Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

WordPress Certified by Bitnami and Automattic

Bitnami by VMware | 5.8.3-14-r03 on Debian 10

Linux/Unix, Debian 10 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

129 AWS reviews

External reviews

1 review
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    zenpeace

firstreview

  • February 18, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Bitnani HVM Wordpress image no problem whatsoever. However Bitnami Cloud Hosting is available on their own site but not on awsmarketplace.


    IoT.do Marketplace

Wow, simply AMAZING!

  • January 31, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

We don't take the time to write reviews unless we come across something good. This is not just good, this is simply AMAZING! We've gone from Microsoft Azure, which should probably stick to doing Microsoft .NET and IIS based applications, to Google Cloud Engine, which should probably stick to Java and whatever else they are trying to do, to THIS. Nothing comes close to the Bitnami image. You're up and running in no time, with a solid Wordpress instance. Five stars from IoT.do, we're glad we made the switch.


    Kindle Customer

Good product

  • January 31, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I developed my AWS site for a graduate class this semester and I really like the WordPress app. If you have used WordPress for a wordpress site then this will seem very familiar. It is highly intuitive and also the included templates are great and flexible.


    Isaac

Stable, Fast and Powerfull

  • January 06, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

To know Wordpress by Bitnami save me from to give up aws. Its very hard to a newbie config ec2... but with Bitnami's help it could be. Now i can start the sells.... thanks Bitnami!


    Dylan O'Mahony

Nearly flawless

  • January 02, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

This is a ridiculously good AMI to get you up-and-running with Wordpress. The layout and approach is near perfect - not sure how it could get much better.


    Mark Pavkovic

Works well

  • December 22, 2014
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

The WordPress AMI was easy and quite quick to deploy. I have had no issues using it so far. I'm using it for my personal web site / Blog and appears to have all the features that I was expecting.


    Who Is This Guy?

Awesome and easy

  • December 01, 2014
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I set up one of these a few months ago, and have to say they've made it even easier. Mainly, wordpress is now set to the root of the instance, so you don't have to connect via SSH at all if you want a basic install. That means the address won't be ip.add.re.ss/wordpress, just ip.add.re.ss/

I think they also stopped auto-generating the keypair at launch. Lots of people missed that they had to download the PEM file at that moment and then had to redo the instance. Now you have to do it manually, which I think it better. Just make sure you SAVE THAT PEM FILE and you'll be able to use SSH later when you have to.

It's also more secure because the default password is randomized: https://wiki.bitnami.com/Amazon_cloud/Where_can_I_find_my_AWS_Marketplace_credentials%253f

One thing to be careful of: by default the launch page has you on a t2.small. Be sure to change that to micro if you want the free tier!

Overall, this is an awesome product, letting you get a small blog running FOR FREE super fast.


    Andreas

Like it

  • November 27, 2014
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Used it for several websites, good fx. Huge community of developers able to support. Will use it again for sure.


    Lyquidity AWS

Straight forward does what it says

  • November 22, 2014
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

The only reason for not giving this the full 5 stars is that it is unnecessarily difficult to find user names and passwords the first time. This is one of those things that when you know the answer, it's obvious. The answer is out there but why not have it available at the command prompt?

The WordPress admin user name is 'user' not 'admin'. The password is on created by the system at first boot and to find it you must know to review the EC2 launch log which is available from an option in the EC2 control panel. See, not difficult when you know. I like the Bitnami stacks and I've done this kind of thing before but forgotten. Well, I've not had find out the default WordPress admin username.

In an improvement over earlier Bitnami LAMP stacks I've used, this one displays the location of the A, M and P software Bitnami has added to the L when the administrator signs on to the machine. That is nice.

It would be even better if it displayed the user names of the relevant services, in this case to include that of the WordPress admin. Recognizing that it's probably not a great idea to display the generated password every time, displaying a note of how to find the password at the same time would be helpful. This would save everyone from having to use search engines to find out.


    D.H.

Easy simple wordpress install. It just works

  • November 11, 2014
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Works out of the box as required. Bitnami have done a good job for the last few years. It saves me lots of install and config time. If all you need is wordpress - just use this. Plug and play.