public DNS won't load...I tried everything fro adding a http port. I tried digging around the web


    marc

File permission FTP wordpress plugins problem

  • January 15, 2019
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

You face file permission problem with wordpress and it's plugins. Some of them can't create folders and files. You can't change style (css).

I think bitnami should provide ftp in the image so that we can use it when installing / updating plugins.


    HaliX

Awesome

  • December 15, 2018
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

it's easy to launch wordpress in AWS , but after some time i can't get the wp-admin password in the SYSTEM LOG , even it's better and fantastic one for small business people.


    Jim

Zero control of anything

  • July 17, 2018
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I already have an EC2 instance I wanted to install this on but the setup process restricts installation to a new instance and no control over which directory or even type of server such as Ubuntu. This software is only for newbies with close to zero knowledge of the server side. You'll get what they give you.


    Nicholas Weiner

Works well on free tier.

  • July 16, 2018
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I've been using this image on my EC2 instance for a month, and so far I have to say it has run flawlessly.


    QuickRedFox

Canned App 101 - Part II

  • June 10, 2018
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

We should have known after JD's review, but we just had to try for the heck of it. We used the Bitnami stack before for Redmine, and that is one stack they get right!

But this stack is a train wreck, and to think nubies just flip the switch and this thing is going to work is a joke. Even for advanced users, you have to configure the AWS SG to SSH. PHP 7.0 is end of life :/ and don't reboot or stop/start or you'll have to start all over. As we had to a few times.

Yet there is a bright side. We discovered aMi STACX on AWS MP with their WordPress stack.

Literally, just like the product video, we were up and running in less than 5 minutes. No joke! Everything just worked and performance was fantastic. Even phpmyadmin worked and the port was even configured to use HTTPS.

I guess in the end Bitnami saved us a lot of time, as we found an alternative that just worked as we expected. Bitnami works if you have time to hack at, or you are very experienced with Bitnami, or you just need a free solution to play with.


    Michael

Works Great

  • April 23, 2018
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Easy to setup and manage. Use this image for all my sites.
Only thing you need to know if the password is stored in the log file during creation and you need to store this password, or setup another user account with a password you can remember. ssh and ftp access easy as well. Thank you Bitnami!


    John D

Bitnami fails at Canned App 101

  • March 21, 2018
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Okay, Wordpress should be the #1 easiest LAMP app to show off how great your cloud platform is, and this is garbage. Stick to something modern and well-done with containers. Bitnami dropped the ball, and can't recover from poor execution. If you can't even get Wordpress right, you've failed as a company, and this should be their best foot forward. You'd be much better off to either go fully-hosted with a site like Wordpress itself, Bluehost, etc., or rolling your own on an ec2 instance. I'd like to think that there's something in between, but probably not. Digital Ocean's WP instances might be somewhere in the middle - e.g. the sweet spot that Bitnami is totally missing. I think they spend too much time with builds for 50,000 platforms, and not enough making this stuff usable.