Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

WordPress Certified by Bitnami and Automattic

Bitnami by VMware | 5.8.2-8-r01 on Debian 10

Linux/Unix, Debian 10 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

129 AWS reviews

    Nathan Carr

Fast, Easy

  • November 01, 2014
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Very easy to setup, had a working installation in under 5 minutes! Anyone can create a Wordpress site quickly and easily with this product.


    M

Strange Directory Structure

  • September 24, 2014
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Difficult to use in practice. Directory structure is bizarre with symlinking everywhere. I would recommend putting this together from scratch. Will take 1-2 hours and you'll know where everything is vs. this approach.


    Brian Kurtz

Too Complicated to Get Up and Running

  • September 09, 2014
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

People migrating to AWS from other hosting platforms are likely used to one-click installs of Wordpress from cPanel and other hosting management solutions. Just getting things up and running with an instance, security groups, elastic IP, and Route53 DNS "stuff" is a steep learning curve. Discovering that the Wordpress installation is not in the root directory of the domain and that one has to jump through a lot of hoops in order to get the thing working just adds to the frustration.

I ended up un-installing the instance and went with the YAPIXX instance from Oblaksoft because it is already connected to Amazon's S3 storage for hosting media files with the WP2Cloud plugin and the only extra step in addition to a typical one-click Wordpress install was adding three lines of authorization to actually get the EC2 server to talk with the S3 storage platform. That and firing up the typical security group, elastic ip, and tweaking a file to allow SFTP access to the server files for editing.

1 person found this helpful

    Enginyeria de Software, S.A.

Works as promised

  • September 08, 2014
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Works as advertised. Tried a couple of others and didn't work well with the template I was implementing. Was able to get this running in a few minutes.


    Graham Hicks

Installing WP is a breeze with Bitnami

  • August 26, 2014
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Created Bitnami account and added AWS credentials. Installed in a few simple steps. Could not be easier. Recommend heartily. Check it out for yourself.


    mykeylynx

works great!

  • August 24, 2014
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

With a micro tier definitely use it with a SSD. I tried it with a magnetic drive and it's really slow.


    codaham

The default password doesn't work

  • August 20, 2014
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I installed the Wordpress for Bitnami instance and followed all instructions. Just one problem - I can't login to the wordpress application. Everything I've tried has failed. The 'user' + the password from the System log just isn't right for some reason...


    Vince

Reasonably easy to implement

  • July 23, 2014
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I will start by stating that I am a self taught coder, and only have moderate technical skills. I was able to get an EC2 instance up and running with the Bitnami Wordpress image in just a few minutes, and had my website ported over in a few hours. It was relatively easy with few issues. My only suggestion is that Bitnami make follow up directions for standard setup issues more readily available. For example, I did have to do a fair amount of searching to learn how to change the default URL.


    HomeScreen Administrator

works as promised

  • July 02, 2014
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

needed to stand up wordpress to test some themes and UI - the bitnami AMI was quick to setup - works straight of the box, great AMI to start with


    Red Stapler

Using this image reduced a day's-goal to 10 minutes.

  • June 23, 2014
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

No matter how confident you are using linux and setting up http, mysql, wordpress and dealing with permissions why not just let someone else jump through all of those hoops for you? Using this got me from zero to fully-functional in ten minutes instead of spending a whole day on it.