Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Magento Certified by Bitnami

Bitnami | 2.3.3-4 on Ubuntu 16.04

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 16.04 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

26 AWS reviews

5-star reviews ( Show all reviews )

    Amir Malik

Excellent Work.

  • March 31, 2019
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Magento Certified by Bitnami is a Kickstart for Your Store, it Comes Packed With all The Best Practices Out of Box so don't have to worry about Performance, Security and Resources. It's Better than Many Premium cloud formation Templates. I am Very Happy I USED it and would recommend everyone.


    Shams

works fine

  • July 10, 2018
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

works fine, within 1 hour I was able to set the site for a friend of mine. Bitnami documentation is very helpful.


    RBoy

Works great, you need to pay attention to the details to get your passwords

  • March 28, 2018
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Very very nicely done, it works just fine out of the box. It took me quite a while to figure out how to get the password is the reason some else gave 1 star.

I've pretty much made every mistake possible while trying to install this image, all were user errors, the image is perfect!

So let me explain it to make life easier:
1. Before you install the image, create a Key Pair in Amazon EC2, save the .PEM file which will be used to login to the server (SSH console), without this file you can't login.
Instructions: https://docs.aws.amazon.com/AWSEC2/latest/UserGuide/ec2-key-pairs.html#having-ec2-create-your-key-pair

2. After installing the image, you can login to the SSH console for the server using the PuTTY application (NOTE: there is no "password", only a username and a digital signature file from step 1):
Configure PuTTY to use your .PEM file that you saved in step 1 (you will actually need to convert the .PEM file to a .PPK file, VERY easy see instructions link). This file will be your "password"
Login username: bitnami
Instructions: https://docs.aws.amazon.com/AWSEC2/latest/UserGuide/putty.html

3. Now you need your "application" password which is used for Magento admin , MySql and PhPAdmin. To get this you will need to open your "System log" from the Amazon EC2 instance -> Actions -> Instance Settings -> Get Instance Log. Scroll down and you should see something like this:
[ 20.415342] bitnami[1216]: #########################################################################
[ 20.421257] bitnami[1216]: # #
[ 20.431029] bitnami[1216]: # Setting Bitnami application password to '1GvPd6mWaKZn' #
[ 20.439698] bitnami[1216]: # (the default application username is 'user') #
[ 20.446963] bitnami[1216]: # #
[ 20.451164] bitnami[1216]: #########################################################################
Save this "password" and the default username is 'user'
NOTE: You have 24 hours to retrieve this password from the system log after the machine FIRST starts, so it quick otherwise the log will be overwritten and the password is lost (you can reset it but it's a PITA).
Instructions: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xwg6Rr0lmoE

Once you've got these password, now you can change them and login to the Magento Admin interface etc etc.
Instructions: https://docs.bitnami.com/aws/apps/magento/#first-steps-with-the-bitnami-magento-stack

I will keep updating this review as I get further into it, but so far so good. I hope this helps folks who're struggling with the "passwords".


    MoMath Sysadmin

Solid install of magento with apache on Ubuntu; tiny permission problem/maybe email problem?

  • October 04, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

The install behaved as described immediately upon installation. The instructions for removing the bitnami corner banner were clear and worked fine. I used this as an upgrade from a previous installation at an outdated level of magento, so I experienced some glitches that were due to the version difference, no skin off Bitnami. The only small point that seemed to be a characteristic of this Bitnami installation is that the apache httpd is running under user "daemon" but a number of the configuration directories that Magento needs to save files in were owned by user "bitnami" so I was getting errors from Magento not being able to save configuration changes until I ran chown on the appropriate directories in ~bitnami/apps/magento/htdocs to change the owner to daemon. And right now I am in the midst of trying to configure email so the Magento install can email receipts to customers, but I haven't quite figured that out yet. Other than that, everything has been very solid with this install. I am also going to want to figure out how to run CXS or some other virus/intrusion watchguard program(s) on the running images, maybe something like LFD to block repeated failed logins. Bitnami might want to consider making some of those things standard on images like this that are used for fairly high-security end uses. But overall: Thanks, Bitnami, for your nice work.

Follow-up (Oct 17): I did eventually get Magento emailing to customers to work, but it was quite a bear, involving changes to the code in app/code/core/Mage/Core/Model/Email/Template.php and app/code/core/Mage/Core/Model/Email/Queue.php to use Zend_Mail_Transport_Smtp in place of Zend_Mail_Transport_Sendmail. I am not sure if this difficulty was an issue with Bitnami's configuration of this Magento install, or my not understanding how I was supposed to set up email, or there being another Magento module I should have installed in order to set up outgoing email of SMTP. But I did eventually get it working by modifying those two files.

Another important tip: Don't forget to put your SSL certificates on the new instance; this image uses self-signed certificates out of the box, which are surely not appropriate for e-commerce.


    Y. Livasov

Not sure yet, but I think i'm happy

  • July 28, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

The truth is I just needed tuned environment for my own Magento store with scalable and distributed resources. I have never worked with cloud systems before and this is my first experience. I still did not fully realize what is this and what are all the abilities of the system but I guess this is exactly what I need and for sure it is much more.
I wish Amazon provided something like step-by-step instructions for newbies like me. And it would be great to furnish the main control panel with red button "reset" to bring everything to initial settings as it was right after signup (unless all others but me are cloud-specialists), because after a few attempts to intuitively set everything up I needed to ask my friend to help me (the guy who suggested me AWS - fortunately he is quite familiar with it)


    kwokjohn

It is Awesome

  • July 21, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

The aws instance is perfectly pre-configured. The guideline and instruction is very clear and detailed. It saved me a lot of time for setting up the instance. It really help me a lot.


    itai

Very easy to deploy, works very well

  • May 26, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Great product.

There is only one problem that I noticed, but I'm not sure if it's an issue with Magento-Bitnami.

Sometimes when I install a new extension, the settings page of the extension gives a 404 error. There is a simple Fix for whenever that happens.. Going to System -> Permissions -> Roles, then going into the Admin Role -> Role Users -> Reset Filter -> Save.

If it's a Magento-Bitnami issue, it would be great if the devs could fix it somehow.

Other than that, it works wonderfully.


    Paulo

I like it

  • November 26, 2014
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I'm evaluating yet, so far I like it, VM has a good setup and everything works well SSH, FTP...


    Todd Seiber

Time saver

  • August 20, 2014
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

This setup was perfect. It saved me plenty of time trying to figure out the setup myself. Thank you to the Bitnami team!


    Thiago K

Awesome Magento Stack

  • May 06, 2014
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Excellent work and support provided by the Bitnami team. The application works perfectly and I saved a lot of time with this stack. Thank you very much!