Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Magento Certified by Bitnami

Bitnami | 2.3.5-1-r01 on Debian 10

Linux/Unix, Debian 10 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

27 AWS reviews

    Sam

Wrong image - pass this up

  • June 27, 2016
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Looks like someone messed up in a big way. This is Moodle, not Magento. I installed it, went to the URL for my EC2, and Moodle comes up.


    commalex

Works Fine

  • February 05, 2016
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Perfect install, no problems. Just bear in mind Magento 2.0 Connect is still not developed so you'll struggle to install any extensions the easy way like 1.9. I suggest holding back on this release for another 12 months.


    MoMath Sysadmin

Solid install of magento with apache on Ubuntu; tiny permission problem/maybe email problem?

  • October 04, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

The install behaved as described immediately upon installation. The instructions for removing the bitnami corner banner were clear and worked fine. I used this as an upgrade from a previous installation at an outdated level of magento, so I experienced some glitches that were due to the version difference, no skin off Bitnami. The only small point that seemed to be a characteristic of this Bitnami installation is that the apache httpd is running under user "daemon" but a number of the configuration directories that Magento needs to save files in were owned by user "bitnami" so I was getting errors from Magento not being able to save configuration changes until I ran chown on the appropriate directories in ~bitnami/apps/magento/htdocs to change the owner to daemon. And right now I am in the midst of trying to configure email so the Magento install can email receipts to customers, but I haven't quite figured that out yet. Other than that, everything has been very solid with this install. I am also going to want to figure out how to run CXS or some other virus/intrusion watchguard program(s) on the running images, maybe something like LFD to block repeated failed logins. Bitnami might want to consider making some of those things standard on images like this that are used for fairly high-security end uses. But overall: Thanks, Bitnami, for your nice work.

Follow-up (Oct 17): I did eventually get Magento emailing to customers to work, but it was quite a bear, involving changes to the code in app/code/core/Mage/Core/Model/Email/Template.php and app/code/core/Mage/Core/Model/Email/Queue.php to use Zend_Mail_Transport_Smtp in place of Zend_Mail_Transport_Sendmail. I am not sure if this difficulty was an issue with Bitnami's configuration of this Magento install, or my not understanding how I was supposed to set up email, or there being another Magento module I should have installed in order to set up outgoing email of SMTP. But I did eventually get it working by modifying those two files.

Another important tip: Don't forget to put your SSL certificates on the new instance; this image uses self-signed certificates out of the box, which are surely not appropriate for e-commerce.


    Joydeep Bhattacharya

Nice and Optimized

  • September 10, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

The Bitnami Magento Stack is easy to install and maintain. Its quiet optimized and not complicated. However the 8GB HDD is very less and it should give us the option to increase the storage.


    Rik de Boer

Username "user" in combination with password from "Get System Log" do not work

  • August 09, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

This Bitnami Magento stack installs fine, if you use a "small" instance.
The installer runs out of memory when using a "micro" instance (which is elible for the Free Tier).
Another problem for us was that we could not login with the advertised admin user name of "user" and the password that we found in the AWS console under Actions -> Instance settings -> Get System Log.
We had to SSH into the instance and reset the admin password through another means.


    Frédéric Brodar

Login problems on t1.micro

  • July 28, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Does not work on t1.micro, we cannot have a good connection to the admin page.
Bugs appear, I must constantly reboot and reset, but no solutions.
I think there is not enough resources on t1.


    Y. Livasov

Not sure yet, but I think i'm happy

  • July 28, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

The truth is I just needed tuned environment for my own Magento store with scalable and distributed resources. I have never worked with cloud systems before and this is my first experience. I still did not fully realize what is this and what are all the abilities of the system but I guess this is exactly what I need and for sure it is much more.
I wish Amazon provided something like step-by-step instructions for newbies like me. And it would be great to furnish the main control panel with red button "reset" to bring everything to initial settings as it was right after signup (unless all others but me are cloud-specialists), because after a few attempts to intuitively set everything up I needed to ask my friend to help me (the guy who suggested me AWS - fortunately he is quite familiar with it)


    kwokjohn

It is Awesome

  • July 21, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

The aws instance is perfectly pre-configured. The guideline and instruction is very clear and detailed. It saved me a lot of time for setting up the instance. It really help me a lot.


    itai

Very easy to deploy, works very well

  • May 26, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Great product.

There is only one problem that I noticed, but I'm not sure if it's an issue with Magento-Bitnami.

Sometimes when I install a new extension, the settings page of the extension gives a 404 error. There is a simple Fix for whenever that happens.. Going to System -> Permissions -> Roles, then going into the Admin Role -> Role Users -> Reset Filter -> Save.

If it's a Magento-Bitnami issue, it would be great if the devs could fix it somehow.

Other than that, it works wonderfully.


    Paulo

I like it

  • November 26, 2014
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I'm evaluating yet, so far I like it, VM has a good setup and everything works well SSH, FTP...